We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bum deal!”
Review of Gora Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gora Beach Inn
Ranked #185 of 345 Kuta B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A bum deal!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

For cheap accommodation in Kuta: avoid this place.

You like animals? Well maybe not the little bitey ones that don't let you sleep all night, that's another story.

As for breakfast, yes it's included in the 150,000 price tag and while our cook was lovely the toast was as my neighbour tells it "salty butter" not great but definitely the best thing about the place. As for the pool there is one. Also if you like drinking and being around copious amount of it then by all means go to Gora.

Avoid if you have the budget and time to do so.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumbling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    26
    20
    13
    9
See reviews for
3
20
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

After checking out a few places nearby we settled on Gora Beach Inn as it suited our low backpacking budget. We stayed here for about 5 nights and grew to hate the room we stayed in which was dirty and smelt. The bathroom was particularly unpleasant. There was no pipe to bring the tap water from the sink and instead it would fall through a hole in the sink onto the floor. The bathroom door would also not lock and the toilet would not always flush. There were two chairs outside the room which were nice to sit on and have a few drinks before a night out. This is definitely a party place with loud music beginning at about 5 or 6pm and it is good for meeting fellow backpackers. The location is good, it's a short stroll from the main party strip and in the opposite direction it is not far from the beach. We travelled on to the Gili islands and returned here for one night before a flight (we were too exhausted to search for another room). The room we stayed in was next door to the last one and was similarily of a poor standard. The words 'Bed Bugs Everywhere' were scrawled above one of the beds though thankfully we did not pick up any bites. I would recommend doing some research on accommodation before arriving in Kuta and would advise to stay clear of Gora Beach Inn unless you plan on being intoxicated for your entire time at the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

After a night at skylounge, nothing compares to gora's pool, not even Kuta beach. Grab your own Bintang or your mixed fruit juice and just enjoy a relaxing hangover. The staff is amazing and will help you find anything you want, from the best party in town to a friend that can help you extend your visa.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed with a friend at this hostel almost 5 days. It is well ubicated, close enought to alot of good restaurants and a street full of sourvenirs.
If youre looking for night life, this is your place. Theres almost non silence trought the night!.´

The place has a lot of potential, has a good pool and if you look at it from outside, its beautiful. Then you go in to the rooms and they have really dirty beds, dirty bathrooms and very smelly!. There was nobody at the reception at all times, the breakfast its ok,internet too, but if you have such a big place, you should have more than one person doing toast.
After all its cheap...thats it!
The most saddly thing about this corner was a guy standing everyday outside trying to make money with a little monkey (tight in chains) in a little motorbike toy. So sad and they , like a country with so many beautiful things and landscapes, should feel ashamed about this.
Specially with all those local people looking at it around!
Very sad for KUTA!!

Room Tip: There are better places if you go inside those amazing and small street in kuta, a little bit of mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gävle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

The location is good if you like drinking. Surprisingly there is a nice pool. The rest is awful. Room was the worst we stayed in during our months in Asia. Dirty bed and vomit or something close on then toilet door. Breakfast was terrible and wifi didnt work. There are much better places to stay for this (cheap) price. Only suitable for drunk kids.

Room Tip: The more expensive ones by the pool looked much better then our fan rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallkeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orléans, Centre, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We looked at a dozen different room within the area around the 100,000 to 180,000 range and all were disappointingly dirty, smelly, creepy and falling apart.

Gora's staff isn't golden and breakfast is a total loss but the rooms are cheap and clean with more updated plumbing then competitors in the range.

Nights are loud, location is central, bring your own towels, eat breakfast elsewhere. Price and standard to related perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Nitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucre, Bolivia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Over 30 and not in a partying mood... stay away!
Very good infrastructure, (pool) reasonably sized rooms, too small breakfast, good wifi.
But populated with very young, loud, drunk kids.
Otherwise, good budget option.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katrien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.0 mi away
Bounty Hotel
Bounty Hotel
#197 of 338 in Kuta
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harper Kuta
Harper Kuta
#47 of 338 in Kuta
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ronta Bungalows
Ronta Bungalows
#99 of 289 in Kuta
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cempaka 3 Inn
Cempaka 3 Inn
#78 of 345 in Kuta
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gemini Star
Gemini Star
#89 of 345 in Kuta
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandat Hotel Kuta
Sandat Hotel Kuta
#205 of 345 in Kuta
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gora Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gora Beach Inn

Property: Gora Beach Inn
Address: Legian Street Gang, Poppies II, Kuta, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 345 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gora Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gora Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gora Beach Hotel Kuta
Gora Beach Inn Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing