We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Whiz is a recommended hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Ixora Kuta Resort
Ranked #74 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grand Whiz is a recommended hotel”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The hotel location is strategic, near discovery mall as a centre of comfort shopping mall. This hotel provide a professional service with humble employee. The menus of restaurant are fit to my appetite. Transport shuttle to airport is available also, it makes my trip easier. Overall whiz hotel is a recommended hotel for you all.

Room Tip: rooms on the east is more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widya W, Manajer at Grand Ixora Kuta Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear Mr/s. Amer,

Thank you for staying at Grand Whiz Hotel Kuta.

Really glad to read your positive comments and it's our pleasure to serve best to all our guests.
All the guest's feedback are very important for us to be much better in serving our customer.

Anyhow, thank you very much for your positive feedback and we look forward to have your next reservation in our property.

Warmest Regards,

Widya Wiryawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    196
    86
    13
    12
See reviews for
121
118
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If you are reading this review, I believe that you are like me, someone who wants the best accommodation for the least price and I promise that you will unlikely be disappointed with the Grand Whiz Kuta.

This boutique hotel is located merely 5 minutes away from the airport (which will likely cost you about IDR 30k or US$3 by taxi). The check-in and check-out process at the hotel is SWIFT and was done in a matter of minutes. The rooms are of reasonable size (for the price we pay) and as I took interconnecting rooms with my kids, I found the rooms to be quite spacious for a family of 5. The beds are comfy (they might be a little hard for some though) and the rain shower was fantastic! I must recommend the room service that was great! The menu was adequate and the food was delicious and cheap (a plate of nasi goreng with sate cost about IDR 50k++, about US$5). In fact, my kids love the room service so much that we have room service food for dinner almost everyday. Unlike the room service, the buffet breakfast was only average at best and the menu was designed to suit the taste of Asians (not surprising as the main clientele are Asians). The menu, though changed daily, consist of South East Asians cuisine such as dishes such as stir-fried vegetables, mee/nasi goreng, soto ayam, braised tofu, etc. For non-Asians, do not worry, you can still enjoy your usual breakfast such as cornflakes, omelets, sausages, salad, juice, etc. For spa lovers, you can get your massage therapy at the 'Jasmine spa' (located next to the pool), for a reasonable price e.g. IDR 175k for 1.5hrs traditional aromatherapy massage. Most importantly, they are safer and cleaner when compared to those along the street.

For the price, I would say that the Grand Whiz Kuta is quite well located along JL Kartika. It is merely 3 mins walk to the new Lippo Mall (which has a fantastic hypermarket), 15 mins walk to the Discovery Mall, 20 mins to the Kuta Square, etc. Along JL Kartika, there are many tiny shops selling souvenirs, day trips for tourists, massage, etc, but I suggest that you avoid them as the prices are ridiculous and some of the peddlers who are non-Balinese can get quite rude if you do not buy from them. For souvenirs, I would suggest that you take a short cab ride (less than IDR 20k/US$2) to 'Krisna Oleh Oleh' (factory outlet for souvenirs), which is located near the airport. The prices here are ridiculously...CHEAP! T-shirts, slippers, miniature surf boards, essential oil, all starting from US$1 and as they are fixed price, you do not have to bargain your lung out just to save a few dollars.

Although I must admit that the Grand Whiz Hotel is quite a good and cheap place to stay in Bali, there are 2 areas which I think they can improve. Firstly, the WIFI sucks! You can hardly get any signal in your rooms and if you are able to, the connection disconnect frequently which can be rather frustrating. For good WIFI signal, I would suggest that you ask for rooms overlooking the pool. The 2nd area the hotel can improve is the reliability of the power supply. During my week long stay, there were power blackout everyday! Although the power supply do resumed after a few minutes, it is terrible if you are in a shower, or worse if you are caught in the lift, which can get quite scary.

Comparing with the other hotels in the vicinity, the Grand Whiz Kuta is an unpretentious boutique hotel with spa and pool facilities that provide down to earth travelers like us a cheap, comfortable and convenient accommodation for our vacation in Bali. To add, there is a ‘Bebek Tepi Sawah’ (Duck specialty) restaurant located just opposite the hotel and these free range ‘Bebek’ that grow on rice paddy fields taste real good either fried, smoked, grilled, braised, etc.

Room Tip: For good WIFI signal, get a room overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mr_kennethho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widya W, General Manager at Grand Ixora Kuta Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for staying at Grand Whiz Hotel Kuta

Really glad to read your positive comments and for suggestions and criticisms which have been described is a positive feedback for us so that we can improve our future performance and our service to the guests.

Thank you and please feel free to contact us, should you want to stay again at Grand Whiz Hotel Kuta Bali.

Warmest Regards,

Widya Wiryawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Selangor
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Pros: -

1. The hotel location is very strategic, far enough from the happening area for some peace and quiet yet near enough to shopping malls, eateries and mini marts, all within walking distance, but bear in mind it's quite a long walk to the beach if you have elderly folks or little children in your traveling party.

2. The room looks new and the bed is very firm, which makes for a good sleep, subject to preference of course.

3. Hotel's WiFi has acceptable speed (if at all you can get a connection in your room)

4. Pool is adequate and clean

Cons:-

1. We couldn't get a stable WiFi connection in our room which was frustrating. Although I brought this up to the management and they told me it was fixed, I still couldn't get a connection.

2. They have a strict policy of only allowing one access card per room, very inconvenient considering you need the access card to access your floor from the elevator.

3. No children's pool. Don't leave your young ones unsupervised at the pool area.

4. Breakfast lacked variety, and sitting places are limited. You may need to wait if you are late.

5. This is no fault of the hotel, but as a soccer fan I was massively disappointed to find that they did not have any TV channels showing the World Cup finals nor was it showing in the hotel lounge/bar.

Room Tip: Avoid room 53xx if WiFi is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank attw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widya W, General Manager at Grand Ixora Kuta Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for staying at Grand Whiz Hotel Kuta

Really glad to read your positive comments and for suggestions and criticisms which have been described is a positive feedback for us so that we can improve our future performance and our service to the guests.

We do deeply apologize for all inconvenience caused.

Thank you and please feel free to contact us, should you want to stay again at Grand Whiz Hotel Kuta Bali.

Warmest Regards,

Widya Wiryawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuching
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

my 1st night in Bali was quite an experience.
we arrived around 9pm without our luggage because the airline misplaced it.
The staff at the counter is accommodating, they offered to call me as soon as my luggage arrives.
The room is not big but just nice for the night. My room window is facing the back of the hotel, with greens and a nice view of the surrounding building.
the only thing i find not so nice is the fire escape notice behind the door, it is placed too high and i have to tip toed to view it, fyi, i'm 1.68m, so i guess you have to be at least 1.75m to be able to view the fire escape route at eye level.
The breakfast spread is good, we have a mixture of continental breakfast and local dishes.
the hotel is very near to St.Francis Xavier church, so if you're a Catholic and wishes to attend Sunday English mass, you can do so here. it's just 5 min walk.
There is also a new hypermart across the road.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wpdhing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widya W, General Manager at Grand Ixora Kuta Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Whiz Hotel Kuta,

Thank you for staying with us

It was nice to receive your feedback of our product and services. So we can ensure our services and product has been well extended to our valuable customers.

Please feel free to contact us, should you want to stay again at Grand Whiz Hotel Kuta - Bali

Regards,

Widya Wiryawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

If you find a hotel in a good location, this is the right one. The pool is ok, not the best one,just like regular pool, but pretty comfy for relaxing after beach time. The room is also nice, enough space for 3 but not more than that. AC, shower, TV all in good condition. The breakfast serve various kind of food you can choose, and if you need anything, the mini market, atm are right next to you

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widya W, General Manager at Grand Ixora Kuta Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Mrs Fitri,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Whiz Hotel Kuta,

Thank you for staying with us

It was nice to receive your feedback of our product and services. So we can ensure our services and product has been well extended to our valuable customers.

Please feel free to contact us, should you want to stay again at Grand Whiz Hotel Kuta - Bali

Regards,

Widya Wiryawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The room is too small for us to put our luggage, luckily we just had two small luggage which we can put under the hanging table. The breakfast buffet was terrible in taste and quality, we pay for it and we were sorry to tasted it. Terrible parking area, I feel sorry to my partner about my decision to choice this hotel. It was terrible choice to stay comfort.

Room Tip: Eden hotel so much better to stay which is near by the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widya W, General Manager at Grand Ixora Kuta Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for staying at Grand Whiz Hotel Kuta

For suggestions and criticisms which have been described is a positive feedback for us so that we can improve our future performance and our service to the guests.

We do deeply apologize for all inconvenience caused.

Thank you and please feel free to contact us, should you want to stay again at Grand Whiz Hotel Kuta Bali.

Warmest Regards,

Widya Wiryawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
236 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

1. Didn't want to give us early check in. Had to wait exactly at 2 PM.
2. When we came in our room. Safe didn't work. Ran out of battery.
3. No remote in room
4. No coffee pot. In shirt room not prepared. But after 45 mins they brought everything and replace battery in safe.

Bed is firm. Room clean they mop tile floors. Your get toothbrush soap. Cotton buds. Washroom glass to bed is blurred so if you staying with someone you not close with. You will feel awkward seeing their naked silloute body.
Location is good. Near two mall. Few grocery store. Lippo mall has grocery. Alot of restaurants every direction. We paid 38$ usd a night. Charge 60t Idr. Transfer hotel to airport. Airport taxi to here 70t. Everywhere tries to rip off tourist by jacking up the price. Scooter 100t Idr. Real price 50t. A day. Shuttle to sukawati 350t. Real price 200-250t

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gordonchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widya W, General Manager at Grand Ixora Kuta Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Mr Gordon,

Thank you for staying at Grand Whiz Hotel Kuta

For suggestions and criticisms which have been described is a positive feedback for us so that we can improve our future performance and our service to the guests.

For information, our check-in time is 2 PM and check-out time is 12 PM. And for shuttle service is additional counter from outside, not under our management.

We do deeply apologize for all inconvenience caused.

Thank you and please feel free to contact us, should you want to stay again at Grand Whiz Hotel Kuta Bali.

Warmest Regards,

Widya Wiryawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.0 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
0.3 mi away
Bedrock Hotel Bali
Bedrock Hotel Bali
#79 of 251 in Kuta
92 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#7 of 251 in Kuta
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Regis Kuta Bali
Park Regis Kuta Bali
#55 of 251 in Kuta
477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harper Kuta
Harper Kuta
#26 of 251 in Kuta
984 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fontana Hotel Bali
Fontana Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Ixora Kuta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ixora Kuta Resort

Property: Grand Ixora Kuta Resort
Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 92, Kuta 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Grand Whiz Hotel Kuta Bali)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#50 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Ixora Kuta Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Styled in a contemporary design and cared for by our superb staff. Our 4-star hotel is a tropical treasure that is nestled in the enchanting 'Island of the Gods,' Bali - Indonesia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Ixora Kuta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ixora Kuta Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing