We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Boutique Hotel Managed by BENCOOLEN
Ranked #127 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Sun Boutique Hotel is at Kuta beach area, if you are looking for a beach resort it is not for you. However, as a small boutique hotel, it is really value for money, very new and clean. We have stayed there for 1 night, meet the friendly staff and they are able to give you good directions for food, arrange the transportation etc. Hotel is near the airport and it is easily accessible to all palces.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geektravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

We went to Bali to rest and relax after a long journey. But this is not the right hotel to do that. If you are looking for a fun location near the beach or the centre, then this is also not the right place.

There are so many things wrong with this hotel that we made a list:
- some rooms have no windows (and this is a fourstar accommodation??)
- rooms are very small (no place to open your suitcase)
- location is very bad: far from the beach and the centre and there are no restaurants or shops nearby
- beds are too hard, the matrass lies on a wooden board
- A lot of noise due to the main road that runs next to it, you can hardly talk to each other in the lobby and problems sleeping if your room is on the roadside
- A lot of noise due to renovations [builing plans are at least scheduled for a couple more months]
- there is no swimming pool
- the keycards don't work
- you only get 1 key per room, and the person leaving the room cannot take the key because the power in the room turns off
- the rainshower does not work (in all the rooms, we were with a group), and sometimes the water in the shower suddenly stops and won't return for a couple of hours
- everything can suddenly be out of stock: toilet paper, coffee, cheese, bread, jelly
- at breakfast plates and cutlery are often dirty
- we were downgraded (in stead of upgraded) because the reservation system does not work well, and all they said was "we're sorry"
- no privacy in the bathroom (wall are made of glass)
- bugs and mosquito problem in lobby and rooms
- ceilings in all rooms have water leakage
- the whole building could come down: massive cracks in the walls on the ground floor

In short: just stay in another hotel!

Room Tip: standard rooms have no windows, rooms with twin beds are on the noisy side, standard and superior ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnjaliSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a posh hotel with swimming pool and recreational facilities; or a beach front hotel - then skip Sun Boutique.

However if you need a decent size room at an inexpensive price with clean amenities; this can be the choice.

The hotel is located along Sunset Road n there are no restaurants within walking distance. But for less than 10,000 rupiah you can get a taxi to eateries like Sushi Teh and Carrefour Supermarket. If without traffic jam, a taxi ride to Semiyak or Kerobokan will cost you no more than 20, 000 rupiah one way. These are the places to eat and shop.

Front desk staff speaks a bit of English n they do try to help. Breakfast selection is modest with fried eggs, ham, bacon as well as local fare such as fried noodles, fried rice and porridge and freshly cut fruits.

Therefore if you are planning to stay out the whole day n just needed a room to rest your weary body, this hotel suffices.

If you are travelling with a family, opt for the Loft which has a king size bed n two twin beds. This can sleep up to 4 persons. Possible snags : there is only one toilet n shower here. And it can be noisy because the room faces the main road.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laksa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The hotel had friendly staff and well maintained rooms. Buffet breakfast had good choices. It is right on a major road and hence easy for transportation. However, it has just one restaurant. It is away from beach. Overall, facilities inadequate for a 4 star hotel. Part of hotel is under construction which means noisy days. Wi-fi service was inconsistent and stops working even with a light rain. Room service menu had inadequate choices. None of the western choices were available. No swimming pool yet. Microwave was promised but not found.

Room Tip: For families with older children, two room suite is advisable. They are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjeev700095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

booked for 8 nights at the sun boutique hotel, the photos and reviews were impressive. its rated as a 4 star in kuta.
we arrived late, and straight away our guts dropped, that thought of "please dont be our hotel" was alive!!!

there is no actual lobby, just a desk and a few tables (the supposed restaurant)
our room was large but unclean, the shower was cold, the towels were old and dirty same with the bed linen, the hotel is on the MAIN SUNSET STRIPA and you will get NO sleep.
the beds were so hard we were better off sleeping on the floor.
we complained that same night only to be told to wait until morning as the clerk spoke no english.
we complained at 8am that morning and decided to move hotels and forfeit our entire payment as they do not refund.
the hotel has no pool and is not close to KUTA strip as advertised, it is not safe for a group of woman to stay at, as the walk to/from kuta is VERY FAR and not safe.

in all honesty, this is the worst hotel iv ever stayed at, in bali or Australia. it almost ruined our holiday until we re-settled at the Aston in kuta and continued with our holiday.

Room Tip: do not book here.. so very disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

made a booking for family to stay in this hotel when there was special offering. Family checked in today and was given a windowless room, because the reservation was made through special promotion. There was no indication what so ever through the booking that the special promotion room will be a downgrade from a standard room. Plus, this just logically doesn't pass!

A last minute promotion means hotel wants to maximize its occupancy. Or the world has changed now special promotion means there is a horrible room they want to get rid of that some one has to pay!?

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank MichelleAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kollin B, Manager at Sun Boutique Hotel Managed by BENCOOLEN, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear Michelle, we are sorry to learn about your unsatisfactory experience while staying with us and we sincerely apologize. We are committed to serve each and every guests that stay in our hotel the best we can and your experience shows that we fell short from the value we uphold. Since then we have taken measures and implemented policies to ensure that (1) we will communicate more clearly internally and externally and (2) we take every steps to ensure our guests enjoy the best experience when they are staying with us.

We hope to see you return to experience the many improvements we have made since your last visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Hotel is very clean, room is large and comfort, staff is helpful, unique hotel, food is good. My honeymoon feels private when visit this hotel. I and my wife is very happy to stay in the hotel. Happy to stay again in the next vacation. Unfortunately there is no swimming pool :(

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArisS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kollin B, Manager at Sun Boutique Hotel Managed by BENCOOLEN, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Aris, thank you for staying with us on your honeymoon. We hope to see you and your family on your next Bali visit. We should have our swimming pool swimmable soon, so stay tuned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#13 of 251 in Kuta
694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kuta Central Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Rainforest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Regis Kuta Bali
Park Regis Kuta Bali
#57 of 251 in Kuta
589 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Kuta Villa
Best Western Kuta Villa
#103 of 251 in Kuta
574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Berry Glee Hotel
Berry Glee Hotel
#17 of 251 in Kuta
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Boutique Hotel Managed by BENCOOLEN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Boutique Hotel Managed by BENCOOLEN

Address: Jl. Sunset no. 23, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kuta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#83 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: £17 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Boutique Hotel Managed by BENCOOLEN 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very to excited to announce that we are opening our new extension with much better facilities ! Sun Boutique Hotel features 88 rooms and suites, which are built with modern-minimalist design, located strategically at the center of lively Kuta city. The hotel is only 4 km from the Ngurah Rai International Airport, 2 km from the famous Kuta Beach and only 5 minutes away from the well-known nightlife of Legian Street. Surrounding the hotel is also souvenirs shop offering Bali's authentic craft, apparel and gifts. HOTEL FACILITIES COCONUT Restaurant Enjoy a wide variety of delightful and mouthwatering dishes at the Coconut Restaurant located on the first floor. SUNRISE Lounge Dine and Lounge at SUNRISE rooftop bar, offering chilling, relaxing experience with music and cozy atmosphere. It gives Bali a different view at night right under the stars. SUNRISE Lounge will be the perfect place for your intimate private occasion. Our team will cater your special high-end cuisine with friendly staff to make your memorable occasion. Business Services Located on the ground floor of the hotel, Sun Boutique Hotel's business service center is open 7-days a week from 8AM till 12 Midnight. Swimming Pool Our outdoor swimming pool is your best choice for either a serious swimming exercise or just a relaxing leisure time. It also features children pool area. Meetings, Banquets & Events At Sun Boutique Hotel offers meeting rooms and banquet facility to easily accommodate intimate business meetings, seminars and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sun Boutique Hotel Managed by BENCOOLEN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Boutique Hotel Managed By BENCOOLEN Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing