We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap stay for a day or two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coco Guesthouse & Bungalows
Ranked #24 of 282 Kuta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Booked via Hostelworld and paid not more than we were supposed to.

Dont get tricked by the taxi drivers. They try to bring you to the end of Mataram Street and tell you it's not far, but it's more than 1km! We had to walk the whole lot with all our luggage.

Arriving at the Hotel we had a free welcome drink (orange juice) and got our keys for one of the small rooms in the back of the restaurant, not in the nice bungalows next street (although you can use all the facilities incl. swimming pool there, too).

The room smelled funny, no windows, but clean and airconditioned and very simple hot shower. Enough to just store your luggage safely, rent a motorbike and discover the south of Bali. Dont expect too much, it's nothing for picky people.

You can choose from either american, continental or balinese breakfast with juice or fruit and coffee or tea. The staff is helpful.

Biggest Plus: it's near Kuta center, food and shops along the street are very cheap, as there are lesser Tourists.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed here twice in September 2012, once for 5 nights and then again for 1 night at the end of my trip before flying home from Denpasar. The staff were always friendly and helpful (and the reception is manned 24 hours) and whilst the guesthouse rooms won't be appearing in any glamour magazines, the two that I stayed in were clean and comfortable, and kitted out with a fridge/aircon/TV/hot shower.
For a budget option you can't go wrong really - it IS a little further from Kuta's main hub of activity but if you don't mind the extra 5-10 minute walk it's nice to actually be a little further from the noise when it comes to sleepy time!
All in all I was happy with my stay and would gladly return a third time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie-jleef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We only stayed 1 night on our way home, but our room was excellent,V friendly staff & owner and even made us Breakfast at 5.30 am so we could leave for the Airport which is only a 20 min Taxi ride away

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NzClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Arrived here only for one night as I was transferring to the islands so it seemed a good base. Yes the rooms are cheap and clean but on arrival the staff were rude and unpleasant. They expected me to go on a motorbike with a large backpack and 2 other bags with me to the rooms which was not only impossible but totally unrealistic so we ended up walking to the room which wasnt too far up the road but the attitude of the staff at that time was pretty shocking. This also came down to payment for the room as she made a mistake and then got nasty with me about it, just embarrassing! I cannot think why anyone would want to stay here and would not recommend this at all, this is due to location and in particular the attitude of the staff in charge upon arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocoreservations, Owner at Coco Guesthouse & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

I am sorry you felt you had a unpleasant stay with us but I am sure my staff did not intentionally be rude or unpleasant as going by our reviews on this and other web sites they seem to be very popular and our guests seem to enjoy interacting with them as they go that extra bit to make the guests happy and really want them to enjoy the stay with us, maybe a cultural difference caused you to think they were being rude as I know sometimes even when dealing with me I think as you did but as I discovered it is just their way and normal in Bali ?,
As for expecting you to get on a m bike with large bags my staff would have offered if you wanted to hop on the bike or if you preferred to walk as that is the way they transfer the guests bags to the room so the guest does not have to carry the bags and they can just stroll to the room 75 metres up the rd. or have a bit of fun jumping on the bike, for some guests they enjoy the experience sometimes the first time they have been on a m bike and next day they end up renting a scooter for the fun and freedom they have just discovered.
If my staff made an error with the bill I apologise but I am sure it was rectified straight away after all they are only human and make mistakes like any other.
I remember talking to you in the morning while you waited on your shuttle to the ferry and I asked you if all was ok for you and you told me all was fine, maybe as you hurt your ankle
that morning has made you feel a bit negative about your time with us but I am sure as you spoke to me you could have raised your concerns then so I could have looked into your complaints and then given you answers there and then, not wait to do it invisible behind a computer screen
I hope you enjoyed your trip to the islands and all was to your satisfaction.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My friend and I stayed for 8 nights and had a wonderful time in Warung Coco 4, which is located in Jalan Majapahit. When we arrived past midnight in Jalan Mataram, where the main Warung Coco was located, we were brought to a different location In one of the alleys in Jalan Mataram. It was like an old Balinese house with 2 rooms and a common kitchen. It had a good bedroom, strong wifi but the toilet emites an awful smell. We asked if we could be transferred to a different room and the owner, Ibu Ketut, graciously accommodated our request. We were moved to Jalan Majapahit, which had a great villa and nice surroundings. The room was just perfect. Although a lot of mosquitoes. We had to go back to Jalan Mataram, Warung Coco 1, to have our breakfast. For the first 2 nights, the staff chauffered us via motorcycles to get back to Jalan Majapahit, which is like 5 minutes away. We rented a car, Suzuki Jimny, for only Rp.100,000 per day and was able to get around we no hassles.

We had a wonderful time in Warung Coco and we will book there again when I go back to Bali next year. Thank you Ibu Ketut and to your staff for such a great and awesome Lebaran break! More power and God bless!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank pssstpssstpssst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed during high season there which I had no idea whether the service would be so terrible because of the tired staffs or anything. I booked three rooms and stayed four nights. The room was not so bad itself, just the hot water rarely ran and quite noisy at night which I can understand because it is near the beach around 15 mins walk with bunch of night clubs.
Things I can't take are, I asked for extra bed and the staff promised me bed with bed sheet and bed cover, and what I got was bed with bed sheet only for the rest of my stay.
Second, the staff is extremely rude. In this case, I wanted to explain about the breakfast which I had there, they put the charge in my bill for extra breakfast because there was another local guest which were also having breakfast and it was humiliating because I had to explain it in front of some guests which were looking at me like I was not going to pay. We kept counting for a while about breakfast I had with my family until they finally found out that another local tourist was not part of my family. I was really offended, because they didn't ask in the first place and called when I was leaving like i was going to eat and run!
Third day on my stay before I checked out the next day, one of the staff riding a motorcycle shouted at me on the street and asked me to pay for the charge of using the extra bed. This was really pissing me off! Couldn't you just come, knock at my room and ask? I still had one more day staying and I had paid for the room in advance, full amount of the charge!
The worst was when without any information, they changed the latest breakfast time to an hour earlier. When I walked in, one of the staff said, breakfast was over and obviously I wanted explanation. She said she had already made an announcement with flyers in each room, which was not true, because there was nothing in my room and she also said that she made several phone calls, which was absolutely not because I didn't received any missed calls! Until she finally said that she thought I would have known and making more stupid excuses like she had been very busy which were absolutely not my concern because I paid and I deserved what I had paid for! Until some foreigners which were also the guest of this hotel walked in and the waiter didn't say anything but served them with smile and asked whether they would like to have the same menu for breakfast like they had yesterday.
The service is the worst you can get, the rest are okay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KetutErna, Owner at Coco Guesthouse & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Sir, with respect i will respond and put fact to your review of your stay with us.
1, you booked 3 double rooms = maximum 6 adults, you arrived at check in with your party which totalled 9 Adults, 3 Teenage children, plus one employee = your driver, as you were well over the allotment of your booking you had to request extra beds to which we provided at the normal rate of our accomodation, you were given extra bed covers as you requested at no extra charge, also your employee the car driver as you had not booked accomodation for him and he was going to sleep in the garden my staff set him up in the back office with a matress and bedclothes and let him shower and toilet in the staff area again trying to help
2, The misscommunication about the breakfast times was a simple mixup between the staff as where the staff member who said to you the times have changed for breakfast normally works in our other hotel where the breakfast ends at 9.30 am, but as you are well aware the senior person in your group started banging the table and shouting and very aggresive laungage to the staff member, you will also be aware that i was sitting there and rectified the staff error within 10 seconds so there was no need for your aggresiveness.
3, the staff member did not CHASE you for your bill on the street, they only tried to help you by a simple gesture to say that remember the time for breakfast as it was getting near cut off time and they did not want you to miss getting your breakfast.
4, the staff did not humiliate you about a bill for any other guest than your own group, the error was one of your older teenagers in your party ordered nearly all on the breakfast menu when you are supposed to choose one item from each course not all on the menu and this was explained to her as she ordered but she said ok not a problem, hence the extra charge on your bill, nothing to do with guests not in your group.
5, as our accomodation is western standard toilet and showers etc, you stated you could not use this kind of toilet or shower, so we went to the extra expense of buying water boxes and ladels for your shower needs to which we provided to you free of charge.
6, you said it was noisy from nightclubs, if you read our reviews on the internet you will read our places are the most peacefull and quiet places our guests stayed in on their travels, so i think maybe you have extra sensitive hearing as you can hear a pin drop at night in the garden view where you stayed.
7, the staff went round all the rooms and put a note in saying about the breakfast change time and also spoke to every lead person in every room, maybe your party members forgot to tell you.
8, The comment you make about foreingers walking in and getting preferred service is so childish i wont make any comment about it.
Summary.
All put together one small misscommunication from a staff member to you which was rectified by mysef in less than 10 seconds seems to have you on a revenge trail, but i and my staff always try to help not hinder and try to make our guests as comfortable and problem free as we can.
TIP: for your next trip maybe you should research and source out local standard accomodation as i think you would have a less stressful time.
regards.
Owner,
Warung Coco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stay 5 days from Aug 12th to 17th, they are very nice and talktive, especially She is smile always you can lisen her laughing before entering their receiption room.
she asked me why your eyes is so small, i answered her because i saw so many beautiful girls.
i wish to meet them in next year

Room Tip: rooms are very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaochina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1 mi away
Palloma Hotel Kuta
Palloma Hotel Kuta
#77 of 251 in Kuta
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kuta Central Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Waringin Homestay
Waringin Homestay
#104 of 251 in Kuta
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Poppies Bali
Poppies Bali
#1 of 251 in Kuta
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanaya Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Kuta EcoStay Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Guesthouse & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Guesthouse & Bungalows

Address: Jl. Majapahit, Gang Soka | Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 282 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range: £11 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coco Guesthouse & Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private & Shared Rooms. Included in all rooms. All Rooms Cleaned Daily with Fresh Linen and Towels provided. Complimentary choice of Breakfast, including Freshly Cooked Omelettes/Pancakes with various fillings, Indonesian Noodles with a fried Egg, Continental Breakfast plus Toast with Butter and Jam, Fresh Coffee and Tea, Fresh Tropical Fruit or Orange Juice. Every room has as standard TV + DVD Player, Air Conditioner, Hot Water Shower. Free Coffee + Tea. Complimentary Hot + Cold Drinking Water. 24 Hour Security. Free Parking. Comprehensive Tours and Activities Desk. Gilli Islands plus Lombok Ferries can be Booked with us at Unbeatable Rates. Our Brand New Swimming Pool and Sunbeds and relax with a cold beer in the garden is a great place to relax and make new friends. We located in the heart of the Legian and Kuta Tourist area but just far enough away from the crowds to enjoy the peace and quiet of our property, from the busy centre of Kuta. A few minutes' walk through the local shops where the real bargains and delicious food at the Warungs and Night Markets are to be found brings you onto the famous Legian Street, a short stroll further brings you onto the famous Kuta Beach. Featuring King Sized beds, Queen Sized Single beds in our Female or Male Only Twin Rooms Dorm Rooms only 2 beds in a room. Poppies Lane 1 + 2 are just a 5 minute walk. The beach is less than a 10 minute walk. We are located on Majapahit St which is on the main Taxi and Transport route so getting to us is simple and stress free. All Rooms have balcony with table & chairs for your relaxation and to have chat with the neighbours. We also do Scooter Rental Daily/Weekly/Monthly at the best rates in Bali. Our Staff will assist and advise you and go the extra mile to ensure your stay with us is as comfortable and relaxing as is possible. We look forward to welcoming you to Warung Coco with a warm Balinese Smile. Hope to meet you soon, Ketut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coco Guesthouse & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Guesthouse & Bungalows Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing