We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secret Garden Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Masa Inn(Kuta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
93
84
29
5
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
84
29
5
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeep poolpoppies lanebedroom bungalowlarge fridgepool towels are providedmy home away from homehot and cold waterbudget hotelwashing machinerooms are basica king size bedflat screen tvfamily roomtop floorwould stay againmini martstayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for 10 nights in late March 2014 and we cannot recommend the Secret Garden Inn highly enough.

This hotel delivers a warm, inviting atmosphere with the most fantastic staff and without the pretention of more expensive hotels. Super value for money.

Small by comparison to the larger resorts, the Secret Garden Inn is well located on Poppies 1. It has easy access to shopping , restaurants and Kuta beach but we weren't disturbed by any outside noise during our stay.

Rooms are well presented and comfortable, fantastic pool, great breakfasts (inc) and transport available when required for very reasonable charges.

The hotels manager (Made - pronounced Marday) was the consummate professional and led a wonderful team who couldn't do enough to make our stay so enjoyable. Thank you to Gusti, Leo, Gede x 2, Bram, Made, Dian and Puta for making us feel so welcomed.

Highly recommended - we will certainly be back !

Room Tip: - Ground floor rooms are just a few steps from the pool ! - Money changing facilities inside the hotel are very competitive and safe
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahbigdaddy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gian a, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Grahbigdaddy,

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Your positive feedback is warmly accepted and thankyou for recognising the wonderful work that Made and his team do. They are always eager to please and make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Hopefully you will return again soon.

many thanks from the team at the SGI :)))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Secret Garden is an oasis of calm and peace in the middle of all the madness and chaos of Kuta. Step outside and you have literally hundreds of bars, cafes and restaurants to choose from, but lying by the pool you wouldn't know they were there. The pool is tightly enclosed on three sides by the three storied hotel, meaning the pool is protected from too much sun and stays reasonably cool compared with many of the more exposed pools in Bali that become too warm in the tropical sun.
The Secret Garden is a great budget hotel for grown-ups as the 7ft deep (all over) pool guarantees there are unlikely to be any small screaming kids staying there.
The rooms and hotel are kept very clean, the beds are comfy and the oversized fridge means you can stock up on lots of bits and pieces at the Carrefour Supermarket a short cab ride away.
The TV is a bit limited with The Australian Network and BBC World the only English language channels available - but we didn't go to Bali to watch TV. The hot water is on Bali time and takes a while to arrive, but for 280,000 Rph - less then $25 USD a day- about $28 NZD - including breakfast for a room one floor up - it wasn't a big issue.
The staff are great, friendly and helpful and will do everything they can to keep you happy.
It is difficult to find fault with this hotel when you consider the great value for money. Some nights there is a bit of noise from the bar next door up to 11pm but we found that was resolved by simply shutting the bathroom door. This place is great value.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end away from the hotel's restaurant are the quietest.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilsonOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gian a, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear WilsonOwen, Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Your review highlights what we think are all our good points. We are not a huge hotel but that is exactly why we can keep our prices down and provide you with a quiet small oasis in the midst of a bustling Kuta area.

Our staff too are fully aware of making sure your time is relaxing and peaceful. Thankyou for recognising their efforts.

Hopefully you will be in Bali again soon.

Many thanks from the team at the SGI :)))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed 26 days and loved every minute of it. Room 37 ground floor is 5 steps from the pool. Large double room with large fridge, ceiling fan, nice cold air conditioning and a king size bed. Bathroom is basic but adequate and water is really hot if a little slow to come through. The staff led by Made are fantastic and always happy to accommodate any request. They are really like family. Exchange rate in hotel is competitive with the street price and reliable too. Wayun the driver who picked us up and returned us to airport is a great guy, very informative and always available at short notice. We loved our stay here, particularly the location in central Poppies 1 lane but very quiet. The pool overt 2 metres deep all round was sparkling clean and very refreshing. Thanks to Made and your crew for looking after us. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mildew1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gian a, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Mildew1951,

We are so glad that The Secret Garden is making your stays in Bali an enjoybale one. Our staff and in particular the Manager Made has the guests stay at the forefront of his mind.

Thanks for your great feedback it is hugely welcomed :)))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was the fifth time I have stayed at Secret Garden Inn and again its been great with no request too much and Made and the team happy to make my stay enjoyable. From the early morning pick-up to each days breakfast being spot on, my holiday has been really good. I could rely on the people at the hotel to point me in the right direction and thats a big deal when you travel alone. The peace and quiet is wonderful and the pool is lovely and cool after a morning of shopping or walking. Love that its right in the centre of things but you dont feel that you're ever exposed to the "bad part of town". Traveled before as a couple, with the family and this time solo. I'll be back again and again.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are lovely, but second floor are good value.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kapay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gian a, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Kapay,

Thankyou so much for the positive feedback. Sounds like you have made the Secret Garden your home away from home. We are so pleased that you enjoy the hotel and that the staff are looking after you.

Many many thanks....From the TEAM at the SGI :))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Met at the airport by the Inn's driver, Leo, couldn't do enough for us, so got to know him very well on our stay. Value for money the hotel was quite good, but it was the atmosphere that we loved the best. As a couple of the other reviews point out, leaving after a week was like leaving family. We had a family room on the ground floor and we spent a lot of time sitting outside our room where there was a small table & 2 chairs overlooking the beautiful garden and swimming pool. We have stayed in 4/5 star hotels in Bali before, but were recommended the Secret Garden Inn by some friends, as budget accommodation, which would then allow us to visit Bali more often. We took some family members to a luxury hotel for breakfast & a walk around the gardens and it was very beautiful, the service was good, but with the Secret Garden Inn, you are seeing the same friendly staff all the time & you quickly feel at home. In addition the Secret Garden Inn's position is in Poppies Lane 1 so it is so convenient, Shops, Restaurants & Bars at your doorstep. All in all a great & very relaxing holiday so we will now save on the expensive accommodation in Bali & stay at the Secret Garden Inn. By the way the Manager's name is Made, pronounced Marday I think. What a lovely man.

Room Tip: Ground floor costs a couple of $s more, but if it is the relaxing holiday you are after then ground floor is best. Leave the cheaper rooms for the young ones.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews