We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On Cloud Nine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramayana Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramayana Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
527 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“On Cloud Nine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent 4 nights here. The first night we were put on the Chalet rooms but it was noisy so we requested to put to the main block. My room was a bit noisy also on the 6th. Floor, so we requested for a change & slept like a baby ! Room was cosy & the bed was high & we have to climb up . Its a bit strange for us as we have never slept on such a high bed. Breakfast was a breeze & well spread. The only thing here in Bali is we cannot boil drinking water from the tap.
A request to fill our water bottle from the dinning hall was denied. In the end, we have to buy 4 litre of drinking water from a minimarket next to the hotel. We noticed one peculiarity is there were no 1st, 2nd, 3rd & 4th floor. It start at 6th & ends at 9th. Reason for the 1st - 4 floors was for feng shui or geomancy purposes & the 2nd - 4 floors were by law. I was told in Bali, all buildings must not exceed 4 floors. Dont know how true. Hope some Trip Advisors can clarify.
Is it because of Volcanic activities ?

Room Tip: Yes, Dont choose room facing the pool as it can be noisy. Choose the one facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carsam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desirewithinreach, Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear valued guest, carsam c from kuala lumpur

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your holiday in Bali...a hotel in the center of everything in Kuta,

The room numbers used in the street-side-building are so numbered for guests convenience, beside our own reason for not using the number 4
Numbers starting with 2 and 3 are already used in other sectors of the hotel, so we used 6, 7, 8, and the good number 9 instead. Well noone got lost yet :)
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ramayana Resort & Spa again in the future.
Thank you and with best regards

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    635
    191
    74
    36
See reviews for
368
599
81
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at Ramayana for three nights over ANZAC day weekend. Originally, we had booked for two nights and then at the last minute decided to change our travel plans and check in a night early.

Check-in process: They were very accommodating by allowing us to check in a day early as there were rooms available. The price they wanted to charge us more for booking at the front desk was about $20 more than the online price. To save the money, we used their free wifi to book online - which they were fine with.

Thursday night (Room 603): They were extremely apologetic as the room we were first given had two single beds and thus had to move for the second two nights of our stay (the original booking). View from the veranda was of the power lines on the street. Even with the street outside, the noise level was very low and made sleeping easy. The comforter/doona cover had some stains on it (?blood) but overall was clean.

Friday night/ANZAC day (Room 615): We were finally able to check into our new room around 4pm (slightly later than 2pm as we were told but as we were able to keep 603 until we moved this was not a huge issue). The room had the same view but you don't have a room in the middle of Kuta for the view so all was good until 9pm when the bar below us went off. If we were out and about, this would not have been an issue but as we weren't, the bass and noise level was overtaking our TV volume. I'm not sure if it was due to the ANZAC celebration or if it is a regular Friday night event. As we were still on Australian time (11pm) and wanted to sleep, we called front reception and they moved us to a room at the back of the resort.

Friday/Saturday night (Room 253): close walk to the pool and while it was in the older section, it was very peaceful. Definitely recommend this area of the resort.

Cons: noise level over the bar, difference in price between online and front desk.

Pros: Security allowing us to leave our rented scooter there for three nights, staff and their extremely helpful attitude; free bottles of water daily.

Location was great for walking but a bit painful on the scooter but overall alright.

Would definitely recommend this resort and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tiket.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desirewithinreach, Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Natalie D, our valued guest from Brisbane, Australia
Thank you for your review about your recent stay at the Ramayana Resort & Spa during the ANZAC Day, when celebration by guests on the ground floor sports cafe with large screen gave a bit of a happy noise. Thanks for your understanding about this matter.
For info there are rooms in our hotel which are located in a quieter area and on higher grounds, like the poolside cottages among the green gardens and the Resort Club rooms located on the 5th floor.
Thank you for staying with us, and of course we do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
With best regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Once again the Ramayana did not disappoint. Having stayed there 18 months ago, I decided this time to stay there with my children. We enjoyed a comfortable and mostly quiet room, the occasional late night reveler coming in with a bit noise can not be helped I guess.
The staff were courteous and accommodating. The rooms comfortable and spacious. A revamp of the bathrooms would be nice as the bath/shower takes up quite a bit of room.
Thanks again for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the pool side of the hotel as the far end overlooks the local school yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desirewithinreach, Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Tismet, our valued guest

Thank you for your second stay at the Ramayana Resort & Spa and thank you for your wonderful review on the Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased to know that everything went quite well and that you were happy staying with us. That is very important to us, guest's satisfaction.
We do look forward to your third stay, fourth stay etc.

Thank you again and with best regards
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We found this Hotel to be a very traditional Bali hotel, which is good as they are disappearing very quickly! The staff were great, the rooms beautiful, and grounds, pools, food, and location all top notch! The rooms have everything you need including a DVD player, iron and ironing board! The only problem we had was lack of power points. We couldn't charge phones etc as there were no power points. We did speak to the manager about this when he asked us how our stay was going, and his reply was that we could move the TV cabinet out and use that point. We had a quick look for the power point behind the TV cabinet and thought no chance. One we weren't strong enough to move it, and the jumbled mess of wires looked scarey! So Im not sure why they supply ironing board etc when you can't use it. The manager is a great guy however and makes sure to mingle with guests, and we would see him down at breakfast everyday. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: I don't think you would be disappointed with any room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desirewithinreach, Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Julie G from Perth, Australia

Thank you for your 5-star review about your stay at Ramayana Resort & Spa recently. We are happy to know that you really have enjoyed your stay with us.

The rooms by the pool, which are surrounded by green gardens are indeed very nice. The decor is traditional equipped with modern facilities i.e. large screen Smart TV, Free Wifi, Ironing board, safe, hairdryer etc..
..
Now about the part where you need a power point to recharge your hand phone...sorry to brush off our previous manager's advice that you need to move the TV cabinet aside to be able to plug your phone, because the socket where the desk lamp is plugged into is already added with a "combination fitting", which can be used to plug.a phone charger, coffee maker, iron etc ...
...
We do hope you will visit us again soon, and when you do and you are being shown to your room by our Guest Relations Officer or Bell Boy, please ask her/him to show this extra socket..

Thank you again and looking forward to welcoming you back to the Ramayana Resort & Spa soon.
With best regards
The Manager
.

....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toukley, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have stayed at the Ramayana for most of my 10 visits to Bali. The resort is in a great location and the staff are friendly and accommodating. I have stayed here with friends and family and all have enjoyed their visits. I have stayed in all types of rooms including the Resort club rooms which are a piece of luxury. The rooms close to pool/lobby are comfortable and convenient but are looking a bit worn and tired. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: If you are looking to treat yourself and can afford it the Resort Club rooms are sensational. Otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desirewithinreach, Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Marina M from Toukley, Australia

Thank you for your priceless review on Trip Advisor which says it all...
It says that you have been staying with us for 10 times before and still do....which means that you really like our facilities and happy with our services.
Thank you thank you for being such a lovely loyal customer...

You like our pool cottages surrounded by green gardens, which belong to the first generation of rooms at Ramayana, but they have been refurbished to meet the new era. The decor is still traditional with woods and ethnic deco, but they are furnished with modern niceties like large Flat smart TV, modern beds with luxurious thick mattresses..and free WiFi throughout the hotel...

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Ramayana Resort & Spa in the near future.

Thank you again and with warmest regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Had our first dinner at Kuta. Location is convenient. 10 min walk to the beach. Food is good. Price is reasonable. Serve wide range of food varieties. Warm welcoming and excellent service from Redi whom we had an enjoyable conversation with. Great experience!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DPieroC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desirewithinreach, Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear DPieroC our valued guest from Hong Kong, China

Thank you for you review on TripAdvisor about your great dining experience at Gabah Restaurant located at the Ramayana Resort & Spa in Kuta.

It is good to know that you have been very well taken care of by Redi (Rediasa).who have made an impression to you.We will pass on your good comments to him too.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Ramayana
Resort & Spa and Gabah Restaurant in the future.

With best regards
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

It is with some regret that I write of our latest stay at Ramayana. We have stayed before, and really loved it, and that is why on two occasions, we have taken first time visitors with us to Bali and chosen this hotel. Thus, it is sad that our stay was so very unhappy this time round, when we again took friends with us and were somewhat embarrassed that we had recommended this hotel. We arrived to be taken to room 255 at the rear of the property, a room that is a little on the worn side, but met our request for something away from the Stadium. On our very first night, we had to request light globes for the room (they were not blown, but actually missing), the safe to be fixed as it was not working (it ended up having to be taken away) and the toilet to be repaired as the water was running constantly. Probably not the start we were expecting and it only got worse from there. The following morning, we left our room to make our way to what used to be the best breakfast in Kuta and got a rude awakening when the gardener, whilst watering the balcony plants above, miscalculated and I ended up with dirt and water over my head and shoulders, he apologised profusely and we brushed it off with a bit of a laugh and headed off to breakfast. What a disappointment, the range has dwindled significantly, you are not even able to request omelettes to order, which is a basic at two star hotels!! The issue with the toilet ended up being a daily, sometimes twice daily occurrence, and in the end when it become obvious that they were not going to actually fix it, that we may as well do the temporary fix ourselves each time instead of sitting round waiting each time! You would think that was a bad enough start to the holiday, but the following day, we found black underwear in the room, which did not belong to us!! I presume they had been under the TV table and moved by the cleaner so that they were obvious, they had not been there before the cleaner come in. It was later this night that our friends were leaving, we had not mentioned to them that we had any issues, so we were disappointed to find they had experienced problems with their room such as toilets and air con problems. The following morning as we were leaving the hotel, we were approached by the dreaded hawkers with cards, but on this occasion, he mentioned he was drumming up business for the hotel across the road, which happened to be the Ramayana, our hotel. He asked is we were having a good time, and we mentioned, no not really. He asked and we responded that we had not made a complaint or spoken to management about our experience, that we would just not come back again. He implored us to speak with them immediately, saying that if they were not aware, how were they to fix it. Seemed reasonable so we did exactly that. They, of course, were most apologetic and offered to move our room, which we declined, (knowing our friend had similar issues there was no point), they offered us a free transfer back to the airport which we also declined. They made all the noises like they would legitimately look into these problems and get them sorted. The following day we found a basket of fruit in our room, which was a nice gesture, however, we did not want it and gave it to the cleaner (not sure if he would get to keep it, but we did not want it to go to waste). We were also given a voucher for a dinner at the restaurant. Well, I could continue going on with the toilet issues, leaking air conditioning, water hammering with the pipes, gardeners starting outside your room at 7am, no hand towels or face washers and mozzies, but I will finish rather by explaining our dinner. We looked over the voucher we were given and it did not stipulate anything other than dinner for two, so several days later after constant issues, we actually decided to use it, we sat ourselves down to dinner and ordered one main (each), one dessert (each), 1 diet coke (each) and one (only) fruit juice for dinner. We neither ordered the most extravagant meal on the menu, nor did we go for entrees etc, just what we would normally order. Once the meal was finished we gave them the voucher and asked if there was anything we needed to cover (we thought probably the drinks). The waitress said she would speak with the manager, after a considerable wait, he returned with her to tell us the voucher was for a set menu and we should have presented it first. We explained that the voucher was given to us as an apology for issues rather than being part of an accommodation package and that we were never told of any conditions, nor were they printed on it. He then left us sitting there and went to talk to the manager above him. By this time, the other diners were looking at us, we were feeling very uncomfortable (so much for an apology dinner!) and I suggested that it would be best if we waited outside the restaurant, where we waited about another 10 minutes to many curious glances. At this time another "manager" asked us to come with him to the office. When we arrived there I was pretty upset to say the least, he explained that the voucher only covered about 1/2 our meal. At this stage I directed my husband to pay the difference and I told the gentlemen politely, but in no uncertain terms, that a reflection of our stay would appear on Tripadvisor and I walked off. He called after me to say he was not finished, I called back to say I definitely WAS! My husband completed the conversation where he was told that due to them not explaining the situation, they would cover the entire cost of the meal, why this could not have been relayed to us in the first place without embarrassing us, defeats me. So, to stay at this hotel, or not stay there, entirely up to the reader, we have had good stays before, but will never go back again. To the hotel I say, fix your problems, stop putting bandaids over things by offering upgrades, extras and bonuses. You have the most spectacular gardens, put the same work into your rooms. For example, the toilet issue is an easy one, fix it properly by replacing the small piece in the cistern, stop putting the faulty piece back into them and then apologising. An apology when you have no intention of fixing the problems is only lip service.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the Padma instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desirewithinreach, Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Northofperth
Perth, Australia.

We are very sad having to lose a good customer like you,
But of course, it was all due to our own fault for not being able to prevent all these from happening during your stay.. We did apologize to you in person for all the inconvenience, and now we would like to say again that we are sorry for what has happened,
We have taken note of all the points you have mentioned in your review for serious discussion among our team, with hoping that they will not happen again in the future.
We also hope that you will give us a chance to being of service to you again in the future,
Thank you and with best regards
from
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.4 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#42 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#40 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
0.3 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#5 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramayana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Resort & Spa

Property: Ramayana Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Bakung Sari, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#10 Family Hotel in Kuta
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#16 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramayana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a heart of Kuta, Bali, the resort is hidden away in a tranquil tropical garden, complete with serene koi pools with cascading water features providing the soothing sound of running water. Close to International airport, Kuta Beach, Kuta Art Market, Shopping Center (Discovery Mall, Kuta Square, Kuta Center, and 5 star shopping mall "Kuta Beach Walk"), Food Center, Water bomb, and only walking distance to Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Ramayana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Resort And Spa
Ramayana Resort Kuta
Ramayana Resort & Spa Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing