We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the middle of kuta” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sorga Cottages

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Sorga Cottages
Ranked #141 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of kuta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Fantastic front desk staff! (thank you again for the help with the phone). Lovely quite, garden compound in the middle of old Kuta. Lovely basic Balinese themed rooms, big bathrooms and nice porch. Nice pool, nice breakfast with lovely staff. Thermos flask for hot water. Wifi throughout the grounds for small fee. (Better service than a lot of fancy hotels). 'Sorga' is the perfect little oasis to go back to, if you have enough of the noise of busy Kuta. Absolute value for money.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank josjebors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sorga, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sorga Cottages, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear josjebors,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience regarding your recent stay at Hotel Sorga Kuta. It was a great pleasure reading your post and I appreciate your trust towards of Hotel Sorga Kuta, your comments have been shared with the team and they were indeed pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.
Your good feedback to our hotel is able to ensure whether our guest satisfied or not with the our service while it definitely motivate us and the team concerned to keep the good work all the times. We would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Should you need any further assistance or inquiry regarding your future stay, please do not hesitate to contact us via email at reservation@hotelsorgakuta.com or call us at +62-361-751897.

Best Regards,

Sang Bagus Nyoman Merta
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    42
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
11
46
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here in a ground floor room for one night. (114) I have stayed here in the 3rd floor rooms in previous years.

Location is excellent--between the Poppies lane 1 and 2--- can get there by either lane but more easy to find coming from Poppies lane 1. It is right in the heart of Kuta. 5 min walk from Kuta beach and its easy to walk to many cafes, bars, clubs,etc.

Nighttime was relatively quiet at the hotel and I didn't have any music bothering me during the night.

I had a ground floor air con room with a flat screen tv. The room furnishings are old and worn out. Towels worn and frayed--they should replace soon!! Very basic toiletries (bar of soap, shampoo). Shower had great water pressure and was hot. Air con worked ok, but smelled a bit when running. They had instant coffee in room and brought a thermos of hot water. TV had a few English channels, HBO. Plenty of lights in room. Sitting area outside room with 2 chairs-- mini porch.

The room had a bit musty/damp smell but ok for one night. If you have been backpacking, this would be a step up and feel like luxury. On the other hand, it's old and worn. Upper floor rooms were not musty smelling at all.

Breakfast you have a choice of a few things. The usual fried rice or eggs/ toast or pancake, coffee or tea, juice, fruit. Simple but ok. They also serve some basic foods at restaurant at reasonably cheap prices.

Small pool with a few sun lounge chairs.

Wifi -- no free wifi. You must
pay for your wifi time. There was a phone in the room as well.

Staff always friendly and courteous. Although a couple odd men working in maintenance/ housekeeping that gave me the creeps.

Beware of possible peeping Tom in ground floor room bathrooms. I looked at several rooms and all on ground floor had same type window/vent in bathroom above a sink/ mirror. When first looking I noticed some black spots in the window/vent glass, and it appeared to be boarded up from the outside. No light shined through these holes. In the morning, I noticed some light coming through these holes and thought it was strange. I went to breakfast and when i returned the light was not coming through again. I went outside and then saw there is a door that goes to a small alley behind the rooms. I brought a lady of the hotel staff to show my window and she was surprised. She then asked someone to unlock the door to the alley so I could look. It turned out that it was a small alley behind all rooms and there is a light they turn on/off. I saw a ladder nearby. She said its not possible for someone to be looking, but those holes were definitely the right size for an eye or two, and it's easy enough for someone to move the ladder or put a small step stool where they like. She said she would tell the supervisor about this, and that they would try and make a new cover ( maybe cover from inside) but who knows if they will follow through or not?

Other than that, I like the location, nice staff (except for a couple strange men in housekeeping/ garden/maintenance) and would stay again, but only in the 2nd floor or 3rd floor rooms. It's good value for that area. Do hope they replace their old towels and cover those bathroom windows on the ground floor.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzykhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sorga, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sorga Cottages, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear OzzyK,

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Sorga Kuta!!!

We sincere thank you for choosing Hotel Sorga Kuta as your accommodation during your holiday in Bali.

First I would like to express my sincere apology of your inconvenience during your stay
Rest assured that your input has been in my full attention and will be take it seriously to met guest expectation.

Your comment regarding our room and our services has been well noted and will be taken into consideration for future room renovation and service improvement.

I do appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention and therefore giving us an opportunity to improve. We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you in the near future.

Should you need any further assistance or inquiry regarding your future stay, please do not hesitate to contact us via email at reservation@hotelsorgakuta.com or call us at +62-361-751897.

Best Regards,

Sang Bagus Nyoman Merta
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
729 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I've stayed on Gang Sorga for years but it was the first time I was able to stay here as it's usually full. I'd moved from Secret Garden- after a horrible noisy night- and I immediately felt happy. The staff are great; lovely to have a pool; rooms are bright and clean. There is a little noise at night but it's a dull noise that fades out and I'm super fussy about noise! I will definitely stay here in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sorga, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sorga Cottages, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear jmm73,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience regarding your recent stay at Hotel Sorga Kuta. It was a great pleasure reading your post and I appreciate your trust towards of Hotel Sorga Kuta, your comments have been shared with the team and they were indeed pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

Your good feedback to our hotel is able to ensure whether our guest satisfied or not with the our service while it definitely motivate us and the team concerned to keep the good work all the times. We would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Should you need any further assistance or inquiry regarding your future stay, please do not hesitate to contact us via email at reservation@hotelsorgakuta.com or call us at +62-361-751897.

Best Regards,

Sang Bagus Nyoman Merta
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stay at this hotel for a week. My first though of this hotel was "Are we the only one staying here?" but don't be fool by it Old- Baliness Look, Many people stayed here. The place is quite and peaceful. Staff were friendly, Help us to our room, even waited for us at the airport as we took a long time at the Immigration. There is WiFi but you have to pay for it, by hour. Near to popular tourist sides like Legian Street, Nightlife and Kuta Beach but you have to walk quite a distance to the main road. The price was ok. Cheaper than most of the hotels located at Poppies 2. It has a swimming pool, good for Families with kids to stay here. Overall it's worth the money and the stay.

Room Tip: For better WiFi connection ask for the room on the lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldrich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sorga, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sorga Cottages, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Ez3ya,

Warmest Greeting from Hotel Sorga Kuta!!!

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience regarding your recent stay at Hotel Sorga Kuta. It was a great pleasure reading your post and I appreciate your trust towards of Hotel Sorga Kuta, your comments have been shared with the team and they were indeed pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

Your good feedback to our hotel is able to ensure whether our guest satisfied or not with the our service while it definitely motivate us and the team concerned to keep the good work all the times. We would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Should you need any further assistance or inquiry regarding your future stay, please do not hesitate to contact us via email at reservation@hotelsorgakuta.com or call us at +62-361-751897.

Best Regards,

Sang Bagus Nyoman Merta
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I stayed in Hotel Sorga at room 224 with my friend, we both came almost midnight, delayed flight but wow!! the pick up staff keep waiting, its late about 1hr 15 minutes tho.. we were suprised, he carried our luggages and drove us to hotel... and the reception was fab, helped us very much. we got a very nice, comfey room on the second floor.
woke up early in the morning, had breakfast... anyway its a very delicious nasi goreng :):) tried pool once... oh yes relaxing, quiet but its memorable....
and finally we got the chance back here next week... yayyyy:)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathilda20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sorga, Front Office Staff at Hotel Sorga Cottages, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Mathilda20,

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Sorga Kuta!!!

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience regarding your recent stay at Hotel Sorga Kuta. It was a great pleasure reading your post and I appreciate your trust towards of Hotel Sorga Kuta, your comments have been shared with the team and they were indeed pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

Your good feedback to our hotel is able to ensure whether our guest satisfied or not with the our service while it definitely motivate us and the team concerned to keep the good work all the times. We would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Should you need any further assistance or inquiry regarding your future stay, please do not hesitate to contact us via email at reservation@hotelsorgakuta.com or call us at +62-361-751897.

Best Regards,

Sang Bagus Nyoman Merta
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Good choose for budget travellers. Hotel area looks pretty and pool as well. Staff is friendly, they kindly arranged transfer from airport and with other questions. Room is clean. A bit far from the beach (with the bike is not a problem), but close to night life places.

Room Tip: Better to take a room with AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlana_zam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sorga, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sorga Cottages, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Svetlana_zam,

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Sorga Kuta!!!

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience regarding your recent stay at Hotel Sorga Kuta. It was a great pleasure reading your post and I appreciate your trust towards of Hotel Sorga Kuta, your comments have been shared with the team and they were indeed pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

Your good feedback to our hotel is able to ensure whether our guest satisfied or not with the our service while it definitely motivate us and the team concerned to keep the good work all the times. We would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Should you need any further assistance or inquiry regarding your future stay, please do not hesitate to contact us via email at reservation@hotelsorgakuta.com or call us at +62-361-751897.

Best Regards,

Sang Bagus Nyoman Merta
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Excellent hotel. But one thing we don't like is people smoking in the restaurant especially we are eating, is not health for anyone. Also the internet should be on 24 hours because some business people stay in the hotel. Not jus the business also we are coming from different world and different time zone, we would like to contact our family any time especially Emergency. Other than that all good. We wll be back soon..

From:
Mr Mark B.& Ms Cathrrina

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Waringin Homestay
Waringin Homestay
#110 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fat Yogi Cottages
Fat Yogi Cottages
#159 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balisandy Resort
Balisandy Resort
#156 of 250 in Kuta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dekuta Hotel
Dekuta Hotel
#128 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Walon Bungalows
La Walon Bungalows
#132 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandat Hotel Legian
Sandat Hotel Legian
#212 of 250 in Kuta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorga Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorga Cottages

Property: Hotel Sorga Cottages
Address: Jl. Poppies 1 Gang Sorga, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Kuta
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorga Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute stroll from Kuta Beach, Hotel Sorga Cottages boasts an outdoor pool and rooms with private bathrooms. It offers free usage of safety deposit boxes at the 24-hour front desk. Guests who drive enjoy free parking privileges. Free WiFi access is available in public areas. Hotel Sorga Cottages is located a 10-minute walk from Beachwalk Shopping Centre and 15-minute walk from Kuta Art Market. It takes 20 minutes to drive to Ngurah Rai International Airport from the property. Airport transfers can be arranged at a charge. Providing either air conditioning or a fan, rooms are fitted with wooden furnishings and tiled flooring. Guests can relax in the seating area while enjoying views of the greenery. Select rooms come with a cable TV. Bath and shower facilities are included in the attached bathroom. Staff can assist guests with car rentals and laundry requests. In-room dining options are possible with room service. At Sorga Restaurant, guests can enjoy a variety of Indonesian, Chinese and American dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sorga Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorga Hotel Kuta
Hotel Sorga Cottages Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing