We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic family resort”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My family, including my wife, daughter (17) and niece (18) stayed at the Discovery Kartika for 9 nights for vacation. Just simply a fantastic experience for what we wanted. This is not an intimate, quaint spiritual retreat if that is what you are looking for. But, if you want a comfortable, relaxing full-service resort for a family, I highly recommend. We stayed in an ocean facing Discovery Suite that was ~ 1,260 square feet with 2 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. Once you get your own private wife, it worked perfectly. It also had a large outside veranda with a full dinner table and lounging area. With all the noise of Bali roads found almost everywhere (Kuta and Ubud) the Kartika sits about 100 yards off the road and is gated with a security check. By the time you reach the hotel, it is quiet and serene. The hotel has an impressive entrance that looks fully through to the ocean. Full service includes 3 nice restaurants, spa (great prices) and a large, wonderful pool with a swim up restaurant and bar. The grounds were immaculate and the hotel was very clean. To be very picky, it is slightly dated -- I mean slightly -- but does not in any way appear old or run down. The breakfast buffet is amazing and will satisfy all tastes. Staff service was wonderful. There were helpful, courteous and always greeted with a smile. Needs were anticipated and we simply did not have a single hitch with the hotel. We used the hotel as a base and then traveled to Ubud and norther areas for daily road trips. Frankly, I would have gone stir crazy being in Ubud for 9 days. We did spend one night in Ubud at the Svarga Loka hotel that is the "off the beaten path" experience if that is what you want (nice place). I liked Kuta's variety of events including the large mall next door, the swim park and the Sky Garden night club. No matter where you go, you will be hit with crowded roads and countless motor bikes that have ninja-like skills weaving in/out of traffic. I will definitely return to the Discovery Kartika. Just a wonderful, wonderful stay with my family.

Room Tip: Definitely get a Discovery Suite is you have 4 people. Great suite. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Matt L

Greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel!

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us the opportunity to be part of your fantastic Family Holiday

Thank you for spare some of your precious time giving us your complete and very comprehensive reviews. We appreciate that you share your Wonderful Family Holiday Experience and your recognition on the Staff which are our great asset and reasons for most of our repeat and loyal guest to return to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Yes, we are known to have the most strategic location in the centre of Kuta beach which are in a very convenience walking distance to shopping Mall, WaterPark, Great Culinary Experience Spas
Your detail review will be very good reference for other travelers when looking for Family Accomodation
at Kuta Beach front

We look forward to the opportunity welcoming you and your family back and feel free to send us email and we will be more than happy to assist for your accommodation arrangements

Many thanks and with kind regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    597
    153
    35
    41
See reviews for
689
759
69
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel from the 9thJuly to the 15thJuly and wished we had stayed longer. Excellent Breakfast and always looking forward to have this morning start with world of foods to enjoy,The pool area and japanese restaurant facing the sea with casual late lunch and a cold Bintang could be the best afternoon time.Located in the middle of a Kuta high street but could access the shopping mall from either the sea or the roadside in seconds and evenings the bars come alive at mall seaside area.Service and staff were really nice and would love to get back to this gem once again.10mins from the airport for just 2.00£

Room Tip: Try to select the rooms facing the pool area and you would feel like a king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank lalkunj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear lalkunj

Greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel. We are very happy to know that you and your family had a very enjoyable stay with us.

It’s great to be part of your holiday in Bali and we also appreciate your room tip to help other travelers to find what room to book

We hope to welcome you and your family back again and do contact us so that we can extend our best deal for your next stay

Many thanks and with best regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)

Director of Sales & Ecommerce
E: bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at Kartika Plaza during our Honeymoon. This was the start of the honeymoon and our expectations were really high. The hotel standard surpasses all your expectations with its amenities, services, view etc etc.

The start of the honeymoon was just superb and we have literally fallen in love with this place. If you ask me about our best experience in Bali, it would be Kartika Plaza. The sea view from the hotel is simply outstanding and you won't feel like living there forever.

The breakfast spread is really nice and you will get almost all cuisine. They have a grand lobby with a sea view at one side and the Bali lovely streets from the other side.

I will certainly recommend this place to every one as it's totally worth it

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanny2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Stanny2111

Thank you for taking the time for posting your great experience with us
It’s a pleasure being a part of your Honeymoon and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, Everything we do is aimed at providing our guests with an excellent Holiday experience and your feedback is extremely valuable.

We are aiting for you to celebrate your wedding Anniversary, next year.

Many thanks and with best regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)

Director of Sales & Ecommerce
E: bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I booked this hotel by phone, and the reservation officer (Tonny) was very friendly and helpful, particularly when I have to change the check-in date, Tonny has helped me. I booked a family suite room, consist of 2 very spacious room with balcony on the second floor, but room location was not so good and has no view. Also the rooms and furnitures are outdated.
The receptionist also very friendly, fast in process, welcoming drink and cold towel is fantastic.
The ground and the pool was lovely, including the pool bar. Nice sea view particularly for sunset, ease access to beach walk, and very closed to Discovery Mall, Waterboom and located in the very central of Kuta area.
I have opportunity to try the couple package at spa, it was great but pricey. My kids enjoyed the kids club and the playground.
A bit crowded when breakfast, however they have lot of food and drink variety.
Overall, I have a great holiday here and will recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnych j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear sonnych j

Thank you for staying at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel with your family
We appreciate that we are given the opportunity to be part of your Family Holiday and nominate Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel as Best Resort in Kuta

Your recommendation and room tips will be good reference for other travellers on finding what room to book We all look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Ps . Please feel free to write me a note once you have the date on your next Bali Holiday for us to send our best offer

Many thanks and with best regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)

Director of Sales & Ecommerce
E: bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip on what was my first visit to Bali.

I thoroughly enjoyed everything that this hotel had to offer, apart from the fact that there was no beach of which to speak of. However, the lovely grounds of the hotel and the great pools more than made up for the lack of beach especially with the swim-up pool bar where you could not just drink whilst in the water but also have a meal whilst swimming!

Despite being perfectly located to access all the hustle and bustle of Kuta, the hotel had the feeling of being a real oasis and once inside you could close your eyes and think you were in a remote island. The restaurants and breakfast were good without being exceptional. The wifi worked well in most of the complex. However, the staff were politely efficient rather than friendly which was a bit of a let down and if there was a concierge I never found them despite requesting to speak to them on a number of occasions.

My room was very comfortable with a good bathroom and the bowl of exotic fruit on arrival was a nice touch that I really appreciated. So were the free bottles of water that were provided.

Being on business I did not really get to sample the full range of resort facilities but from what I saw this would be a great place for a family holiday with kids pools, playgrounds, kids clubs and everything else that luxury family resorts offer. It is also a good place to use as a base and a retreat when exploring Kuta, Waterbom park, the shopping malls and the rest of Bali.

One negative I discovered after I left Bali and made some enquiries about returning for a proper vacation was that the room rate I was charged would certainly not qualify as 'value for money' when compared with other similar resort offerings. So make sure you shop around for a good deal. There are plenty out there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Peter K

Thank you for staying at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel and we really appreciate that you taking the time to write your comprehensive reviews
We are very happy to have you staying with us and appreciate your recognition on the hotel facilities and our strategic location as an Oasis along busy Kuta.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back and to better serve you on your next Bali Visit

Many thanks and with best regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I and my husband stayed 2 days 1 night at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel. I booked hotel through Booking.com. I really impress with excellent hotel service and friendly staff. When i booked our room, i put a notice on Booking.com that i and my husband went to Bali for our Honeymoon and i hoped the hotel could prepare something for us in our room. Firstly i thought that they maybe could make some simple decoration, but in fact they did a very good job. They gave us a free upgrade room, rose, chocolate cake, and beautiful decoration on the bed. Breakfast is buffet with a variety of food. the pool area completely rejuvenated us. I highly and strongly recommend this hotel to my friend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nga V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Nga V

Congratulations to both of you! We felt so privileged to have you spend your honeymoon at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
We are so happy to be part of your celebration. Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We certainly hope that you celebrate your first anniversary at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Meanwhile we wish you a great moment ahead!

Many thanks and with kind regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Close to Waterbohm park, Kuta , Central to everything, Staff great , Clean and tidy and good for kids as well as I went with a 16yo and 11yo. I have no trouble recommending Kartiki Plaza as its the second time I have stayed there.

Room Tip: Eat at all the restaurants in the complex as the food is great. Rooms overlooking pool will give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Christopher L

Thank you for staying with us and highlighting us as a great place to stay! We like your brief descriptions of our facilities and surrounding area.
Most of all, we appreciate your compliment that we have great people and service as well as your recommendation!

Meanwhile, we certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel in the very near future!

Many thanks and with kind regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#21 of 251 in Kuta
4,973 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#41 of 251 in Kuta
1,560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#4 of 251 in Kuta
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Property: Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#2 Family Hotel in Kuta
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing