We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit overpriced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Singosari Kuta
Ranked #87 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit overpriced hotel”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The hotel is basically good, comfortable and clean. However, I feel like USD 60 for this hotel is a bit over priced. I can find similar hotels with better views and location in Kuta or Ubud. Room service is good, kind and helpful staffs. Location? it's just about 5 minutes of walk to the nearest beach and city center.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topanberliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    170
    92
    38
    16
See reviews for
77
181
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stay 3 nights in july
Location : very close to Kuta square,can walk to Discovery mall and beach , also a 10 minutes walk to the new shopping center :Beach Walk pass the Hard rock hotel and the Sheraton is under construction next to this new mall, minimart and money changer close by . We use the one i think its called PT Central , their logo is half blue half red at the corner of Kuta square ( not the one near Matahari Mall) they has good rate and we dont have any problem at all
Room: Very small and bathroom also.very small althought they provide every amenities necessary
( no slipper and no iron board) door in bathroom a little bit used at the corner, room smell a little bit cigarett , they give us a bottle of air freshener



Room on ground floor close to breakfast area is very noisy with people moving chairs around early in the morning
Wifi is free in lobby is free , in room with cable but our Ipad was able to use Wifi in the room ? May be it was close to the lobby?
Staff were nice and efficient
Breakfast adequate , not a big sumptuous buffet but ok with me ( egg to order, juice, coffee, bread, viennoiseri, congee, 1 dim sum item , rice, noodle ....)


L
Ll

Room Tip: Ground floor room very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We were booked to stay 3 nights but with passport hiccup in Perth, hubby and 3 children went ahead and were met by the free transfer driver and had no problems, while I stayed home with the other child needing a new passport. We made a fresh booking for 5 more nights for my arrival however the transfer bus was already booked out we had to hitch a ride with another family staying there.

Breakfast was shocking, the proverbial fly in the soup was flailing in the yoghurt, bacon was well overcooked and horrible and not a great deal of anything else appealing.

We were on a "non-smoking" floor (which somehow managed to have ash trays on all the tables in the sitting areas) with a pack of inconsiderate Korean smokers and when we advised the reception staff we got the typical Bali laid back 'oh well' - not impressive as one of our children has asthma.I ended up removing the ash trays myself and hiding them in the fire hydrant cupboard.

The rooms were not sound-proofed well enough as the same Korean families occupying the rooms surrounding us were up till all hours and spoke very loudly keeping our children awake one of which was quite sick. Once again when we advised reception - no help or resolution.

The beds were so hard, showers ran hot and cold. and one of the most irritating things was that the toilet roll holder was behind you as you sit so you have to be a contortionist if you forget to pull some paper off before you sit ladies and gents!

Swimmers....forget it as the pool is actually a fishpond minus the Koi I promise you. And it is in the dining room.

Ground floor rooms enter onto the dining room and the chairs do not have any soft castors so you will need to be an early riser or love the screech of chairs on a hard floor.

On the up side, it was very well located and the staff were friendly enough. Parking for scooters was available under the hotel.

I dont think I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother staying.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ACT8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I would rate this hotel as average. I booked the Superior room. During the check-in, they upgraded my room to deluxe. I was wondering if there is any different between superior and deluxe room. The room is ok, the bathroom is slightly small. Anyway, thanks for the upgrade.

I need to comment on the air in hotel, especially in the lift. The smell is not comfortable at all. It smells like aerosal. Maybe they want to prevent it from mosquito. But, it is not pleasant at all.

The location is consider ok. Pretty near to Kuta beach and shops. Convenient too!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ofUs_WSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Not having been to Bali before, I booked the Royal Eighteen hoping I'd made the right choice. I was delighted. There are many plus points to this place.

Firstly, the staff are definitely some of the most friendly, helpful, informative and personable hotel staff I have come across. They're actually interested in making your stay special. They had my best interests in mind all week, sending me in the right directions and saving me lots of money because of their useful advice! Restaurant and bar staff are attentive and efficient. Not sure why they didn't wear name tags because I'd like to mention some of them by name. You'll just have to find out for yourself!

Next, the room. I was staying a week do do some travel business, so I was pleased they gave me an upgrade to a deluxe room. It's certainly one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept in. It's a relatively new hotel so they have this in their favor, but it appears that they have gone the extra mile in the name of comfort. Thank you Royal Eighteen, these little things mean a lot. It's not to say they don't have some improvements. The rooms are not well insulated so it's a bit noisy outside, the shower could be a little better, and you'd better bring your football shin pads 'cause you'll be banging them on the base of the bed (ouch!), etc, but good use of room space and good placement of the important things.

Location is great. It's a short walk from the beach and key shopping areas, and it's central to a lot of other good places. I spent some good days on a motorcycle traveling to Nusa Dua, Sanur, Serangan and other places. The only thing I'd say is beware of the taxi drivers around there, the most seedy bunch of individuals you're ever likely to see. Not the hotel's fault. Just need to mention.

Overall, you'll not regret staying here at all. The restaurant/bar area is nicely placed at the front of the hotel and you can sit there taking advantage of free Wifi and nice hospitality as you check your emails, drink a nice Bali coffee and watch the world go by. It turns into a nice venue in the evening with themed, reasonably priced food and either live music or a DJ playing some tunes - enjoyable. I think in time this could become a popular place.

If you're traveling to Bali, give the Royal Eighteen a thought. And say hi from me!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LivaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel for four nights and had mixed experiences. First the positive things:
- the employees of this hotel are very friendly and attentive
- the rooms are reasonably sized for a city hotel (forget about the "resort" thing - this is not true, this hotel is a city hotel with a spa and a 8m x 2m large swimming pool, i.e. enlarged bath tub)

But now the more negative things:
- construction noise can be heard up to 12 hours (which is a signal for a bad planning on the side of the management): one day the workers were working until 8 p.m., another day they started at 8 a.m. right in front of my room with drilling holes in the ceramic tiles (and finished their work in the afternoon because of the early start of the work which cost me my sleep)
- sewage noise all the time (which shows that the pipes have not been isolated)
- if you stay in the 2nd floor, you will hear the preparation of the breakfast starting at 6 a.m. as well as when the hotel guests start with their breakfast the horrible noise of moving chairs (scratching on the tiles)
- besides of this there is also some sort of problems with the tiles in the bathroom, as the water gets stuck in the middle of the room, i.e. one has to cross a "pond"
- the breakfast room is by the way one half in the dark (as in the first floor and other buildings and rooms are so close that no light comes through)
- the breakfast is only foreseen for meat-eaters
- vegetarians won't find much to eat (except of toast, egg and fruit)

Room Tip: not in the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W0RLDWIDETRAVELLERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phi Phi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Perfect location, clean and nice. No disappointments here. They even took us to the airport for free even though they didn't have to.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaPhiPhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Ozz Hotel Kuta
Ozz Hotel Kuta
#113 of 251 in Kuta
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ida Hotel
Ida Hotel
#75 of 251 in Kuta
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuta Station Hotel
Kuta Station Hotel
#89 of 251 in Kuta
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yulia Beach Inn
Yulia Beach Inn
#51 of 251 in Kuta
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel ZIA Bali – Kuta
0.4 mi away
Home@36
Home@36
#73 of 251 in Kuta
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Singosari Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Singosari Kuta

Property: Royal Singosari Kuta
Address: Jl. Singosari 18 | Jl. Singosari no. 60, Kuta 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Grand Hardys Hotel and Spa Kuta)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Kuta
#42 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#58 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Singosari Kuta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Singosari Kuta (Formerly Grand Hardys Hotels & Spa Kuta)is a new minimalist hotel, nestled conveniently at the central of Kuta. The premier choice in Kuta for family holiday, group of friends, honeymoon couple and business traveler. Features 101 rooms inclusive Superior rooms, Deluxe rooms and Suite rooms set in a story building comprised with single and double room configuration. Offer its guests all the comfort of modern hotel and a stay in convenient accommodation served by genuinely charming and professionally trained Balinese staff. Providing a tropical getaway, Grand Hardys Hotels & Spa Kuta is just minutes away from Bali Ngurah Rai International Airport, 200 meters from beautiful Kuta Beach, the famous Discovery shopping center, restaurant, bar, waterboom park, and popular Kuta Square. An idyllic hideaway for those wishing to explore Bali while keeping Kuta beach and Kuta's best shopping mall within walking distance. Aside from free Wi-Fi, it also has an outdoor pool, Balinese massage and free parking.The modern rooms include a flat-screen TV, minibar and a personal safe. Private bathrooms come with a bathtub. Day trips and car rentals can be arranged at the tour desk. The resort also provides laundry services and a 24-hour front desk.The Star Cafe is perfect for catching up with friends for canapes, meals & drinks, meetings or simply spending time relaxing out of the heat. Guests can enjoy watching live sport or enjoying great music. Our menu includes favorites such as steak, seafood, salads, ribs, authentic pizza, pasta and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Singosari Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Singosari Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing