We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst bedbug infestation I have ever seen!”
Review of Rita Za Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rita Za Hotel
Ranked #230 of 287 Kuta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 March 2010

When I arrived at Rita ZA Hotel and asked to see a room, they showed me an okay downstairs room with air-con. Then once I checked in they put me in a grottier upstairs room with no air-con. I didn't really care, but it was still sort of shady.

I was watching TV until pretty late, when I started noticing a lot of bugs in the room. Then I saw one on the pillow. I jumped up and pulled the sheet partially off the bed and saw the worst bedbug infestation I have ever seen. It was shocking--the mattress was black with bugs. I hadn't even gone to sleep and had only been in the hotel a few hours and I had more than 50 bites the next day.

At 3am I packed up my bag and told the guy downstairs that I wasn't staying in that room. He feigned surprised and rushed upstairs and sprayed bug spray all over the bed and sheets and said "now okay!" Uh, no. I told him I wasn't sleeping in that room and he said he didn't have any other rooms. I reminded him of the room that he had originally showed me, and he suddenly agreed that there was another room.

I said how do I know that room doesn't have bugs as well? He said, oh, only the room you were in, upstairs has the bugs. So, thanks for putting me in there. I went to the new room and took the case off the pillow and it was grey/green with mold. I told him I wasn't going to take the new room either and that I just wanted my money back and to leave.

He then offered me $0.50 (5000 IDR) to not tell anyone about the bug problem. I ended up having to find a new hotel at 4am. Rita ZA Hotel is the filthiest hotel I have seen in my 6 months of travel around Asia, which is really saying something!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fersure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank CandyEkaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank fumeematsura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Vassilis_fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Josefin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Elise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Bali Kuta Resort
1.0 mi away
Bali Dynasty Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#21 of 252 in Kuta
5,648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#40 of 252 in Kuta
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rita Za Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rita Za Hotel

Address: Jl. Raya Kuta Poppies 1 gang surga, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 287 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range: £8 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rita Za Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rita Za Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rita Za Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing