We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Ranked #59 of 254 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel Great Location”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We Stayed at the Sun Island Hotel in Kuta in Sep 2012 - We had a great stay - allowed to check in extra early and even upgraded to a nicer pool view room. The Staff are very friendly - Breakfast was good. Live entertainment some nights and pretty cheap cocktails. - Dont listen to the other reviews about the pool being too shaded - Its gets plenty of sun for most of the day - IT IS NOT NOISY like many other people have said - a few laughs and footsteps at night will be all you here - Food is nice- Location is amazing - cut through Discovery Kartika for quick access to beach - across the road from waterbom and a couple of doors down from the big shopping mall. Fairly small and therefore quiet hotel - great for couples!

Room Tip: Pool view room great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    264
    84
    25
    12
See reviews for
112
221
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malang, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

we stayed for 2 nights me hubby and our son, the swimming pool is perfect not to hot, the bed in a room is big King size bed and very very comfortable. The Food is okay but the staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is the best thing very closed to airport, shops and mall. We are very happy with our stayed and will definitely comeback

Room Tip: I think any rooms in this hotel will be good, but maybe if you sensitive with noise ask room far fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rizka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My first stay in this hotel at kuta. The hotel is very new and modern & located an easy walk from Kuta Square & a short taxi ride from the airport. Staff were very helpful & polite for our stay. The room I had was located at the rear of the hotel which was very quiet at night although I would say that the rooms on the main st side would suffer a bit of noise. Room size was large with a very good shower that had a lovely full length window facing the bedroom (blind if required). Large flat screen tv, fridge, free wifi, tea/coffee making & bottles of water. Breakfast was included in our stay & quality/variety was excellent. The only draw back with the place I found was that the pool, in the centre of the building, had limited sun exposure and it was vert shallow - 1.2m deep. In all a very good hotel & I will be returning.

Room Tip: As for one at the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birchyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The hotel is centrally located in Kuta. It is a short 3 minutes walk to the shopping centre and the beach. There are also many resturants, shops, travel agency, spa and currency exchange across the road. We rented a car and parked at the hotel carpark. Security is tight and they will check the car before they allow you to park in their basement carpark which has a very steep slope. Carpark is free.

The hotel reception is very friendly and lobby is airy. The pool is just beside the main lobby and the resturant is also on the same floor just beside the hotel lobby. The rooms are tastefully decorated and new. Our room is facing the road but the noise is minimum.

Breakfast is served in the resturant and their staff is courteous and friendly. The variety of food changes daily. They have Baliness food as well as western style breakfast. What we love most is the freshly squeezed fruit juice. We had carrot juice on one morning and a beet root juice on the next day.

Overall the hotel is very ideal for family and couples who does not drive as most of the shops, beach, resturants and day tour operators are just a stone throw away from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinceVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed here for 1 night (less than 15 hours) in a standard room.

It was a decent hotel located at a very convenient location with shopping mall, restuarant and convenient store within very short walking distance. It was around 10-15 mins drive from the airport. Room was clean and comfortable. As my room was not facing the pool directly, I didnt hear much noise at night and could have a good sleep. The selection of food at breakfast was not big and the taste of the food was just so so. Service at the restaurant was average.

If you are looking for a stay over hotel that is close to the airport and at a convenient location, this hotel serves the purpose perfectly.

But if you want a little bit more (since you are at Bali), say more vernacular ambience and feel, this is not the perfect choice.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is not surrounding the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, our 2nd time to bali but first time staying here, the hotel wasn't fully completed when we came here last year. Hotel location is good, near the malls and walking distance to many restaurants. Room is big and clean and I like the interior decor, but i dislike the peacock decor on top of the bed. It is nice to look at, but be careful when you get up from the bed not to knock on to it. A pity that there is no bathtub in the showers thou the shower is huge. Breakfast was good and there are many variety to choose from. Service is acceptable, no hassles in checking in and out, room service is also prompt. Will recommend to stay here if you are looking for convenience.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristieyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Nine night stay at hotel.rooms good size as is bathroom.Balcony.Almost next door to Discovery Centre and across the road from Waterborn Park,easy walk to Matahari dept store and shops.beach can be accessed by discovery centre if need be.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are located at back of hotel and overlook car park however was very quiet at night.Pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.1 mi away
Adhi Jaya Hotel
Adhi Jaya Hotel
#32 of 254 in Kuta
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home@36
Home@36
#71 of 254 in Kuta
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#3 of 254 in Kuta
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
0.3 mi away
Kuta Station Hotel
Kuta Station Hotel
#88 of 254 in Kuta
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta

Property: Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kuta
#38 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#41 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#43 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to present Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta that offers you its definite impeccable service through the 121 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese hospitality and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, shopping malls, traditional art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing