We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great and friendly staff, simply amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Ranked #57 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location, great and friendly staff, simply amazing!!!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Sun Island location is just minutes walk to the Discovery Shopping Mail and walk further more there is a Hard Rock Cafe, which is a popular area in Kuta. The staff over at Sun Island was friendly and helpful, the breakfast is simple and nice but yet have quite a number of variety of food, you can have your breakfast beside the pool or at the restaurant to take a pool view for a stress-free and relax breakfast with your love ones. The room is neat and tidy, everyday will do a housekeeping for your room, so once you come back from a tiring shopping spree, you would be able to have a neat and tidy room again!

I have a good experience in Sun Island, so definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors would be nice to have a bird-eye view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhongwei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Zhongwei H,

Greetings from the island of gods!

Thank you for spending your vacation at Sun Island Hotel Kuta. We are happy to learn that you made most of your time at our hotel. Your kind word with regards to our service means a lot to us, and you can trust us that we’ll keep working on giving our best to our guests. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers. We are so looking forward to welcoming you back again in your next Bali getaway.

All the best,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    257
    82
    24
    11
See reviews for
107
215
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kulim, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had our vacation to Bali recently. We choose Sun Island hotel Kuta. The hotel provides all the basic services like other hotels everywhere. But one cannot expect a very good customer service as we had bad experience with them. Customer service (Front desk) are not friendly and surprisingly never smile at visitors. We had this skeptic thought that maybe since we are Asians that the service given by them are poor and maybe foreigners from US or UK would have a better service from them. No idea if this is the case. Rooms are nice and comfortable. Breakfast are a total disaster! My advise, better to eat somewhere else then to eat their slimey noodle, insects infested fruits, over cooked vegetables in the morning for breakfast. It really turns our holiday mood down!! Another bad point is, at a times we expect a silent and relaxed stay at our room, but it turns out the loud concert at the cafeteria in the evening is not a pleasant one. Their bathroom has a large window that one can see from the bed what and how the other person is bathing!! is it necessary? i wonder what kind of concept is that, totally no privacy! We had to raise the curtain down before go for bath or to the toilet and still if people with bad intention can move the curtain to see what the other people doing inside the bathroom. Why the peek show type of concept? One good thing on this hotel is they do check-in and check-outs at odd times. Overall disappointing stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gauthem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Gauthem,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

I am disheartened to learn that your recent experience at our hotel was not any near to satisfactory. Thank you for sharing the details so that we can have the opportunity to improve our service in the future. In response to your comment regarding our front desk staff, please have my word that we do not discriminate guests based on race or in any other way. In other words, all guests are equally important and it is our duty to ensure their stay is pleasant and rewarding. I am as disappointed as you were knowing that some of our staff gave you such a negative impression. I have addressed this matter to all departments, especially the Front Office, to ensure that this kind of incident will not reoccur in the future. Your feedback regarding our breakfast has been communicated to our kitchen team. We take guest comments seriously and continuously work on giving guests more dining options as well as improving the quality. Once again, thank you for your feedbacks. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences you encountered. I am sincerely hoping that you will give us another opportunity to show our hospitality at its best in the near future. Until then, I am wishing you and your family a happy and prosperous new year!

Warmest regards,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

After just staying at the Sun Island Seminyak (which is amazing) I was a little taken back by the service at this hotel. Don't get me wrong amazing location and only 2 min walk to Discovery Shopping Mall & Waterbom Park. Rooms were suitable, but couldnt stay there for a week or more.
There was a staff member in the bar part who was amazing, chatting to everyone and remembering them the next day, just wish I got his name.
Staff at the check in counter was the problem, just lacked in communication along with not listening to a request. - When I asked if they could arrange us a transfer to Nusa Dua, only to receive a blank look on their faces, then asking someone else. After thinking this simple request was done, then receiving a phone call that evening in our room to check (and wanting to send us to the airport) along with another 3 calls the next morning with the same intentions of airport transfer, and when going to check out having to tell them again that NO we are not going to the airport but wanting a transfer to Nusa Dua.
Thank-god I didnt not ask them something difficult.

Would stay again, but maybe organise my own transfers

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LozPez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear LozPez,

Trust this message find you and your family well.

First of all, we appreciate that you chose to stay with us. We were pleased to know that you enjoyed the stay despite the inconveniences at the front office. Thank you for bringing your concern to my attention. I have addressed this issue to the department concerned to make corrective actions immediately to avoid reoccurring miscommunication that may distress our guests. Thank you for planning to stay with us again in the future. My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the true Balinese hospitality of Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

Yours sincerely,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We are currently on our 4th night of a 6 night stay.
We are in a pool side room!
We are traveling with a baby.
Hotel is lovely and clean, beds are very comfy! Rooms are a decent size! Pool is clean, you borrow hotel towels so you don't dirty your own!
Brekkie is lovely! Eggs made to order! Hubby very impressed!
The staff can't do enough to help! They are so friendly, helpful and even help us cross the road!
We are right next to centro shopping centre (2 mins walk) and loads of shops and eateries across the road!
Supermarket over the road is brilliant for essentials!
Would definitely recommend this hotel..! Top score!!! ;)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shipships
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Shipships,

How wonderful to hear from you and your family again. It was truly bliss to be at your service and we are glad to learn that your holiday went as you expected it to be. Thank you for pointing out the details of your stay in the review, showing that you had a wonderful time. We’re hoping that we could welcome you again in your next visit to Bali. Please extend our good wishes to your family.

Sincerely,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

On arriving at hotel , all staff were very very friendly , we were upgraded to a deluxe room with pool view at no extra charge , room was very clean and spacious . breaky was nice . We stayed 5 nights and had a lovely stay , I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to have some quiet time . We never had to fight to get a sun lounge as you have to at some resorts.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 505 4th floor at the back of hotel nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tania r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear tania r,

Greetings from Kuta – Bali!

We’d like to say thank you for choosing to stay at our award-winning hotel. It was our pleasure to be at your service. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our service and facilities and we appreciate you for sharing your experience to other travelers. We’re hoping you will plan another Bali getaway again in the near future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hospitality at its best.

Regards,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed a night as a bridging hotel after a late night flight but found the Sun Island to be wonderful. The staffs were excellent and the rooms were new, clean and spacious. The bathroom was clean and the room even comes with a balcony with a pool view. We stayed in 2 inter-connecting rooms. The restaurant served a pretty decent breakfast buffet too. We didn't get the chance to use the pool but it did look inviting. In short good service, lots of smiles and a restful night means that this hotel gets a 4/5 rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpathogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Travelpathogen,

Greetings from The Sun Team!

I’d like to thank you for choosing to stay at Sun Island Hotel Kuta in your recent Bali vacation. We were delighted that you liked most aspects of your stay, including your spacious room with a pool view, food in our Pavoz Restaurant, and our service. As you pointed out, we always exert ourselves in giving our guests professional service from the heart.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a solo traveller late Oct for 6 nights. Had stayed in the area before so knew it was close to everything which is great. Checkin was smooth was hoping for an upgrade as hotel was quiet but didn't get asked. Safe didn't work but rang and maintenance came within 5 mins new batteries were needed. Rooms clean and decorated beautifully but the smell was ghastly. If I went out for more than an hour when I came back it smelt like sewerage. I didn't fuss though as I just opened the door and it went away. Breakfast was a little dissapointing. There was plentiful food to choose from but bacon and hash browns had obviously been pre prepared so crispy bacon was like chewy bacon and hash browns were soggy. Fresh would have been better so I would suggest the hotel do smaller quantities and replenish more regularly rather than cooking too much and letting it spoil. Staff were kind and friendly and went out if their way to find me a DVD player which I requested. Pool was quiet and a nice spot to relax. This hotel was great for my purpose which was to chill and sleep. Pool access rooms would be the way to go if staying here. Overall a pleasant stay with a few small things which could be easily fixed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abchari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Abchari,

Trust this message finds you well!

First of all, thank you for choosing to stay at Sun Island Hotel Kuta. We are pleased to learn that you liked our service and most of our hotel facilities. Thank you for giving us a chance to improve our service by giving us constructive feedback. Your comment regarding the smell inside your room has been addressed by related departments. In response to your comment with regards to our breakfast, please rest assured that our Executive Chef and his team will continue giving the best dining experience to our guests, and therefore your suggestion regarding our breakfast was very much appreciated.

We hope that you will plan another Bali getaway with us in the near future. We’ll be looking forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.1 mi away
Adhi Jaya Hotel
Adhi Jaya Hotel
#33 of 251 in Kuta
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home@36
Home@36
#72 of 251 in Kuta
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#4 of 251 in Kuta
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
0.1 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Vira Bali Hotel
The Vira Bali Hotel
#16 of 251 in Kuta
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta

Property: Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88 | Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kuta
#36 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#38 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#43 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to present Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta that offers you its definite impeccable service through the 121 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese hospitality and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, shopping malls, traditional art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Zenrooms, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing