We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bali Dynasty Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bali Dynasty Resort
Ranked #17 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, VA - USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The Dynasty resort was perfect for our large (25+) family getaway. Plenty of amenities for children (pools) and direct access to a gorgeous private beach for adults. The on-site restaurants are very good: breakfast was included and the Irish pub featured a talented house band. Close walk to the main strip in Kuta with restaurants, bars, and cafés. Definitely recommend for families!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BoCappabianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKelsall, General Manager at Bali Dynasty Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our resort and I was pleased that the resort suited your group with activities and facilities for all ages. I hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    718
    263
    73
    58
See reviews for
1,522
256
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had never been to Bali before so on the recommendation of a friend who lives in Indonesia, booked and stayed at the hotel for 10 nights- 26 june till 6 July.
The draw card being the kids club and kids pool . Had a 10yr old in tow. Also far enough away from the hustle and bustle of central Kuta. From the time we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful. there is security on the entrances to the hotel.
We had a family room (166) which contains 1 king bed' which I found comfortable and a double bunk behind a separating wall to the main bedroom. Room clean although the make up seemed to be scheduled later in the afternoon usually between 2-3pm each day so if he wanted a break during the afternoon the room was not made up.
We had the buffet breakfast in the restaurant "H2O" each morning. It was the usual standard was a rotating menu of the 10 day stay. Over a week they have "theme nights" with buffet once again good but it is not something you would rave about.
Each day the pool area was a family environment so if you want somewhere that is kid free I recommend you do not go here during peak times.
kids pool contains a water slide and safety ensured with a staff member monitoring the kids using the ride when open. The kids club have two movie nights thursday and saturday from 6pm to 9pm which is a great idea as it give the parents an opportunity to duck out and have dinner while they are being entertained and fed in the kids club. Make sure you book early as it fills up pretty quickly as you would expect..... The staff of the kids club were great breaking down that initial hesitation that kids sometimes have with meeting new friends by introducing each to same aged kids. As usual that pretty well meant they were friends for the duration of their stay.
Mandatory hair braiding: don't bother getting it done on the street the ladies from the hotel do a lot better job at the same price. my daughter obviously had to get it re -done. The street started to fall
out after two days we had it re-done by hotel staff, located next to where you get towels for the pool and stayed in until well after we got home.
All the staff are friendly and accommodating and when asked will tend to your request.
Pool area: Two happy hours in the main pool 12-1pm and 5-6pm. Food served around the pool had a kids menu and adults sandwiches, salad bowls of chips, pizza and the like. Free wifi is available around the pool where emails etc could be checked.this was also available in the main lobby.
Overall a great family holiday destination.

Room Tip: Room 166 was on the opposite side of the wing that looked over a garden rather than the pool. very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKelsall, General Manager at Bali Dynasty Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post such an informative review and highlighting the features of the resort you most enjoyed for your family. I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Apart from the fact that we had persuaded friends to stop at this hotel with us, they were hassled from three days into their stay to pay the bill for accommodation. I have never stayed anywhere where I have had to pay the bill prior to checking out and it was an embarrassment that our friends were asked to do so, for no apparent reason that staff were too disinterested to explain. Staff were friendly at the eatery, but getting even one WARM meal would have been nice! Rooms were not serviced by late afternoon, and we had to ring for this to be done on more than one occasion. When it was, there was always a note that they had not towels, or wash cloths or something. The room itself had a damp, sometimes foul smell that couldn't be got rid of. With the rate of new hotels being built as they are in Bali, with a passion to please, this hotel is overpriced for what you get. The pool area for children is the best this hotel has to offer, Noisy in the evening, but you can expect that for a family hotel. We will not be staying here again...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Labroec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKelsall, General Manager at Bali Dynasty Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry you are not familiar with a worldwide standard that some form of deposit is the norm when checking into a hotel and I am sorry that you were offended by this, however I too have been very offended on a number of occasions when people have walked out without settling their accounts; therefore we have to protect ourselves and our staff. The housekeeping service works on a rotation from 8.30am - 4pm with a priority on check out rooms to enable new arriving guests to access their rooms on arrival. Guest may call the housekeeping to arrange a convenient time for servicing should they require a different time of day. I am sorry about the humidity in the room, this is an issue at certain times of the year that does occur and we are addressing this issue with neutralisers to try and eliminate this problem in some areas where the rooms are not exposed to a lot of sunlight.
I noted that you will not choose our hotel again, and as you will see from the many positive reviews on this forum, the hotel is suited to many people however I respect not to everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have visited this resort for the 3rd time and was truly like going home. All the staff, no matter in what area they worked made us feel like we had come home with their greeting 'Welcome home'. It was actually very sad to leave. One of the housekeeping staff even bought us a lovely floral arrangement to welcome us back to Bali - this was a very lovely gesture and much appreciated. We left the hotel with more friends added to our life. The Dynasty motto of 'friends for life' is very true - we have truly made friends for life from there. thank you and all the staff deserve to be awarded for their sincere friendliness. We miss this home very much.

Room Tip: A studio room for family if you would like more privacy otherwise family garden room was excellent f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angel0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKelsall, General Manager at Bali Dynasty Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for the time to share your feedback with us and I am pleased to read that this was your third visit and that you still found the staff to be genuinely hospitable. They are certainly our most important asset with over 80% of our team now being with us for over 20 years they certainly have built up a special and personalised rapport our guests which makes them keep coming back! I hope we will see you back again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

A great place to stay with kids! My two girls (8yrs-twins) loved the place and happy kids=happy mum and dad! Very busy hotel and I wouldn't recommend for anyone wanting a quiet break. For our family it was just what we wanted. Make sure you try the Febris day spa across the road. You can get a 90min massage for $18.......AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKelsall, General Manager at Bali Dynasty Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable time in the Resort with your children. I was disappointed to learn that you chose to go to the Febri's Spa across the road and didn't try our Ashoka Spa which offers a far superior setting and experience with separate massage rooms (not just curtains) for just an additional $5! I hope on your next visit you will give us a try and even take advantage of 20% off spa prices in the early evenings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel from June 28th until July 7th.
From check in until departure we could not fault this hotel.

The kids ( 4 & 8) LOVED the kids club & we had to fight with them not to go. The children's pool area was awesome & kept our children entertained enough that a visit to Waterbom park was rejected by our 8yo son as he didn't want to wait in line for the water slides there.

The kids club offers activities during the day as well as chill time indoors watching tv or playing on computers. They also do twice daily swimming or pool games. The kids club host 2 movie nights - Thursday & Saturday - from 6pm - 9pm - which allows a chance for Mum & Dad to enjoy a relaxing meal together. We took advantage of both.( it books out so don't leave booking until the last minute)

We booked a family garden view room & after looking at the hotel map requested to be in the area closest to the kids club. Our request was granted & we were very happy with the location. It was close to the kids club & pool area but was still quiet. The Garden area behind the rooms is shared by other rooms along that corridor. It is walled off & is only accessible through those rooms. It is ideal for the kids to have a play or run around as they cannot get to any other part of the hotel & only people with a room can get into this area. The balcony looks onto this area so ideal for a quiet morning coffee of afternnon drink. Our kids had a ball as did others and they played with this and explored the garden whilst we could still relax.

The kids were given a passport on arrival which required them to get stamps whenever they used a hotel facility or ate in a restaurant - relatively easy as they could get one at blast. They gained prizes along the way & received a grand prize at the end.

We were also given a discount book to use for various restaurants, laundry, drink & spa offers to use within the hotel. We probably used around half during our stay. I think this away a good incentive for us to try the restaurants in the hotel rather than venture out.

We found the hotel prices for food & drinks to be reasonable & ate at the Chinese Restaurant, Indian Restaurant & Irish Pub whilst we were there. ( we used our vouchers)

The Happy Hours at the pool bar were quite popular ( 12 & 5pm ) and the Upper Deck Cocktail Bar was quiet & relaxing.

The security here is great with under car cameras & a guard on the gate leading from the beach. The access to the beach is not direct - so no beach view - we didn't find this a proble as you cannot be approached by hawkers over the hotel fence as has happened to us at other hotels along this same stretch of beach. There are tanning beds on the beach attached to the hotel if that takes your fancy.

We found the only problem to be the super slow WiFi - which is only available in the lobby unless you pay - they are apparently working on this. We really only used it to check our flights home & bank accounts so wasn't too much of an issue for us.

The hotel offers discounts for repeat visitors and as such we have reserved a room for our next holiday to Bali.

Bali Dynasty is close enought to Kuta centre - you can walk along the beach or get a taxi - that if you want to you an be in the action zone but, far enough away that you can chill as well.

We found this hotel to have a great mix of facilities to accommodate both adults & children and as such we ALL had a fantastic time.

All of the staff were courteous, friendly & the rooms & grounds were spotless.

Room Tip: Garden view room near kids club fantastic for families with younger children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKelsall, General Manager at Bali Dynasty Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review and for highlighting the little touches and value added extras that we include to tray and make your stay all that more comfortable and enjoyable. We are addressing the issue with the wifi and are currently trialing another provider right now, so we hope to see some improvements!
I was pleased to read you had a great holiday and we shall look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were a little hesitant about staying again as our trip in 2013 was a little bit of a let down, however, we are glad we persevered.
Travelled with 3 children (13, 11 & 7) so this time took adjoining rooms. Having 2 bathrooms (& 2 toilets) was a blessing. HOWEVER, the beds are like concrete. We stayed for 11 nights and could not have tolerated another night of the hard bed. We did ask our housekeeper about changing the bed but it was either lost in translation or you get what you are given (not sure).
We had breakfast at both Senses and H2O (which was included now in a family package). It was quite nice and we always look forward to our Bali bananas and to see what watermelon creation is on display.
We also had a number of theme dinners at H2O which were very nice and good value with 2 children being free. Our oldest is now 13 and is classed as an adult so we did notice a difference in our bill at the end of our stay.
We also experienced our first Dim Sum Sunday at Golden Lotus and were really impressed. Would recommend it highly.
Nice to sit around the pool with a mango slushy and club sandwich whilst the lovely ladies provide a leg massage or paint your nails.
We went on the Jimbaran Fishing Village tour provided by the hotel and found it a very interesting insight into the locals' lives.
The staff are the stars of this hotel. It is lovely to see the same lovely people there each time you visit, particularly Jonny, Hendra and Astri.
The rooms were kept extremely clean by Darling who was a very nice man.
Security staff are both pleasant and reassuring.
I guess the two let downs were:-
1. Free wi-fi in restaurants but you could only access social media and not check emails or the internet.
2. On our last day I asked Guest Relations if they would check that our flight time had not been changed. I was told I had to do it myself at the tour office/internet lounge (where I would need to purchase internet time). There was a 15 minute voucher provided to us which I had already used to web check-in our flight. This was a disappointing response from a hotel which prides itself on service and left a bit of a sour taste on our last day.
Overall a much more positive experience than last time and we enjoy the location. We would stay again if we could arrange a soft bed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsclaus71_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKelsall, General Manager at Bali Dynasty Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give a detailed review of our resort and I was pleased that you came back again to the Bali Dynasty Resort.
I am sorry that the bed was not to your liking, the brand we use is a renowned international brand (King Koil) however I understand different people are used to different beds however we are able to offer an extra padded bed pad. I am sorry that your room boy did not understand your message but our Duty Manager is available 24 hours a day should you need anything.
Thank you for complementing the food and the Sunday Dim Sum in Golden Lotus.
I have checked the issue with the free wifi which should not be restricted to just social media and this has been rectified however it is still restricted in the sense that you are unable to get into sites that offer large downloads which take up speed and slow the whole system down for everyone!
Thank you for highlighting the issue with the guest relations when getting your flight confirmed and this has been addressed with them and can assure you such an incident will not reoccur!
I hope you now feel reassured to return on your next visit and please don's hesitate to email any special requests in advance so we can take care of those for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.2 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#23 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#3 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#41 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Dynasty Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Dynasty Resort

Property: Bali Dynasty Resort
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#11 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#16 Family Hotel in Kuta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Bali Dynasty Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Dynasty Resort is a 5-star premier beachside resort in South Kuta, renowned for its warm Balinese hospitality. The property offers six restaurants, five bars, three swimming pools, a comprehensive spa, exercise room, beach club, kids and teens club, meeting facilities and a complimentary Hospitality Lounge for those early arrivals and late departures.The unique layout allows for a subtle but effective division between the couples market and the family market. Couples can enjoy the famous Gracie Kelly's Irish Pub and relax at the adults-only Lazy Pool. Kids can enjoy the Kids Water Fun Zone and a 56-metre waterslide flowing into their own pool adjacent to which lies the Enchanted Garden Kids' Club. A wide variety of rooms catering to the family market are available, sleeping up to five people.The resort is conveniently located within ten minutes drive from the airport on the vibrant South Kuta Beach strip. It is within walking distance to the shopping centre and mall, art markets, Waterbom Park and an extensive choice of restaurants, nightspots and entertainment venues. Free Wi-Fi is available at Lobby area and restaurants and bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Travelbag, TravelUp and Ctrip TA so you can book your Bali Dynasty Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Dynasty Hotel Kuta
Hotel Bali Dynasty
Bali Dynasty Resort Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing