We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kubu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kubu Hotel
Ranked #114 of 279 Kuta B&B and Inns
Guipuzcoa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bad Choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I would not say it is terrible because I keep this adjective for other worse things in my life, but definitely it was a wrong choice and a bad experience. Do not trust the pictures...the hotel is much worse than it seems. The room was small, the bed sheets were not clean at all, the toilet was not clean, no hot water (I assume it could be normal), the balcOny door did not close completely, the air-con was not working...well...at least there was a bed to sleep...but 50 USD for that??? Definitely is not fair and there are much better places in Kuta to sleep for that price...even in high season.
Staff was not helpful at all. They were only worried about payment. Breakfast very poor.
Any positive thing? Let me think a longtime about it!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asiergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    38
    24
    16
    11
See reviews for
12
30
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

Talking about Kuta this place is a good quality/price option.
The hotel is located out from the main streets but at night you can hear the loud music.
The breakfast is quite simple and bad.

Rooms and swimming pool are nice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ialvarez26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

A group of 6 of us stayed in 3 rooms on the bottom floor at the back overlooking the pool. Great location in between Poppies 1 & Poppies 2. Small rooms, but OK for the price. Paid 350,000 per night for room, breakfast, TV, Wifi, air conditioner and hot shower. The thing that really disappointed me was that the bathrooms were not cleaned. All they would do was half heartily mop the floor. No scrubbing or wiping down the walls. I viewed this property back in Sep 2011 and they had not long been open and the bathrooms were immaculate. Well not even 12 months later and the bathroom walls look like they haven’t been cleaned since. The cleaners need to do less cleaning of the window behind the front desk and cleaning around the pool (up to 4 times a day) and do more cleaning of the bathrooms. The breakfast was good for the price we paid per night. The chairs outside all the rooms were all brocken and the most uncomfortable chairs you have ever sat on. The beading and towels were only changed when we asked. We all stayed for 5 nights. The pool was always really really cold as it does not get the afternoon sun. I would not stay at this Hotel again while the bathrooms are in that state.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wardybali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed for three days here in January, 2012. It's a nice hotel and clean (as pictured in the website) although the room's a bit small, but it's still ok for two people. The bed sheets were changed everyday, the bathroom was clean. And the most important thing was, I slept like a baby at night.. I couldn't say much about the breakfast, but I recommend this hotel. I think I'll stay here if i travel to bali again.. xoxo

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

stayed here June 2011 it looks nice but is very small tho & no restaurant or room service,no fidge or phone & no hot water either & they never cleaned the rooms properly. we always had to ask for it to be done it does have free wifi tho in ur room but thats it. pool area nice but small I would say it a 2 star not 3 star wouldnt stay again for what they charged & if u have a car no where 2 park!

Room Tip: dont stay here if u want a good room other wise on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel last year. It's quite good budget hotel and the location is near Legian street (shops and pubs). what i love bout this hotel that it is a newly built hotel which offer clean and simple rooms, exterior and interior are good, nice swimming pool and not too noisy like other hotels near Legian st. I love to come back to this hotel, but this year I'll bring my big fams so have to find another hotel with bigger room size.
negative here is the breakfast menu. just dont expect too much!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeleidaSumayow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

i've been there on march. the room, the service and the price is good.
nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadiayuliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorga Cottages
Hotel Sorga Cottages
#136 of 251 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pondok Krishna Poppies
Pondok Krishna Poppies
#16 of 279 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rabasta Kuta Beach Inn
Rabasta Kuta Beach Inn
#115 of 279 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Surfaris Inn Poppies II
Surfaris Inn Poppies II
#30 of 279 in Kuta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ronta Bungalows
Ronta Bungalows
#43 of 202 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sari Bali Cottages
Sari Bali Cottages
#118 of 202 in Kuta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kubu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kubu Hotel

Property: The Kubu Hotel
Address: Jl. Poppies I Gg. Sorga no. 5, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 279 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kubu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kubu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kubu Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing