We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place in hectic Kuta”
Review of Poppies Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poppies Bali
Ranked #1 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

There is nothing much new to say to Poppies: its a peaceful oasis in Kuta with nice bungalows in a beautiful garden and friendly staff - a well earned number one. We will definitely return on our next trip to Bali. By the way the breakfast is also excellent and the restaurant is also to be recommended. Poppies also provides pick up from the airport.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank acapricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Kuta is a hectic place with a lot of pulse but when you enter the garden of Poppies it's like entering a quiet paradise, it's beautiful. The garden is cleverly planned, the terraces are very private and well separated from the neighbors. The cottages are nice and very well planned with a partly outdoor bathroom. The ideal number for the cottages are two persons but the planning leaves room for a baby cot and there is a sofa that can be turned in too a bed. Me and my wife were traveling with our three children 10 month, 4 and 6 years. Me and my wife were sleeping in the double bed, the youngest in the cot and the girls slept in the sofa bed. A bit tight but we would without a doubt stay like that again.
The staff is friendly and helpful and try to help in every way!
If you select to have breakfast it's not in the garden, you have to cross the lane and walk a few meters to Poppies restaurant that also is excellent in both service and food.
We stayed there in april 2011 so my review is a bit late...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gus69Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you want peace in idyllic surrounds this is the place to stay. Gardens and pool area welcome reprieve from crazy Kuta - could easily just stay put. Cottages tastefully decorated and have everything required - plenty of space - enjoyed the sunken shower/ bath in outdoor Bali bathroom.
All staff very friendly and helpful - our only complaint was slow internet - but just encouraged us to put down iPads/phones and just chill out. We would definitely return if we visit Kuta again and will recommend to others - thanks for memorable start to our Bali holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ShibbyandTank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at poppies, it's a real oasis in busy Kuta!
The cottages are spacious and clean. the pool is embedded in the beautiful garden, the staff was super helpful and last but not least;!the breakfast is great!
Only last downside is the slow wifi.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank JosefWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stepping through the gates to Poppies, takes you from the buzz of Kuta into a tranquil paradise. This has been our 4th stay here for 6 nights and we love it. From the first booking to check out the entire focus is on our comfort and enjoyment which shows the efficiency and experience of management.Due to Virgin airlines incompetence we had to change our booking several times, no problem for Poppies. Attention to detail was impeccable, little things like quick check in, rooms pre air-conditioned, daily newspaper, hot tea/cold water and bananas outside our room every day and a fridge with no annoying mini bar, however they can fill it with drinks of your choice on request at local prices. The grounds are well manicured and thoughtfully designed making each cottage private. The pool is delightful and once again designed with the guest in mind. We experienced the best wifi of our trip here, no constant logging on, just what the guest wants. All of the staff are super friendly and particular thanks to Ms Nyoman Melati for excellent customer service, that is why will always come back and highly recommend Poppies Cottages.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rodger41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights, the cottages are beautiful. Enjoyed a nice relaxing stay here, the rooms are very clean, and I liked the private outdoor bathroom area. I slept very well here. The service was really good, I needed a taxi at 4am, and they were ready and waiting for me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattyboyLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here a few years ago and just loved it, beautiful atmosphere, friendly people. The bed was amazing huge king size carved wood. The shower was in a fernery, the verandah lovely white marble style tiles and right out front of my room was a gorgeous swimming pool. I will stay here again

Stayed: August 2013
Thank QueenslandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Amnaya Resort Kuta
Amnaya Resort Kuta
#2 of 251 in Kuta
801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#6 of 251 in Kuta
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
5,845 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Bali

Address: Poppies Lane 1 / 19 | Jalan Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range: £76 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppies Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After nearly four decades Poppies is still being discovered by those wishing to escape the glitz and glamour of grandiose hotels while expecting comfortable clean surroundings, friendly service, and Balinese charm. Spacious individual thatched cottages filled with collectors' antiques, Indonesian fabrics and a host of creature comforts nestle in beautifully kept gardens with ponds, waterfalls, towering coconut palms, and a stunning swimming pool built among rocks and sunbathing terraces, overhung with riotous bougainvillea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Poppies Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Bali Hotel Kuta
Poppies Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing