We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Bali Rani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bali Rani Hotel
Ranked #91 of 253 Hotels in Kuta
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We (a married couple in our early thirties) stayed for the last two weeks in July. We had a first floor pool view room with balcony.

The good:
-great location; just outside the busy centre of Kuta, near to many great restaurants, nearby mall is brilliant with loads of bargains, few minutes walk to beach, easy to explore the rest of the island
-peaceful-we were never woken up or disturbed
-there is a lift to the first and second floors which is great when you've got heavy luggage!
-traditional style hotel with a boutique feel
-attractive grounds
-friendly staff; everyone is polite, welcomes with a smile and remembers names
-great in house tour operator who organised three day trips with us. We had our own driver/air-conditioned car for a day for £25. He took us all over and provided great local insight!
-clean and tidy
-Right next door to a decent money exchange
-not too many mosquitos
-clean and good sized pool with comfortable beds and plentiful towels (the men who ran the towel counter were brilliant!)
- big room with huge bed and shower. The shower was powerful and bed really comfortable
-free water each day

The less than good:
-the pool bar/cafe...in the two weeks we were there, they were out of stock of coke zero and nachos. Not a big deal but the nachos were one of very few vegetarian options. If you don't stock them, don't have them on the menu! We ordered a salad once which arrived without the avocado it was described as having. When brought out, the waitress didn't apologise for it not being there and when I asked she just said, 'we are out'. This left the salad as a few lettuce leaves, tomatoes and cucumber with a slither of red pepper. We didn't bother again!
-there seemed some confusion over our 'hotel voucher' from our booking agent. We were asked a few times for it and showed them the itinerary etc that we had which they took copies of but it clearly wasn't what they were used to seeing!
-the credit card machine didn't work on the occasions we tried to use it to pay for things at reception
-although we always got a bed by the pool, they were becoming fewer in the second week as the hotel filled up
-after a small earthquake (4) no info was given by the hotel to inform or put our minds at rest. A sign up would have been useful
-although the TV guide said there was bbc news, we didn't get it (again not a huge problem but don't say it is there if not!)
-NO FREE WIFI! We found this odd as pretty much everywhere on the island had it! We don't sit on the Internet on holiday but with the 3 plane crashes that occurred around the world whilst we were there and the small earthquake, we did want it for information, e.g. Checking airline re-routing.

We would recommend this hotel whole heartedly on a room only basis. We had a great stay and were really pleased we booked the Bali Rani.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton A, General Manager at Bali Rani Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Leanne P,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the calm, relaxed atmosphere of the hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you had some unpleasant service from our staff. l have informed the manager concern to follow up and make sure it will not happen again in the future.

Kindly be advised that starting August 1, 2014, we provide FREE Wi-Fi in room and hotel area for all our guests.

Thank you and should you need my assistance for your next visit at Bali Rani, I am more than happy to assist you.

Best Regards,
Anton Adijaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    308
    112
    30
    10
See reviews for
240
228
43
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Well once again spent another fantastic time at the Bali Rani. Stayed here now 7 times over the past 7 years and never been let down. The service I receive at this hotel is outstanding. There is nothing quite like walking into an establishment and being greeted by everyone with your name each time you go there, it adds such a personal touch to your stay. Thanks Denny Karmela you always go that extra mile to make my stays an absolute pleasure, you are a great manager. To the lovely Kartika (captain restaurant ) you are a darling, great work. and to all the other staff from the restaurants, cleaning, pool, massage, maintenance your are all fantastic. Once again I would recommend the Bali Rani highly never had a bad stay and after 7 years that's recommendation in itself. Great work guys. Thanks Denny Karmela and his team.

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms are nice and located around a lovely tranquil Pond at front of the hotel. Lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SonyaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton A, General Manager at Bali Rani Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear SonyaMelbourne,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were friendly.

We look forward to welcome you back again on your 8th stay at Bali Rani Hotel in the near future.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Anton Adijaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I thought I booked the Bali rani a hotel I had stayed at a few other times but no I got this one apparently owned by the same people. Arrived and had to wait 30 minutes for our room to be made ready....after a 4 hour drive was pretty annoying especially since the hotel was no where near full.
Was given a room on the top floor beside what sounded like the neighbouring buildings air con units. Rooms are small bathroom also, the shower head is unusable and we had one of the lights beside the vanity mirror just fall off the wall exposing wires when I expected the fitting it was clearly glued not welded. We never used the pool as it was completely shaded and never saw it used at all. We also had the power go out in our room twice! We only had breakfast at the restaraunt which was OK but the staff ignored us we had to ask them to get the chef for the egg station and get our own coffee whilst the 2 floor staff stood there gosstaxes
The hotel has obviously been put up fast with little regard to quality of the fittings etc.
I would not stay here again.
Also I booked this room using Asian rooms I would not use them again either, the price they use to compare against other booking sites does not include taxes other sites do.

Room Tip: Book the Bali rani much superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaTuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton A, General Manager at Bali Rani Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear ScubaTuna,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I would like to apologise for the challenges that you faced with product & service of our hotel. I have discussed this problem with the managers and ask them to follow up with quick correction action and make sure it will not happen again in the future.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Anton Adijaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I do have to say that location wise, one of the best. It was quite inside the hotel even though it was in the middle of kuta. The pool was inviting after a hard day of meetings. And the rooms were decent for the price paid.

The downside is the food. It was atrocious. I was lucky to book only on BB. The buffet lacked the spread and tasteless. Was eager to taste a proper food of Indonesia, but was thoroughly let down. Thanks to the restaurants around, had a good meal.

Recommend to go room only. But getting breakfast in the morning will be a hassle.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank XenosW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton A, General Manager at Bali Rani Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear XenosW,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I would like to apologise for the challenges that you faced with our buffet breakfast.
I have informed the FB teams including Executive Chef to review breakfast menu and pay extra attention on the taste & quality of the food.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Anton Adijaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed at the Bali Rani in July with a group of 12, the location was excellent, the hotel & the rooms were clean. The breakfast was ordinary not much variety so it did get very boring after a week, the pool was clean & inviting but the staff, OMG very frustrating they could not understand English & could not get our orders right, this needs serious attention. We had no hot water for over a day & all we got told was "it will be fixed in 10 minutes" unexceptable for a 4 star hotel, u get what u pay for.
Denny was very helpful & professional, could not fault his service, shame he's staff dont lead by example
We were even charged 50c for a glass from our room that was left around the pool pfft
Overall don't think I'd stay here again pay a little extra & go to the dynasty for a family holiday

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank perthchrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton A, General Manager at Bali Rani Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear perthchrissie,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I would like to apologise for the challenges that you faced with our staff services and the hot water in room.

Kindly be informed that recently we just upgraded our water heater system to make a better and faster hot water supply in rooms. Anyway I have discussed this issue with the managers concerned to ensure that this is not repeated in future.

Again we are really sorry for this unexpected experience. We still do hope that you may consider to stay with us again in the near future, should you need my personal assistance for your next booking, please feel free to let me know.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Anton Adijaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A quiet and very pleasant hotel.. Close to a number of attractions. Rooms were clean and adequate for our needs. Pool was ideal with appropriate shaded areas. Staff very helpful and were ready to meet our requests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 361WAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton A, General Manager at Bali Rani Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear 361WAtraveller,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were friendly.

We look forward to welcome you back again at Bali Rani Hotel in the near future.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Anton Adijaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We booked three rooms for our stay for five days......It's an nice small property in kuta, in close proximity to malls and kuta beach.... upkeep of the hotel is good.... room service is efficient.... pool is also clean..... only problem was limited spread of breakfast buffet especially if you are vegetarian.... its a overall nice budget property....

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 144viveks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton A, General Manager at Bali Rani Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Vivek S,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back again to Bali Rani Hotel in the near future.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Anton Adijaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rani Hotel & Spa
The Rani Hotel & Spa
#80 of 253 in Kuta
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adhi Jaya Hotel
Adhi Jaya Hotel
#32 of 253 in Kuta
726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Kuta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#39 of 253 in Kuta
1,608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kuta Station Hotel
Kuta Station Hotel
#87 of 253 in Kuta
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Rani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Rani Hotel

Property: Bali Rani Hotel
Address: Kartika Plaza Street, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Kuta
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#48 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#62 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Rani Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your idea of Bali is all about fun, shopping, beach and great dining... Then Bali Rani is where you want to be. It's situated in the popular streets of South Kuta area, among an array of new international restaurants, water recreational park and other family entertainment, and right in front of the Discovery Shopping Mall, the biggest beach-front mall in Bali. Just a 10 minute drive from the airport, our modern facilities from spa, pool, restaurants to meeting & banquet facilities let you enjoy your stay whether for leisure or business at great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bali Rani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bali Rani
Bali Rani Kuta
Bali Rani Hotel Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing