We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but it is in Kuta”
Review of Poppies Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poppies Bali
Ranked #1 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2011

I agree with most of the positive reviews. Poppies Cottage is an oasis in the middle of the very crowded and chaotic Kuta area in Bali. Be aware, however, that there are differences among the cottages. The first one I stayed was #16, and it was excellent. The second one, #18, had exactly the same layout and features, but a very strong mildew smell. From reading reviews on tripadvisor, one learns that this seems to be very important to a lot of people. The room seem to be dry enough. My guess is that the wall outside, which separates the oasis from the madness, was responsible for the odour.

But back to the room: excellent size, with a large bed, and a separate seating area; lovely porch outside, where you can find fresh bananas and tea in the morning. The room is complemented by a large, perfectly clean open bathroom, with an excellent shower. The “open” bathroom is not that open; it is, of course, completely private, and the opening is protected by a screen. You might find the occasional little frog in your bathroom, but if that kind of encounter bothers you, you are travelling to the wrong place.

To finish off the room, an impressive array of gadgets: a full stereo system, a dvd player, and a nice lcd tv. The only thing missing, which, given the price range, I would take for granted, is a kettle, with coffee and tea. The tea that is left in the morning is a nice touch, but not enough.

The garden setting is incredible. Inside it you hear no noise of any type, even though there is nothing more than a wall separating you from all that Kuta has to offer. The small and deep pool looks like a natural pond, and makes for a very refreshing afternoon.

As nice as Poppies is though, one would have to ask why anybody would go to Kuta. I was just passing by, on my way to Lombok, and Poppies offers free airport transfer. If that is the case, fair enough. But as a place to visit and stay for longer, Kuta will drive anyone insane.

Bali is a great place to visit, but Kuta has reached its sell-by date many years ago. You can definitely skip it and focus on the beaches of the east side of the island, and the wonderful Ubud at the centre.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcn_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Manager at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Thanks for a most positive review. We would like to try to address the comments on the mildewy smell. As many of our beloved traditional thatched 'alang-alang' roofs are approaching the end of their normal life expectancy, and getting a bit thin, we are this year in the middle of a program to replace them all with new thatch. As it happens, room #18 had in fact just been fitted with a beautiful brand new roof, completed 21 February! We can only assume that the very strong smell referred to in that room was in fact that of a brand new grass roof, which does indeed take a while to dissipate.

We are grateful for the feedback, and will take extra steps to insure that these smells are kept to a minimum, as all our roofs are replaced during the next few months.

We do want to maintain our adherence to the use of traditional materials in Poppies, despite the enormous changes to Kuta all around us, referred to above. The occasional tiny frog in the bathroom (hope he got rescued!), or perhaps the heavy natural odour of new grass are all part of what makes Poppies more Balinese than so many of its surroundings.

It's also topical to mention that the provision of complimentary early morning tea and bananas on the porch is another of those old Bali traditions. Tea can be replaced by Bali coffee if preferred, and either can be provided at any time of day or night on request. For this reason we have not added a kettle inside the room.

We would also like to mention that our 2010 occupancy rate of over 90% and an average length of stay of 5 nights are testimony to the fact that many overseas visitors remain happy to holiday in Kuta, which must therefore have its many pluses as well as its minuses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

If you want relaxation with a pool thrown in this is the place. Once inside the walls you do not have to go out if you don't want to. The peace and quiet is deafing, although the frogs and birds are noisy. The food from Poppies Restaurant is to "die for". The staff are so friendly and helpful. The daily thermos of cold water and a separate one with tea and the bananas are excellent. Love the accommodation too. The pool is fantastic and there is plenty of room to swim laps too. There are no interruptions from traders etc, as they are not allowed inside the grounds.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PoppabobPortKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We have been to poppies 2 years in a row and about to leave for our 3rd time, I have never stayed anywhere else and have never wanted too, as poppies is absolutley beautiful and the service is fantastic. The rooms are also kept so neat and clean with an awesome aircon. Central to everything in Kuta. This place is paradise, Thanks Poppies!!! special mention to Ricco. See you soon....

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharyn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I just arrived back from staying @ Poppies and I must say I was very impressed. When I made my booking I was a little concerned after reading some review. Such a wide range of reviews from great to very poor. I am glad I didn't listen to the people who hated it. The cottage was a nice size with a very nice bathroom. The bed was comfortable, room clean and the grounds were beautiful and well maintained. It is so nice & peacefull there. The swimming pool is very nice. It is a easy walk to the beach, bars and restaurants. I recommend going to Papa Richards Hungarian Restaurant near the Harmony Hotel. The Goulash was very good and the pork was the most tender pork I have ever tasted. Expect a rather long dinner as the owner/cook/waiter enjoys talking with his customers, I really enjoyed it.
I really enjoyed stayingg at Poppies and will definitely stay there the next time I go there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pherse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

It is amazing- I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!
It is always my first preference, it is really has everything you want if you want to stay in Kuta!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JS5071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

If you want to stay in the heart of Kuta, Poppies Cottages would be our first choice of places to stay. It is in Poppies Lane 1, just off the main road, which is a perfect location for exploring the many eating & drinking places in Kuta. Once you enter the cottage grounds, it is another world. It is quiet, with no outside noise, the gardens are beautifully kept & since it is only a small resort, you rarely see or hear other guests.
The cottages are large, clean & well kept. They have high, thatched roofs that really help with the Bali feel of the place. The bathroom is massive & semi outdoor with protective mesh but part of the roof open to the elements. This is a really nice tropical touch & makes this hotel that bit differnet from others in Bali.
The staff are wonderful, from the driver who picks you up from the airport, reception staff who check you in, to housekeeping who clean the rooms & deliver the meals, all are friendly & courteous.
This is the only hotel we would book if wanting to stay in the heart of Kuta. We have already booked another room for 5 nights in July.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

A sweet little hotel with lovely owners, who have obviously made every effort to make it charming and comfortable. The paradox is that those who will appreciate a hotel like this may not appreciate the horrors Kuta. Nonetheless credit where it's due Yummy food.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliceandeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Amnaya Resort Kuta
Amnaya Resort Kuta
#2 of 251 in Kuta
801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#6 of 251 in Kuta
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
5,849 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Bali

Address: Poppies Lane 1 / 19 | Jalan Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range: £76 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppies Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After nearly four decades Poppies is still being discovered by those wishing to escape the glitz and glamour of grandiose hotels while expecting comfortable clean surroundings, friendly service, and Balinese charm. Spacious individual thatched cottages filled with collectors' antiques, Indonesian fabrics and a host of creature comforts nestle in beautifully kept gardens with ponds, waterfalls, towering coconut palms, and a stunning swimming pool built among rocks and sunbathing terraces, overhung with riotous bougainvillea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Poppies Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Bali Hotel Kuta
Poppies Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing