We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay and will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and we'll definitely be back because it ticks all the boxes for us. Great staff and service, value for money, beautiful grounds, pool and common areas which were immaculately maintained, a swim up pool bar, day spa, gym, plenty of beds around the pool, great location on the beach and close to shops but still far enough away to be quiet. The rooms are great albeit getting a little dated however you are in no way roughing it and they are immaculately clean, the beds are huge and comfy and the blinds shut to completely block out the light. Food within the resort is also great and breakfast was awesome with an enormous variety to choose from. Special mention to Dede and Lila at La Cucina for their fantastic service. Only fault we had was the free wifi was very slow and didn't always work which meant we frequently had to use the hotel computers for which there was a charge but not a big issue. All in all we love this hotel and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are our preferred for the view and easy access but if you have poor mobility requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seethenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,447 - 1,453 of 2,350 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Dont look any further this resort has everything you want whilst on your vacation.
Courteous staff, pleasant surrounds, clean rooms, refreshing pool bar yes you can sit at the bar in the pool and enjoy your drinks, good restaurants within the resort, and as for the breakfast it is amazing on some days we find our selves just sitting and chatting for a couple of hours, The staff at the Kartika just can't do enough for you they are all ever pleasing. My only wish is that the wi fi be faster {I did notice a lot of new wi fi upgrades were being carried out} and if possible for those who have to do a little work on vacation that there own wi fi site be available even at extra cost.
The Kartika is located just next to the Discovery shopping Mall, great for the lady's shopping

Room Tip: We always prefer a ocean pool facing room on the second level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The kartika plaza is based in south kuta, so it is just a short walk into the town and the main shops etc, however far enough away not to hear all the nightime antics of drunken australians. The rooms albeit are a bit dated, however all the facilities are immaculate and the staff are always helpful and enthusiastic to organise events for you. The view of the beach is perfect and the breakfasts are always amazing

Room Tip: Try to get a pool or ocean facing room for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The staff in this hotel were fantastic. Very friendly, even remembered us and our names from a previous visit. The place is faultless.
My only gripe was the WiFi was very slow and very temperamental.
Breakfast is outstanding....staff amazing...surroundings exquisite...I could have sat at the pool bar all day!!!
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Pool or sea view rooms have best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tabbiespice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just returned from an 8 night stay at Discovery Kartika Plaza for our first time to Bali.

Firstly, the resort is in a great location in Kuta. It is set back off the main road so whilst it is amongst the Kuta buzz, once you are in the resort it is very peaceful, quiet and authentic.
Next door to the discovery shopping centre which we found very handy. It backs on to beach access so no need to cross busy roads to get to the sea. We also used this beach path as an alternative option when walking into central Kuta to avoid the busy street and shop vendors if you need a break. Cheap taxi ride to the airport which was very handy.

Big pool where we spent a lot of time with a big swim up bar and well maintained gardens everywhere. All very relaxing.

We had a ocean view room which was great on level 3. Had everything we needed and was very clean. Nice balcony for relaxing which overlooked the resort pool and gardens and the sea.

All staff were genuinely friendly and very helpful all the time.

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, big selection on offer with variations most days to mix it up for you .
I also recommend the seafood buffet on Friday nights, we did this on our first night and it was a great introduction to the resort. Not only was the buffet great but this included traditional Balinese dance entertainment and music plus some other entertaining surprises.

Overall, we really enjoyed out stay - can't think of anything negative to say about the place and are already recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Ocean View was great for us, over looking the gardens, pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mykeynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was my fourth time to Bali but Discovery Kartika Hotel was in a very convenient location. Since we, my husband and I were planning to veg out this holiday, the hotel was in a good location for that plus the shopping center located right next to the hotel made it nice for us to go shopping and dine out as well.

Room Tip: We stayed at the garden front rooms, very quiet and convenient but if you want to go out to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctor_and_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was our 2nd trip staying with the Kartika as part of our Wakatobi dive trips. The pool bar is great. We spent several evenings there. The dinner buffets are OK but no bargain. The rooms were clean and quiet.
The location on the beach is really hard to beat. Beautiful views and close to whatever you want to do.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
5,926 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#43 of 251 in Kuta
1,722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#37 of 251 in Kuta
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Poppies Bali
Poppies Bali
#1 of 251 in Kuta
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amnaya Resort Kuta
Amnaya Resort Kuta
#2 of 251 in Kuta
823 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#2 Family Hotel in Kuta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: £76 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing