We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel!”
Review of Secret Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secret Garden Inn
Ranked #5 of 282 Kuta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great hotel!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

currently staying here for 2 weeks, tonight will be my 3rd night, great location and security, I don't like little dark alleys in Bali so I feel safe here. many great cheap bars and restaurants at your doorstep. I'm just in a standard room, and am very very happy with it, complimentary breakfast is great, room is very clean, nice sheets and room is made up every day. staff are friendly. The pool is great, I have read the few bad reviews on this place and having now seen the place for myself I have no idea why people would complain, this place isn't a Hilton hotel obviously, but for Rp400,000 a night including breakfast it is more than great value. I've seen complaints about all the signs around, and people feeling like there are too many rules, fact is there is a sign by the pool saying no drinking alcohol in the pool, there is a sign as you walk up the stairs saying no jumping off balconys into the pool, and a third sign in the room saying no smoking in rooms. I have no idea why people would complain over these signs, these 3 signs are all I have seen!
Some nights I can hear the band at the restaurant next door until late at night, however I found the level not so bad that Ive struggled to sleep at all. when emailing thru my booking I talked them down to letting me have my room for Rp350,000 as i was staying for 2 weeks, and the current AU exchange rate is Rp9900 to the aussie dollar, so for $35 a night I'd have to be some kind of cheap, tight bum to make any complaints about this hotel. last time i was here I stayed at Bakung Beach Cottages for similar price and although I was happy at BBC, this place is nicer and much better location, will definately stay here at Secret Garden Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_Hancock_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gian a, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear R_Hancock_

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. It is always encouraging when our guests are having a fantastic stay at theSecret Garden Inn.

I will pass on your comments to our Secret Garden team and again we really appreciate your positive comments and we hope you continue to enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    80
    27
    3
    13
See reviews for
46
60
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
729 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

After reading the reviews I had high hopes for Secret Garden. I go to Kuta regularly and I couldn't wait to get out of here. Although most rooms in this price range are much the same in Kuta, this room was so dark; the bathroom was depressing and the noise at night! If you're going to be out until late you'll be fine but otherwise, don't expect to sleep. On a positive note, the staff were very nice, it's a great location on Poppies 1 and it had a generous breakfast but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gian a, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear jmm73,

It is dissappointing that your recent stay with us was not as peaceful and tranquil as you would have liked. Our Hotel is usually a quiet and restful place and we pride ourselves on providing a relaxed oasis. Unfortunately from time to time guests may stay that are disrepectful of others.

We are mindful of all our guests comfort and will continue to monitor guest behaviour so all our guests have a relaxing pleasant holiday.

Thankyou for your positive feedback about our staff as they do work hard to ensure our guests have a pleasant and memorable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We are two young girls. We stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of our trip in Bali and fell in love. The staff were lovely and the owner Joan-a beautiful, caring woman who looked after us and showed us around! We can not thank you enough for making our stay so special!

We came back after our travels for our final few days in Bali and was shown the same level of friendliness by the staff. Some truly wonderful people. We will see you next year x Janette and Heather xxx

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank netsy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

have stayed here many times , always good value, always clean , staff treat u like family ,breakfast with a smile every morning, 1 entry point into complex makes for safe secure residence with security man at night time , pool is deep and always clean plenty of noodles to float around on, central to everything 5 min to beach , plenty of bars and restaurants nearby, u will find a lot of previous holiday travellers coming back here year after year

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkes NSW Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Back for yet another enjoyable relaxing visit to this precious haven tucked away with easy access to so much. The Inn is under new Management but same Staff and lots of improvements have occurred. Pool level rooms have all been upgraded. New flat screen TVs attractive bed lamps new paintings. Each room has an individual phone. Around the pool elaborate lights tower up trees and of an evening add a lot of interest as we sit - either in our private Lanai or around the pool. You can be so close and not be aware this place is here - tucked away - secure private - surveillance provided 24/7 - safes in every room - plus a 4ft high full fridge individual air conditioning also a punker fan - copious cupboard and hanging space writing desk plenty drawers it really is amazing value. The beach is a 10 minute walk less if your fitter than me and one is spoilt for choice as to where to visit to eat and drink all within a few minutes walk The Inn provides a hearty breakfast from 7.30am till 10.am also has a Bar and icy cold drinks available 24/7 also. WIFI is provided. ten Staff have been with the Inn long term happy helpful honest and really enjoy their jobs. The rooms surround at different levels an oblong deep crystal clear pool - plenty lounges to relax on and a free Book Exchange available plus a daily paper in English. The books are in a number of languages. Various lounges are available to meet and greet. I am now widowed so often travel alone but never feel this as staff and other regular visitors always talk and make you feel welcome update you with their finds which does enhance your holiday - to come here is like coming home. I arrived in May and leave tonight but will be back with family in July and looking forward to that too. Do google this - the location is excellent also we are so fortunate the local eateries and bars mainly do not have plus plus as is the case in Poppies 11or up Legian Sreet just another plus for being here. This is a very prized location. Check it out for yourself. You will be so glad you did. Has three levels two are double or single rooms all have en suites bed side tables and reading lamps plus a family room for four with full kitchen facilities top level are all individual spacious Villas. The Manager at the Office will gladly assist with getting you any where you wish to go and making you aware of the countless opportunities that exist to explore. They will organise transportation if required. Will meet you or take you to the local airport. Manager Made is Multi Lingual enjoys welcoming all the Inns guests - do your self a favor - become one - I have been coming since 2004.

Room Tip: Personally due to my age I prefer a ground floor room - but just being here is what is important. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have travelled a lot and found the secret garden was fantastic,clean rooms serviced daily a/c tv
fridge everything you need.the pool is beautifull and really refreshing after a day out.The location is very handy not far from the beach and surounded by restaurants and bars.Most of all the staff were so friendly nothing was to much trouble.

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor which was good ,will try second floor next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

we had a family room. a big room that accommodated 4 adults with ease. location is awesome, relatively near to the beach and there's everything around.

the room is clean, toilet is great with strong water pressure. there's even a microwave, toaster, fridge, big table to put all your stuff in the room.

good for long stays as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeddyBong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#10 of 252 in Kuta
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#43 of 252 in Kuta
2,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#21 of 252 in Kuta
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#12 of 252 in Kuta
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Inn

Property: Secret Garden Inn
Address: Poppies Lane I, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 282 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean and quiet budget hotel nestled down in the popular Poppies 1 Lane, Kuta, Bali ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your Secret Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Hotel Kuta
Secret Garden Inn Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing