We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green Garden Hotel
Ranked #26 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“what a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great place to stay .. the best staff in place to look after you and to enjoy your stay.. Great food and the best location ever... Rooms well layed .. Staff the best. great place to ejoy and meet new people. Made is the best .. gound floor rooms are the way to go

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    210
    52
    7
    8
See reviews for
151
199
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
merritt
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just returned march 28 from our third stay and again we were amazed at how welcome they made us feel. After day one you are like family. We will be returning again and plan to stay longer. The food is still very good and the whole place is spotless from top to bottom. Great place to relax and enjoy meeting new interesting people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scooter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have been home over a week now and still have fond memories of Green Garden hotel and their staff, the staff are so welcoming and go out of their way to help you with anything, It was great to see Made and Susanii again from our first visit to this little gem of a hotel. We stayed in a kids suite as our adult daughter was with us and the extra room in the room was great, I had booked directly with the hotel and had no issues. I also asked for a late checkout during our stay the reception staff check and said no problem $26USD would recomend the late check out if you have a late flight. Our next visit to bali will be at Green Garden Hotel. My daughter has also said she would stay here again loved the pool the spa the room and the staff. Breakfast was great restaurant good drinks cheap.
I have read a couple of recent bad reviews which I am bewildered. These people must be hard to PLEASE where ever they stay.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms more private less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walkie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great location, clean, friendly just a great place to stay. Pool was great and the food good as well. Ground floor rooms the best away from the restaurant. Good restaurants close by as well as not too much hassle as there are not many stalls around.

Room Tip: Ground floor away from the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceEper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We chose the Green Garden Hotel because of the good reviews and the low cost. We were staying at a much more expensive resort our first few days in Bali, so we wanted to compensate by staying somewhere more reasonable and close to the airport. The Green Garden is an OK hotel. Nothing great, but not bad for the price! The location is right on the strip in Kuta, and you could walk to a lot of shopping from there. You could also walk to the beach, but it isn't too clean. We used the hotel as a home-base and traveled elsewhere. We were not that interested in seeing anything in Kuta! It is way too commercialized. And you could get a personal driver for 40 bucks a day (see my review on Putu) and you don't have to spend an arm and a leg!

We were only at the hotel in the morning and the evenings. The room is a good size. We requested one with a balcony that overlooks the pool, and they granted our request. The room is equipped with a fridge for you to store things and free bottled water. The wireless internet works well, and is included in your stay.

The biggest downfall of this hotel is the AC. The room was so hot! The AC was on full blast all day long, and the room was always boiling. We assumed that the other rooms were the same because the old little AC unit just isn't all that powerful. So sleeping in these hot conditions was tough to say the least. If that was not bad enough, what made sleeping even harder were the random noises. Around 11 pm we heard someone next door doing construction work. And constantly starting at dawn, there was this very loud noise that sounded like a giant bird. It was the loudest and most annoying animal sound (?) that we ever heard. I really have no clue what it was, but it was extremely disruptive. I do not think it was coming from the hotel grounds, but definitely something to be aware of if you plan on sleeping.

The pool is small, but nice. I didn't try the spa, but it looked nice as well. The breakfast is really good! There are many choices to fill up on for a full days worth of activities. We were almost late to breakfast once, and the hotel front desk called us to remind us that it was closing. That was really nice of them! Before booking this hotel I had a lot of questions and they always responded back to me promptly via email. Lastly, the airport shuttle is definitely convenient and was on time.

Overall, this is a good hotel, but could use some improvements. If the AC worked better, and there was not a raptor noise at night, we would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the pool. Not right next to the pool. Not looking over the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alsitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenbali, General Manager at Green Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear "alsitalia" of Missouri

Many thanks for responding to my message through TripAdvisor messaging facility. Your disappointment in your review with your room's airconditioning was noted. The A/C was actually replaced a week after you left (a couple who stayed after you made a report to the hotel). Had you reported the A/C during your stay, we would have replaced it earlier for you. The hotel always make prompt follow up with A/C issue and in fact we always have a spare A/C for immediate replacement if the A/C is beyond repair.

Please accept my apology for the myna bird that woke you up at dawn. I thank you for bringing this up as the bird does not usually make noise that early. Further monitor will be made in case we receive noise complaint again and whether we shall remove the bird from the hotel premises.

Despite the above, I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay especially after staying at a much more expensive resort prior to staying with us. Your generous review of the hotel services were noted with many thanks as you spoke highly about the hotel's location, your room size, pool, airport shuttle service, Putu the driver, free wireless internet, breakfast choices and the front desk's call. Those are indeed essential for a budget hotel like Green Garden to be remembered. It was a pity that you did not have time to try our spa as it was also mentioned highly by most patrons.

Hopefully Green Garden Hotel will again be given another chance of having you on your next Bali holiday.

Sincerely,

Paulus Wibowo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the Green Garden Hotel for two nonconsecutive nights in Denpasar, Bali, during the third week of February 2014. Because our arrival flight to Bali was a red-eye flight from Manila, we arrived at the hotel about 3:00 a.m. in the morning of the day after we booked arrival. The staff knew we would be arriving late because I had mentioned it in the comments section of our online booking. The receptionist called out my name as we arrived by taxi (about $8 for the 15-minute drive from the airport). The room of our arrival night was large and clean with a very nice, comfortable king-size bed, a welcome sight at 3:00 a.m. The shower water was only tepid for this first night’s shower, but we survived. The bathtub was a bit old. Breakfast consisted of a small buffet, but entirely adequate. Wifi was available in the reception area. Our second night was at the end of our Bali trip, and we wanted to be close to the airport because our flight back to Manila left at 2:00 a.m. the next morning. This time we also had a large room, even nicer than our first night, and the shower water was hot! Both rooms were poolside, but this second stay was the only time we used the pool, which was quite nice. I really liked the Green Garden Hotel for its comfort, cleanliness, and nearness to the airport. Our rooms were very reasonable at about 65 USD per night. Highly recommended as a Bali arrival and departure hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brady V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The good, the bad the average and the excellent of Green Garden Hotel

The excellent-
I had 2 fabulous massages and told my friends who were staying else where to have a massage here
The good-
The staff are very friendly
Really clean everywhere
Room pretty good size
Nice balcony
Bed comfy and pillows too.
TV large and lots channels
Large fridge

The Bad-
It's SO noisy-can hear every conversation in the passage or stairs and people walking around in room above. Also (pretty bad) singer warbles thru rubbish songs from 6 til 10 nightly. Also construction noise from next door, which is not the hotels fault, but the guy with the grinder starts at 8 seven days a week
Bathroom is so small you can sit on the loo and clean your teeth at the same time. Impossible to stand in front of sink as that's where the toilet is
Hot water very doubtful. I only had 1 properly hot shower in a week at 8 pm. No chance at 6 am I was told to leave the tap running for 5 or 10 mins but it was still only warmish.
The average -
Breakfast-ok but repetitive
The view from the balcony is ok but just of the pool and a wall with climbers

I didn't swim in the pool or eat dinner here(because of the band)

I booked and paid for a room away from the restaurant and was told that would be fine, but was given a room 1 door away from restaurant. They offered to move me, but not until night 4 and then to a room with a view of the wall

Sorry- can't recommend this one

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenandBarbiedoBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenbali, General Manager at Green Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear "KenandBarbiedoBali" of Darwin,

Many thanks for staying with us last month and for reviewing the hotel services from "The good, The bad, The Average and to the The Excellence". I also appreciate your prompt responses to my messages.

Yes, I noticed that you made a room booking for all the following criteria:
1. UPSTAIRS ROOM.
2. WITH VIEW OF POOL.
3. AWAY FROM RESTAURANT.

We thought we had availed a suitable room for you which fit all those three. With only 9 rooms in total along each hotel corridor, your room was the 4th room away from the restaurant (not 1 door away as reviewed) on upper floor. At the time of booking, your room was the only pool view room available located on 2nd floor with a distance from the restaurant. Our reservation staff thought that the room was sufficient because starting from the 7th room, pool view is no longer available (in fact 8th and 9th rooms have no view at all). I am disheartened that your room's distance from the restaurant was still felt too close and the hotel was blamed for failing to avail an alternative room which fits all your 3 criteria after check-in.

The hotel runs with 2 hot water pumps and one of them is switched off from 1 am to 5 am (hence, the water is likely tepid during this time). Some adjustments were just made to avail an early morning shower with sufficient hot water, however, as from 6 am onwards. According to readings from our hot water meters, very rarely we find guests to take shower earlier than 6 am (and unfortunately you were one of those fewer guests who liked to have that early morning shower). Also, I noticed occasionally the hot water not being at its best during rush hours from 8 am to 9 am when hotel occupancy is tight (like last month). Other than those hours, the hot water should be plentiful.

As for the evening music in the restaurant, your feedback on the singer had been conveyed to the live music coordinator. Again, my apology that the singer was not to your liking.

Your feedback on the hotel facilities is much appreciated. Being a small budget hotel in prime tourist strip of Kuta, I realize that the hotel has limitations to meet everyone's liking. However, the special price you paid should indeed reflect our superior value as often mentioned by our repeat patrons in view of all the provisions we avail.

Despite the above, I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us in general and that our room facilities meet to your approval. Our staff also remembered you and were much delighted that you made a special mention for their friendliness and hard works to make your room clean throughout your stay.

Hopefully you will give us another chance to have you again to experience the improvements we've made since your recent stay as we are always striving for improvements.

Sincerely

Paulus Wibowo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Adhi Jaya Hotel
Adhi Jaya Hotel
#31 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Berry Glee Hotel
Berry Glee Hotel
#13 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#6 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vira Bali Hotel
The Vira Bali Hotel
#15 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Garden Hotel

Property: Green Garden Hotel
Address: Jl Kartika Plaza | South Kuta Beach, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Kuta
#19 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Garden Hotel is a small family-run hotel with prime location at Jalan Kartika Plaza. This hotel is a sister hotel from Green Garden Beach Resort & Spa and Febri's Hotel & Spa (all are located within the same district). Confirmation documents are required upon check-in. Please ensure to communicate your special request (if any) + estimated time of arrival with hotel reservations well prior to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Green Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Garden Tuban
Hotel Green Garden
Green Garden Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing