We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”
Review of Hotel Mahendra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mahendra
Ranked #194 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Nice location, clean and small, but at least good breakfast. It's not the best place to stay but if you look for something cheap it's fine. A bit noisy cause there are some clubs around, and also a rooster that used to wake up us every morning!
However the staff is nice and if you don't want to spend much, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeylaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    2
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
6
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We couldn't find the place because we arrived at 3AM and the neighborhood is quite dark. We had to stay somewhere else but when the morning come it actually pretty easy to find. Poppies Lane can't be accessed freely with car so if you come from airport by taxi, tell them to drop you at Legian Road, there's small road across Memorial of Bali Bombing, go there and turn the first left and just walk straight until you find the Greek cafe (which offers quite tasty breakfast and light food).

The location is good, near Kuta beach (15 minutes walk) and Legian Road (5 minutes walk). It's pretty noisy at night but bearable. Beware of the drunks. You could ask for motorcycle rental at receptionist. There's also batch laundry within walking distance.

We stayed at newly renovated room, 150k IDR for 3 persons (they don't offer extra bed to us so we end up merging 2x120cm beds). The room is a bit damp and there's no doormat or bathroom mat. There's no amenities like soap or anything (typical for backpacker hotel) too, so you need to bring your own toiletries and towel. There are convenience stores nearby though. The bathroom is clean and bright but there's nothing to hang your towel or clothes.

Breakfast is so-so. The staff is friendly (maybe a bit too friendly that it become annoying, or maybe because we're locals). We spent two nights here and overall it's OK for basic need of travelling.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bled, Slovenia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Being there 4 years ago, when the rooms were pretty neat and cheap (as most of the accommodations at that time in Kuta). Upon our arrival to Kuta, Mahendra Beach Inn, this August (2012), we were truly disappointed when dissevered that the rooms were trashed, dirty,... well not maintained at all -> whereas the price was 2-times higher. As we were very exhausted upon our arrival, we decided to stay a night, but also made a quick escape the morning after. And never returned back!

Room Tip: Find other place if you want a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JaDoLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Budapest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

As a solo woman traveller, I arrived late night to Kuta, all recommended places were full or too expensive. So when I found a room available at Mahendra, was sort of happy, however had the feeling that I was overcharged badly (after18 hours travelling, after midnight, I did not really care, just needed a bed as soon as possible). For 175 000 IDR I got AC and cold water, and a not really clean room ( I am not really picky, and always have my sleeping bag cover with me) with a nice balcony. The place is under reconstruction, new rooms will be added, so the dust went into everywhere.

Unfortunately, there is a surf shop closeby, where locals and tourists like to hang out, listening very loud music until the morning , specially at weekend, so you must be really tired / good earplugs to get some sleep.

However, the staff was really helpful and nice, that is why I decided to stay for an other night, but next day I changed my room to a fan only, for 100 000 IDR. The shower was broken and there was no chance to plug my netbook in the room. Breakfast is included in the price - nothing special.

I would recommend it only if you bargain the price down.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vagablondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.2 mi away
Suka Beach Inn
Suka Beach Inn
#190 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waringin Homestay
Waringin Homestay
#105 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandat Hotel Legian
Sandat Hotel Legian
#218 of 250 in Kuta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palm Garden Kuta
Palm Garden Kuta
#233 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puri Tanah Lot
Hotel Puri Tanah Lot
#223 of 250 in Kuta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vilarisi Hotel
Vilarisi Hotel
#73 of 84 in Legian
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mahendra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mahendra

Property: Hotel Mahendra
Address: Jl. Popies 2 gg Ronta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mahendra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mahendra Beach Inn, located at famous kuta beach, an budget hotel in the center of Bali's busy shopping and nightlife district. , The hotel offers 20 rooms with a choice of one or two bed accommodation, all within easy walking distance of Bali's best shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The mahendra beach inn offering a comfortable place to stay which is, busy streets. Centrally located, the property offers an ideal base for visitors wishing to explore Bali while keeping all the island's best shop, bars, restaurants and beaches within walking distance. The hotel is less than 10 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 15 minutes by car to Denpasar, 30 minutes from Sanur and Nusa Dua and within a 45 minutes drive to the artistic center of Ubud. And we also serve : * TOUR SERVICE * CAR RENTAL * RENTAL MOTOR * RAFTING * package water sport * airport shuttle * TOURIST ACTIVITIES ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mahendra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mahendra Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing