We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unhappy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kendi Mas Hotel

Kendi Mas Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kendi Mas Hotel
Ranked #222 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Unhappy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We left Ubud for Kuta with absolutely no hotel reservations. We asked our cab driver to take us to a decent priced hotel that was clean. When we pulled up to Kendi Mas Hotel, we were amazed at how nice this hotel looked and were quite excited to spend our five days in Kuta at this hotel.

When we checked into our deluxe room with air conditioning, we were not impressed with the room. The room itself was very spaceous with two twin beds that had very old bed sheets that did not look like it was fresh. The bathroom was DISGUSTING. It was old and very dirty. By the amount of soap scum, old toothpaste spit on the mirrors and sink spout, the scum and dirt in the toilet, this bathroom has not been cleaned in months.

The next morning, we decided to switch rooms and actually downgraded to a room without air conditioning, thinking maybe another room would be cleaner. We paid and checked into our new room. It was a tad bit cleaner from our first room but yet again, the bathroom was DISGUSTING.

Although we paid for another full night, we said screw it and checked out a few hours later and moved into a much cleaner hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you like using a dirty bathroom, find a new hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The location is good as you are far enough out to not hear all the nightlife but close enough to walk into town in a couple of minutes.

The staff clean the rooms each day and do a good job cleaning the rest of the complex. The pool is well maintained and a highlight of the complex.

Free breakfast was nice, if simple. A couple of the staff struggle with English but they get by more than well enough.

The beds are a little hard and the quality of the bedding is average. The fan in our room didn't work great and got hot in the night but we had the option for an aircon room if we wanted.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

The location is excellent. Off the main road, just a short walk to all the restaurants in Jalan Kartika.
Only a 10 minute walk to Hard Rock Cafe and Kuta Beach.The rooms are OK. They are definitely not first class. Still they are comfortable and clean, if a little run down. Some rooms have dodgy airconditioners. However the bad ones are being replaced slowly. I have stayed here many times and find the staff very friendly and helpfull. The free breakfast is ok, coffee, tea, toast and egg. The grounds are well kept and clean. Close to the airport and Kuta.

Room Tip: If your AC is not so cool. Ask for a room change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DayTrader888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

I rate Kendi Mas very good for the money. I know after spending nights at two other lodgings in Kuta. This one is by far the best bargain and the scenery and ambience is relaxing. Location is ideal -- off the main drags and the noise, but only seven-to-ten minutes to the beach and about 10 minute walk to the main entertainment area. The grounds are beautiful, with a nice pool to cool off, but not good for lap swimming, because one end has stairs that slope down the width of the pool, making it impossible to swim end-to-end. Rooms are a bit Spartan but what do you expect for such a price! If you don't like a dingy look to the room, better go elsewhere, but if you are not put off by the appearance, this is an ok place to stay. You get what you pay for room wise, but you get much more than you pay for in the overall manicured grounds and ambience. I would go back if I'm on a budget. Oh, and breakfast is included.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

The location in Kuta is great, in amongst everything, yet off the street.
Reasonably priced, but the accomodation is very tired, the rooms are kind of clean although they are so old it's hard to differentiate from overuse as opposed to dirt.
The breakfast wasn't that good, and because of the state of the rooms, we decided not to go into the pool.
Lots of mosquitos.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zumayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

I stayed at a similar price range hotel in the same street and in comparison Kendi Mas was really not worth the money. I stayed in a 'superior room', the room itself is big with aircon and a balcony. Although the bathroom was filthy, the walls and sink were yellowish, the toilet apparently not cleaned after the previous occupants!, the shower had no power at all, there were no towels. I don't mind those conditions when the price justifies it but for 350K rupias per night I would have expected a clean bathroom.
The staff wasn't too helpful, we took a scooter at 1pm and asked to pay only half day but that was not possible. Also we booked a taxi the day before which didn't show up the next morning. Hopefully they rearranged one really quickly so we got on the airport on time.
Otherwise the garden and swimming pool area are really well kept and nice. Location is good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiiikouyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Ozz Hotel Kuta
Ozz Hotel Kuta
#106 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oasis Kuta
The Oasis Kuta
#170 of 250 in Kuta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jesen's Inn II
Jesen's Inn II
#104 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ida Hotel
Ida Hotel
#75 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Karthi
Hotel Karthi
#153 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Home@36
Home@36
#68 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kendi Mas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendi Mas Hotel

Property: Kendi Mas Hotel
Address: Jalan Bakung Sari, No.19, Kuta, Indonesia (Formerly Jesen's Inn III)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Number of rooms: 245
Also Known As:
Kendi Mas Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing