We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sun Island Hotel Kuta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel Kuta
Ranked #50 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sun Island Hotel Kuta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

A wonderful hotel. Not to big, don't have to walk to far to the pool. The pool is kept very clean. Close to the Discovery Shopping Centre, water park. Not far from the airport. The hotel rooms are kept excellent, and the service is spot on. Also they allow you to use their lap top for a hour each day free of charge. One of the very best I have stayed in Bali and I have stayed in a few. The hotel is I feel more for the mature.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the pool, and that is the room I enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KazPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    251
    78
    22
    11
See reviews for
101
208
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and again didn't disappoint. The rooms were still looking brand new and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
It's an ideal location to major shopping malls and Kuta Beach. WE only had a short stay this time 4 nights but on our next trip back to Bali The Sun Island Resort is the only place to stay

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and we had a wonderful days! Location is one of the best in Kuta especially if you are already planning to leave the country. It takes only 5 minutes drive to the Airport. Check-in is quick and effecient. Reception is very good and the staff are fantastic, everybody is very helpul and kind to pleased you all the time. Actually Balinese people in general are very kind and friendly!!!..Rooms are big, bed are comfortable that you will have a deep sleep and with modern amenties. Regarding the clear window between the bathroom. I guess that the previous reviewer had forget to check or ask the housekeeping. Because there is a curtain from the ceiling which can be block the glass for your privacy. Breakfast had plenty of varieties but it needs a lot of improvement especially when it comes to quality and the taste of the food....Swimming pool is okay! Now they made the rules that the guest can only use the pool until 10:00pm in the evening. The only thing which we did not like is that some of the foreigners who does not have manners at all are smoking and drinking on th edge of the pool and putting the ashes inside the pool..So the management should have more strict rules regarding the use of the pool..Otherwise everything is fine and we had a very good stay in this hotel..110 percent I´ll recommend this hotel and for sure we will stay here again in the future..Because what suprised us with this hotel is that. They have a very honest staff!!...Me and my wife had decided to left behind a leather bag which she does not want to use anymore. And just before arriving to the airport. We received a call from the reception and asking if we forget the leather bag inside cabinet. And I said no! the leather bag that we left behind is for someone who wants to use it.. So we are so content about the HONESTY of their staff..After all these years of travelling never happen to us that someone will call you on the way to the airport and tell you that you forget something!..Thumbs up for the staff of this hotel..They are very kind and honest! The only thing which i think that the management can do to please their clients is to give a free transfer from and to the airport as it is very close from there..Most of the hotel in Kuta has a complimentary shuttle service..The rest is okay! Good stay! Godd staff! and Good hotel!..Terima Kasih!

Room Tip: Room 509, quite and nice pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FSE777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Rooms spacious, clean n good service. Good breakfast. Internet free but very very slow. Only complaint pool very noisy early in the mornings.
No one supervisors screaming kids. Also hated the clear glass window between bedroom n bathroom no privacy, glass shld be obscure. Good location and most comfortable bed hve had in a hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for New Years Eve, and a few days either side. The staff as most are in Bali hotels, very friendly and accommodating. Check in process fairly standard. There is a money exchange at the counter that offers same rates that you'll find on the street, so definatley worth while for lack of hassle. We stayed for a few nights in a deluxe pool suite then in the 1 bedroom suite room. The first room itself was clean, modern and air conditioning was nice and cold. No dvd player, so we bought our own that we'd purchased in asia and it worked fine. The down side, and I don't know if this is because we were on the top floor, is the noise. As the pool is in the centre and all the rooms are around the pool (five floors), noise from the pool seemed to carry like noise through a canyon. Fine if you have kids and like getting up early, but not so much if you want to sleep in. Quite noisy in general, we could hear chairs being moved around as the cleaners start around 9am. Breakfast was good, plenty of selection which changed daily. They have a juice making machine for those who like to make their own (carrot, apple etc). We upgraded to a suite room for the last few nights so we could enjoy something deluxe for New Years Eve. What. A. Difference! Bathroom and toilet, living area, bedroom, all separate, with TV in bedroom and another plus DVD in living area. Room was very quite, even though still located in the main hotel area. The balcony was a little on the small side, but nothing to complain about. If you want a good supermarket and wine shop, go out of the hotel and turn right, follow to the roundabout and turn left, the supermarket is only about 100meters from this turn. Large selection, similar to Coles/Woolworths but with wine shop and reasonable prices. Beats having to venture to the Bintang Supermarket in Seminyak. All in all, hotel is good, clean, spacious and well located.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a room in any corner would probably be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaylover086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed here couple of times, most recent one was in July 2012. You can't beat the location as it is walking distance to Discover Shopping Mall as well as other shops, restaurants in this terribly busy strip of Kartika Plaza Street.

I stayed at Deluxe Pool View which is my favorite type out of their three room categories, basically all the same except the view and the pool-access. I prefer Deluxe Pool View than Pool-Access as it offers more privacy.

The room facilities is quite impressive, I like to the peacock decoration !! the bathroom is average with shower and bath tube but one tiny setting which annoyed me was there is a small glass wall which was supposed to avoid the water from getting the floor wet (out of the bath tube) but probably the setting was little inappropriate so the floor was always wet.

It is considerably new 4* hotel in the area, new breed of hotel which has just very limited ground so do not expect to see lush garden or sizable swimming pool. They do have pool though but just couple of plants.

They have a street side lounge too but only have one coffee-shop/restaurant which serves breakfast and it is in the same level of lobby, in fact it is in the same hall so you can see who's eating from the front office. The buffet was alright.

The staffs were also quite helpful. They have a large TV at the front office displaying flight arrival & departures which was quite handy

Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kongco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
216 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

kuta is the worst place to stay in Bali unless you want to find cheap lodging and mingle with the backpackers. however i had to choose this hotel as it was close to the airport and the guys i was meeting. the hotel is extremely new, therefore everything is clean and new. rooms were nice beds were comfortable with free wifi. breakfast was lousy. also you hear a lot of sounds in the night as the hotel is right on the street unless you get a room in the back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budsy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.1 mi away
Adhi Jaya Hotel
Adhi Jaya Hotel
#29 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home@36
Home@36
#70 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#5 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa
Sun Island Hotel & Spa
#13 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#25 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Property: Sun Island Hotel Kuta
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kuta
#34 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#44 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel Kuta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to introduce you to our latest establishment of property in Kuta area. Sun Island Boutique Hotel Kuta offers you its definite impeccable service through the 126 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star luxurious hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese traditional architecture and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, Discovery Mall, Traditional Art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sun Island Hotel Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing