We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect stay in a piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Vic.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay in a piece of paradise”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is the 5th time we have stayed at this beautiful hotel. The service is the best you can have,
the staff are always friendly and happy and very helpful. The hotel is immaculate in presentation
extremely clean, very modern and beautifully presented. The rooms are modern the food at their
famous buffet breakast is the best we have had anywhere in Asia.The food at their restaurants and buffet dinners are beautifully presented delicious and well priced. The pool is huge and beautiful with fountains and waterfalls and is definately the centre of the hotel for holiday makers.
for relaxation and fun. This hotel sits right on the beachfront within 5 minutes to the hub of everything you would need in Kuta and ten minutes to the airport. It is so central to everywhere .We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough have been to many but this place is tops.

Room Tip: For a beautiful view book and Ocean Facing Room it overlooks the beautiful grounds pool area and oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taniaterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear taniaterry

Greetings from “home” Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel!

Thank you for staying with us again and making Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel your return home in Bali

We really appreciate that you take the time to share your stay with us in “A Piece of Paradise” left in Bali Your recommendation will be a good reference for other travelers to choose which hotel to stay when heading to this area. And your comments will be shared to all of our team members

Your Room Tip: 5 Thumbs Up!

We look forward to welcoming you back home to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel very soon

Many thanks and with kind regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    597
    153
    35
    41
See reviews for
689
759
69
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Overall a pleasant hotel. Hotel staff are non-intrusive, polite and efficient. Breakfast spread is adequate and suits many tastes and needs. Swimming pool is large and well-maintained. A well-spread out and well-planned property near the beach and at the same time near good restaurants and a shopping mall.

Room Tip: Most rooms on top floor have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Goutambiswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Goutambiswa

Greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel !

Thank you for taking the time to share your Holiday experience with us
We are delighted to know that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us and your appreciation of the hotel staff and facilities which indeed makes Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel so special will be shared among all of our team member

Your Room Tip: 5 Thumbs Up !

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Many thanks and with best regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)

Director of Sales & Ecommerce
E: bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed there for 6 days last week and I can only recommend it for those wanting a good hotel with beachfront location. The staff, front desk, wait staff, recreation/pool staff, service staff that clean your rooms everyday are all excellent. Always smiling and saying hello and ready to solve any little issue you think you may be facing. The breakfast had a great variety of food and was fresh every morning. The room was great with an outdoor area that in my case was patio area leading on to the garden and the pool. I loved the towel art that greeted me everyday when I went back to my room. It made me laugh and I took photos and have showed them to everyone. What a special place for a good sized hotel on the beachfront in Bali.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne8D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Kerrie g

Greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel!

Thank you for staying at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel and share your wonderful holiday experience We highly appreciate your glowing review and trust that you bring many wonderful memories to share back home

We look forward to the opportunity to serving you again on your next Bali Holiday

With best regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We spent 7 nights in this hotel and really enjoyed it. Would recommend it to friends wanting to stay in Kuta.
The positives:
- Really liked how you could sit by the pool and it overlooks the ocean.
- Liked how you could order and have drinks while in the pool. Cocktails where very tasty.
- Rooms where very clean and I liked the towel animals left on the bed everyday.
- The resort is very large, spacious and quite which makes a nice change when coming back from the streets of Kuta.
- I thought the price that we paid was very good for a room with views of the sea.
The negatives:
-We had room service twice and ate by the pool once. The food was nice but not great especially for the price.
-I didn't think the breakfast was very exciting however my partner enjoyed it.
-Drinks by the pool where very expensive, we often walked to the hotel on the other side of the mall and had drinks there instead.

Room Tip: We only booked the cheapest room when we made the booking but our booking came with the guarantee of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolebament
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Nicolebament

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience of your recent stay We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and shall pass your comments to all of our dedicated team
Your details review will help other travellers when looking for value for money accommodation in the centre of Kuta
We also appreciate your feedback and have passed them to our team for further follow up

On behalf of all team member, we look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Bali and to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Sincerely,

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Generally i found the hotel to be run down, nothing to shout about for the price paid! These are my comments:
Travel Period: 16th August - 20th August 2014 / Room No: 3017

a) Bathroom was rundown, shower water pressure was low
b) Breakfast buffet maybe extensive but there has never been a variety, it's the same food
everyday makes you wonder how long an item is recycled as bread was stale
c) Icing on the cake, when booking was done only one night was charged to my husband's
Credit Card - on our second night there was a voice reminder that payment was due and we
settled the balance. On the third night there were another 2 voice messages and a notice
that we have yet to make payment.

When we went to the front desk, they not only took their time attending to us but since there
were check ins by other guest and they choose to ignore us! - New business more important
than existing business!!!!

It was our anniversary day, we were hungry since we were waiting for more than an hour and
left to grab a bite to eat, obviously this episode killed every ouns of romance that should
have been on our 8th year anniversary!


The drama doesn't end there, we come back to the hotel late afternoon and there were 2
staff at the front counter, when we stated our grievance the two of them heard about the
issue started discussing the matter amongst themselves - my husband demanded to see the
manager after some hush hush talk ...The man from behind the counter (who was there in
the morning as well) comes from behind the counter and apologizes for the mistake!

I work in a hospital and if it's during working hours i never let a matter get out of hand....who
ever the Customer Care Manager for this hotel is....shame on you for not being able to train
your staff well...I will never recommend your hotel to anyone as the options in Kuta is not
lacking never think you can monopolize a market!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simran78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Simran78

First of all, thank you for staying with us at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel and please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience that you have experienced on your recent stay. We can assure you that this is definitely not what Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel has to offer to our valuable guests

We would like to advise you that our hotel is not a new one but it is beautifully decorated as well as very well maintained and we continuously have our project on upgrading our product and services.
Our team have immediately take the action to follow up the feedback on the bathroom
For the breakfast, we value your opinions as our customers, even though it is contrary to number of the reviews we have as well as many guest comments that our breakfast is the best on the island and all breakfast items are fresh from our kitchen!

From our record, we understood that you have made your bookings separately for 3 consecutive period of stay via 3 different booking channels. We apologize for the inconvenience on the payment reminder due to different booking channels source where each channel have different payment method including different terms and conditions, and accordingly Our Duty Manager in charge on that time have immediately taken the action and solved the problem.

Further on your feedback about the staff who were handling your request which are immediately being followed up to find out if this is purely attitude problem or lack of training issue

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay and we attend to every feedback seriously and constructively and use this feedback to improve our standards and services.

We sincerely would do our utmost to restore your confidence, and hope to welcoming you back and to better serve you at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Please feel free to write me directly at bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com

Many thanks and with best regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

we just spent 7 nights here and had the best time. The hotel was our own private sanctuary after the busyness of Kuta. We had 2 connecting rooms as we traveled with our 12 and 15 year old. Although we originally booked into family suite found it not to be practical for us as only 1 bathroom and kids room with entry door, but it was no problem to change rooms. The breakfast buffet was amazing so many choices, we loved the daily smoothie freshly made.The staff were very friendly and interacted well the kids around the pool with games.Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ausieperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear ausieperth

Thank you for staying with us at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel and find us as your private Sanctuary in the centre of busy Kuta

I’ts great to know that you and your family had a wonderful time during your stay and really appreciate your recognition on great breakfast and the staff with excellent service…a good combination for a lovely holiday experience that have also given us numbers of return guest !

We look forward to welcoming you and your family and do let us know if there can be anything that we can assist from this point onwards for your next Bali Holiday

Many thanks and with best regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just a horrible experience - we left this hotel as soon as we could and definitely as soon as the bed bugs bites came out. We had pre-paid for 3 nights and check out after 2 when the bed bug bites came out on the second day. We were refused a refund because we booked through Agoda and the hotel rested on a "no refund policy". Contacted the Management again after our stay (when they would have got their money from Agoda) and again refused a refund on the night we did not use. At nearly $300US a night this hotel is a joke and should be avoided at all costs. This is what we experienced:
- Bed bugs - just gross
- On arrival the toilet was broken
- On arrival the aircon wasn't on so the room was hot and humid. Turned aircon on and it sounded like a plane was taking off in our room (this obviously made trying to sleep with this racket impossible)
- The room took nearly 12 hours to cool down, clearly indicating there was something wrong with the system.
- Bed was lumpy and hard. We both could hardly walk the next day.
- Bed creaked loudly at any move, again making it impossible to sleep and anything else!!!
- Staff entered our room unannounced in error at 6am in the morning???
- Wifi in the room was extremely hard to connect to and very slow (unless you were pretty IT literate and good at problem solving, you won't be able to connect)
- Buffet breakfast has flies over all the uncovered food
- TV channels not tuned in correctly. TV was small and picture quality was crap.
- Bath towels not changed when room made up
- No face washers
- Hairdryer didn't work
- Super small bar fridge and not very cold - couldn't even put in a large Bintang upright.

Room Tip: My tip is book another hotel.....this hotel is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Andrew M

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Even though it is contrary to most of the reviews that we have so far. We value the opinions of our customers and will attend to every feedback that we receive
We would highly appreciate if you could email directly to us so that we could investigate further and we will ensure that this matter will be dealt with accordingly.

Many thanks and with best regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)

Director of Sales & Ecommerce
E: bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#21 of 251 in Kuta
4,974 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#41 of 251 in Kuta
1,560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#4 of 251 in Kuta
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Property: Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#2 Family Hotel in Kuta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing