We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, great service and excellent food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely hotel, great service and excellent food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Was our first time in Bali as a family. Hotel was great, a few small miscommunication issues. Our son enjoyed the kids club there, but was not very well advertised.Would be good if there were more pool side activities and In House social activities. Was disappointed that there was no self serve laundry as stipulated in our booking. Would have been nice if ice machine facility were available on each floor. I would definitely stay there again if and when we return to Bali.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirah M, Manager at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Daniel,

Warmest greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza,

We really appreciate that you taking the time to write your review in Trip Advisor

It’s a great pleasure to have you stay with us and appreciate your recommendation and feedback for our further improvement.

On behalf of all Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel family member, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit

Many thanks and with best regards,
Mirah Marhaendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    559
    140
    33
    37
See reviews for
648
712
62
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Ours is a family of three including a toddler and we stayed for 6 nights at this hotel earlier this month. The property is dated but well maintained and rooms well appointed. We found the hotel employees friendly, courteous and professional and never had any issues or delays at check in, during our stay or when leaving.

Great breakfast buffet catering for both western and asian palates, a nice big swimming pool which our daughter enjoyed immensely during our stay, nicely tended gardens, several specialty restaurants, decent wifi signal, kids play area - all made for a comfortable stay.

A separate mention for its location – the hotel is located very close to the airport, next to a mall, close to a popular water park, with several dining and shopping options nearby. You can walk or take a short cab ride to pantai road and adjoining poppies lane that have more options for shopping, dining etc.

The hotel even provided a nice cake as we were celebrating our marriage anniversary during the stay, which was nice touch. We had a late night flight and they were able to offer a late check-out.

My daughter had an insect bite that cause a bit of swelling on her leg that we were not certain if it happened in the room or on hotel grounds. We informed of this at reception and they immediately changed our room, checked with resident doctor/nurse and provided a medicinal cream to apply. We were obviously unhappy at turn of events, worried for our daughter and had to change/cancel some activities but appreciate the manner in which the hotel responded to our situation.

A couple of other issues / suggestions.

The hotel is beachfront but not on the beach itself. You have to walk few hundred metres if wanting to go to Kuta beach but that’s not a great beach anyways.

The hotel should consider allowing a money exchange company to set up shop at its premises. Another nearby hotel does this that we found convenient given the stories of scams etc.

The hotel could consider providing shuttle bus to nearby key tourist areas and airport.

We found the tour desk at the hotel overpriced compared with the options available outside.

I didn’t see the management / staff interacting with guests ‘proactively’ except maybe in the party held for long stay or repeat guests.

it was difficult to discern ingredients in some asian food/curries in breakfast buffet and wait staff were understandably unable to help. I mention this in case you need to watch out for kids allergies.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasTal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirah M, Manager at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear JasTal7,

Warmest greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel,

Thank you for taking the time to write your valuable reviews

We are very happy to have you staying with us and for making Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel your Bali home away from home . Your recognition to the management and the hotel staff as well as the services will be passed to all of our dedicated team

Please let us know or drop me a note if there could be anything that we can do to assist with your upcoming home visit

Best Regards,
Mirah Marhaendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at discovery kartika for 5 nights - we found the room rate very reasonable considering breakfast was included. They were very helpful on our last day - because we had a early morning flight back to Australia they allowed us to store our belongings and have full access to hotels facilities. Would definitely recommend it - especially if you want to stay on the beach in Kuta. I recommend a spa package as well!

Room Tip: Only one lift on each wing - if you don't like stairs and not afraid of tsunami's choose a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirah M, Manager at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Leanne,

Warmest greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing us as your home on your holiday and taking the time to share your precious time giving us your valuable reviews

We are very happy that you had a wonderful time during your stay and really appreciate your recognition on Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel unique features : Great Spa experience, superb Staff with excellent service and beautiful environment in the heart of Kuta Bali

We wish you and your family a wonderful time ahead and look forward welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Mirah Marhaendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I don't have any bad review, but long check in. We had to wait for like 40 minutes, but perhaps it was because of I came with my office mate. Other than that, the room was lovely, the staffs were very helpful and fast, even the restroom at some sort of a basement (under the lobby) which I believe were rarely used, was clean! The food at the restaurant were okay, the breakfast was superb! The Japanese restaurant near to the beach was awesome too (forgot the name, sorry).
The location was of course: perfect. Near everything from airport, beach (of course!), attractions, mall, and cafes. Would love to go back, perhaps next time with family.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view to the beach or swimming pool. Lovely. Just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nananunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirah M, Manager at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Ms. Nana,

Warmest greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel,

First of all thank you for choosing us as your second home during your holiday and taking the time to share with us your feedback during your stay.

We are sincere sorry sorry that you experience unpleasant moment during your check in. Rest assure we have shared your feedback to our team for further improvement and to ensure this will not repeated in the future. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Good to hear you enjoy our Tepan Noodle Restaurant for some Japanese fusion culinary experience, happy to share we are also welcoming new theme dinner, Chinese & Balinese Buffet Dinner around the area. We hope you can join us for this new experience on your next visit.

Look forward hearing from you and please do not hesitate to contact us shall you need any assistance.
Wishing you a lovely day ahead.

Best Regards,
Mirah Marhaendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed this hotel for 2nights. This hotel is like resort. Huge!!! I loved the pool so much. And walking along the beachside was very attractive and fantastic. breakfast buffet with piano performance was also great. Nothing to say something negative. Good for the family I think.
And also the location is very good. close to kuta centre.
But the one thing I would like to say is.... I checked in very late at night, 2 staff(guys) was in charge of reception. The greeting was very bad..annoyed a bit.
Anyway,, overall the hotel services, facilities is very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sera Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirah M, Manager at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Ms. Sera,

Warmest greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza,

Hope this response find you well.
First of all thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Kindly advise if your receive our email at your Trip Advisor inbox in response to the review?

We look forward to hearing from you and please do not hesitate to contact us shall you need further assistance.

Best Regards,
Mirah Marhaendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balikpapan, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We mainly picked this Hotel as it was close to many shopping malls, and had great kids facilities.
We had booked in for two nights, and then another two nights a week later.
On the first arrival checking in was a nightmare, which took about 40 minutes, and with a one year old boy this felt like forever. on our second day we discovered that we had not been checked in properly and as we returned from a shopping trip we found that they had locked us out of our room as they had not taken the payment for the second night while checking in. This was very disturbing as my son needed to cool off in the AC, and all of his stuff was locked in the room, and this really upset our stay.
Other than that the staff were friendly, the breakfast was good, and the Italian restraunt was very good. My son also enjoyed the play areas and of course the kids pool. The walls in the bedrooms also seem to be very thin as we could hear people next door closing the wardobes etc.
The location was great for shopping, but is very busy outside the hotel being on Kuta beach. All in all it was just a shame that the check in was not completed properly, and the way they delt with it. I have travelled to many places and had never been locked out of my room before.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank violam999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirah M, Manager at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Ms.Violam,

Warmest greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza,

First of all thank you for choosing us as your second home during your holiday and taking the time to share with us your valuable feedback.

We sincerely apologize that you experience unpleasant moment during your check in. Your experience has been shared with our team for further improvement and to ensure this will not occur to anyone in the future, as this is not our check-in standard. Once again we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused.

We look forward hearing from you and please do not hesitate to contact shall you need any assistance for you future trip.

Wishing you a lovely day ahead

Best Regards,
Mirah Marhaendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morfelden-Walldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I only can say that I loved everything at Discovery Katika Plaza Hotel. Everyone was warm and friendly all the time. I'm sure I will come back. They made my feel home far away from home. Our room was perfekt, the breakfast was wonderful. I loved my massage at the spa center. There was nothing to complaine about exept that we had to leave after 9 days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cordula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirah M, Manager at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Cordula,

Warmest greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and great to hear that you have a lovely stay with us.
Let us know if there's anything we can assist to plan your future visit.

Look forward hearing from you and welcoming you back to the Resort

Sincerely,
Mirah Marhaendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#22 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#42 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#5 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Property: Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#2 Family Hotel in Kuta
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing