We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Masa Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Masa Inn
Ranked #57 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I have been wanting to try this hotel for a couple of years. Finally we booked our final 10 nights here of a 3 week stay in Bali.

We stayed in a triple room, very large and clean. We chose the top floor as it was a bit cheaper. Lots of steps to walk up so keep that in mind. This is the cheapest hotel we have ever stayed in and for the money I think it is well worth it. A few minor issues with room, not enough storage space, no bench space in bathroom. A shelf to put your toiletry bag on would be nice. The room was cleaned daily and early which I like. But it was a large room especially with a toddler running about. Also keep in mind that the top level only has a narrow balcony, standing room only. But ok to hang your wet swimmers or whatever out. One major issue with our room was the bed - so uncomfortable. Never slept on anything so bad in our lives.

There are 2 pools. Our room was near the front smaller pool so we mostly used that. The other pool looked lovely and was more busy. I found we were the only family staying at the hotel which made me a little uncomfortable in the pool area with my son making too much noise. I tried to swim when there was no one there. The grounds are beautiful, you wouldn't think being in Poppies 1 that once you walk through the front gates it is so lovely and tranquil.

The breakfast is very average. You can choose a few dishes from a limited menu. A bit boring after day 2! We ended up eating out or having an earlier lunch. So many cheap options along Poppies 1 we didn't mind not using out included hotel breakie.

Would we stay here again? Probably not, pretty much based on the beds. We don't go sightseeing and tend to spend a lot of time in our room watching dvds or the kids having day naps. So a comfy bed is pretty important for us. As much as I love the location, cost, pools I am not sure the beds and breakfast would be enough for me to stay here again. Unless I was able to find out if we were just unlucky with the beds.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nessbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    164
    50
    6
    3
See reviews for
81
87
61
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Generally the hotel is ok, older but it's generally maintained

I personally didn't enjoy the kuta region but if your wanting to stay central this is the place. So the location is great if you like the crazy filthy kuta holiday.

The room was clean and tidy, the external paving around the hotel needs a high pressure clean as it's slippery as hell.

Stayed in a family room at the rear of the hotel, room itself is slightly dingy however, it's close to the pool.

I found it to be slightly over priced for bali at 950,000.00 a night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Great hotel great location near all bars and restaurants ,very close to beach great staff , rooms at the back are the best u think u are somewhere else not Kuta . Breakfast is the only down side but not that bad , the pools are great , perfect place to stay in Kuta

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank scooby720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Masa Inn is affordable, clean, and right in the heart of the action! The best thing is, when you step into the grounds, it's like you've entered a retreat.
Staff are friendly, and present an ice-cold facewasher on arrival and checkout to help refresh you.
The two pools are a delight to swim in, clean, and a good place to chat with fellow travellers.
Breakfasts are delicious, with the Bali-style omelette and banana smoothies favourites.
Air conditioning is cold, adjustable and works well!
If you enjoy being in the thick of things, but like a cool and peaceful place for a siesta, this is your spot!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SusieMaloozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed here in Feb 2014, have to say the rooms could do with a revamp (which seems was happening anyway) breakfast could also do with a revamp, add a few extra options (we stayed 9 nights and was definately over it) BUT for the cost of this place it is amazing, the staff - especially security were amazing i spent a lot of time laughing with them, close to everything, will be recommending to all my friends.

Note - Others in my travelling party would of appreciated a hot water jug and a hairdryer in the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms down the back by the second pool are so nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi-Lisa-Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here jan 2014!! Rooms ok!! Breakfast could have a makeover!! Pools are good for kids!! Great location!!! Must try the Brazilian BBQ down in secret garden!!! Amazing!!! Family rooms are big, pillows are terrible!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jungys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

A highly recommended Hotel by my Bali guru mum, who has stayed there many times. This family hotel allows you to enjoy the hustle and bustle of Poppy 1 Kutu but once you walk through the front gate, instance relaxation, with 2 refreshing pools and well appointed rooms. The rooms have the icy cold aircon, a decent fridge and comfy beds, who can ask for more. The Breakie is wholesome and filling and staff excellent. Great place to stay in Kutu.

Room Tip: Rear bottom rooms are my choice but all rooms do the trick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soulsurfer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
La Walon Hotel
La Walon Hotel
#134 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#15 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yulia Beach Inn
Yulia Beach Inn
#49 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Asana Agung Putra Bali
Asana Agung Putra Bali
#44 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fat Yogi Cottages
Fat Yogi Cottages
#158 of 251 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#20 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masa Inn

Property: Masa Inn
Address: Poppies Lane I / 27, Kuta, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Kuta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Number of rooms: 314
Also Known As:
Masa Hotel Kuta
Masa Inn Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing