We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Long Enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Ranked #12 of 338 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Long Enough”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel from the 23rd December till the 29th December before we moved to Sanur. I really wish we hadn't moved and stayed at the Kartika for the total length of our stay. We absolutely love it, from the staff, to our room, to the view, the breakfast is to die for, we were total looked after and welcomed the moment we stepped into the glorious foyer. I have stayed at 3 star to 5 star to private villas and none of them come close to the Discovery Kartika Plaza. And for an added bonus it is so central to everything you could possible want in Kuta. If I had to say anything negative about this hotel it would be there is no bath, thats it!

Room Tip: 3rd floor ocean views is an excellent room for views and seabreeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baligirl_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Baligirl_61

Greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel !

Thank you for choosing to stay at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel and for taking the time to write your comprehensive reviews

We appreciate your recognition on the hotel unique selling points: strategic location, friendly Staff, value for money – beach front accommodation in Kuta Bali for other traveler’s reference

On your feedback, we would like to advise you for your next stay to experience our Room with Bath in Private Garden Room , Ocean Front Room and all of our Suites /Villas

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Bali and to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Ps . Please feel free to write me a note once you have the date on your next Bali Holiday

Many thanks and with best regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,320
    614
    153
    35
    42
See reviews for
719
775
70
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We spent two nights on Bali before transiting to our live aboard for a scuba and underwater photography holiday. The Discovery Kartika Plaza hotel was very close to the airport, was clean, modern, interactions with all staff was pleasant and professional, and the buffet breakfast was exceptional (an international culinary delight). We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newmediasoup2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear newmediasoup2

Greetings Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel !

Thank you for taking the time to write your reviews in TripAdvisor which we really appreciate

It’s really great to have you staying with us and for making Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel to be your Bali home base for your underwater photography program

We appreciate your recognition and definitely will pass them to all of our dedicated team

All of Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel family member are looking forward to welcoming you back

Ps Please feel free to drop me a note on your next photography program and if there can be anything we can do to assist with your accomodation arrangements

Many thanks and with best regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
Director of Sales & Ecommerce
E: bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had a great time and the Bali culture was certainly reflected in this hotel.Highly recommended.

Reasons-
1.the service was excellent,organized.
2.the staff was friendly and very helpful.
3.the rooms are spotlessly clean,spacious and comfortable,maintaining tranquility of mind.
4.the gardens are well maintained.
5.the spa offered reasonably priced treatments
6.the location is really good,the ocean view in front.
7.The swimming-pool is huge,very well maintained. Ocean view, plenty of sunbeds, pool side bar with about 12 chairs and wonderful staff.
8.Too many kids at the pool surrounding the main pool
9.Restaurant and bar has well ambiance and lots of choice of dishes.
10.The security at the entry, the massive fountain,the statue of "Gototchacha" and this gigantic lobby-welcome you by putting a smile on your face
11.big variety of gym equipment for a hotel gymnasium
12.Good and efficient Travel Desk.
13.Situated just above the beach-has Personal beach.
14.tasty buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Seafacing and Poolfacing Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranadhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Spent 6 nights of my Honeymoon at this hotel and I had a mixed experience.

We booked through Hotel.com and after we had paid, hidden in the terms and conditions there was a note to say that the hotel will charge an additional amount for a new year's meal. This turned out to be a whopping $400 USD for me and my wife! A brutal hidden cost that this hotel should be ashamed of. I paid but asked to speak to the manager to get an explanation of why this mandatory cost is tagged on. She had no sense of customer service - she just ignored my questions and said we should have read the terms and conditions over and over again. Whilst this may be true - nobody would expect a $400 in there. If she simply had have shown ANY sympathy and said something like "I can see how this might be unclear, we'll contact the website and inform them that this should be made clearer" or something similar, it would have been fine. Instead we were basically treated like idiots and asked what we want her to do about it as if we were after something other than a simple explanation.

The new year's meal itself was a cheesy night of hotel staff dressed as star trek characters, bad cabaret, a speech from the manager talking about how great the hotel is and how they have won a number of awards, and a magician 'magical' levitation machine failed. It was a good buffet... but at the end of the day a $400 buffet for 2 people! What a con! Made a complaint through there website which comes up with an automated message saying they will respond as soon as possible but I never rececived a response.


Rooms 3/5

A little dated but overall nice, I paid for an ocean view and could not see a litre of ocean due to trees being in the way though. Avoid room 2004. Internet was completely hopeless. You were lucky to get a webpage loading in 10 minutes and the room was the closest room to the main building so not sure where you have to be to get a good connection. Some minor things added a little to the irritation that probably would have gone ignored had it not been for my experience on arrival; e.g. no conditioner provided for my wife, no iron or press provided - they charge for pressing instead, laundry ended up arriving 3 days after being sent off etc.


Location 3/5

In the bustling metropolis of Kuta. Next to a big mall if you want that kind of thing. Less than 5 mins to the start of Kuta beach. They describe themselves of having a 'private beach' but this is just some sand they've put in the middle of the grass with a bar. Lots of good bars and restaurants in the area and right across the road from the water park.


Service 4/5

Generally very friendly and attentive in typical Indonesian fashion. Just avoid the management.


Facilities 4/5

Nice pool with swim up bar, a selection of restaurants and a ton of deckchairs to relax in the sunshine.


Could have been a nice stay but with the experience with the manager and the way overpriced cheesy 90's style holiday camp new years was enough to put me off for life.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom_is_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights at the discovery kartika plaza,this december.it was absolutey awesome.the resort is stunning.the service was excellent.the rooms are spotlessly clean.the gardens are immaculate.my kids loved the kids club.the spa offered reasonably priced treatments.the staff was super friendly and very helpful.the location is really good,the ocean view in front and the malls ,markets a stones throw away.kuta is crazy busy ,but when staying at this resort you would never know.the resort is an excellent choice for those who want the best of both.well done to the staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Shamima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in Bali. Thank goodness only staying 1 night in Discovery. We barely able to sleep due to the loud music nextdoor (District Karaoke). The music went on until 3 am!!
The room itself very small and old dated, very overpriced for its quality. The balcony is very tiny space that can barely handle towel rack.

Given room with parking lot view. Staff indifference to guest complaints.
Never stay here again despite close proximity to Discovery Mall. There are so many better place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel a day as a gift from a friend, and I really enjoyed staying there. The outlook of the resorts is fabulous and you will certainly be dazzled by the picturesque of its surroundings. This resort is ideal not just for business travelers but also honeymooners, big families, group of friends or even governmental people. All the staff seemed to love having conversation with the guests, made me feel welcome. They are so friendly and chatty that you will never be bored in their company.

Room Tip: Try the beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sethlestath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#40 of 338 in Kuta
5,118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#68 of 338 in Kuta
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Febri's Hotel & Spa
#11 of 338 in Kuta
1,719 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#71 of 338 in Kuta
2,170 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Property: Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kuta
#4 Family Hotel in Kuta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#8 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing