We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place”
Review of Poppies Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poppies Bali
Ranked #1 of 254 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I just arrived back from staying @ Poppies and I must say I was very impressed. When I made my booking I was a little concerned after reading some review. Such a wide range of reviews from great to very poor. I am glad I didn't listen to the people who hated it. The cottage was a nice size with a very nice bathroom. The bed was comfortable, room clean and the grounds were beautiful and well maintained. It is so nice & peacefull there. The swimming pool is very nice. It is a easy walk to the beach, bars and restaurants. I recommend going to Papa Richards Hungarian Restaurant near the Harmony Hotel. The Goulash was very good and the pork was the most tender pork I have ever tasted. Expect a rather long dinner as the owner/cook/waiter enjoys talking with his customers, I really enjoyed it.
I really enjoyed stayingg at Poppies and will definitely stay there the next time I go there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pherse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
There are newer reviews for Poppies Bali
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2011

It is amazing- I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!
It is always my first preference, it is really has everything you want if you want to stay in Kuta!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JS5071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

If you want to stay in the heart of Kuta, Poppies Cottages would be our first choice of places to stay. It is in Poppies Lane 1, just off the main road, which is a perfect location for exploring the many eating & drinking places in Kuta. Once you enter the cottage grounds, it is another world. It is quiet, with no outside noise, the gardens are beautifully kept & since it is only a small resort, you rarely see or hear other guests.
The cottages are large, clean & well kept. They have high, thatched roofs that really help with the Bali feel of the place. The bathroom is massive & semi outdoor with protective mesh but part of the roof open to the elements. This is a really nice tropical touch & makes this hotel that bit differnet from others in Bali.
The staff are wonderful, from the driver who picks you up from the airport, reception staff who check you in, to housekeeping who clean the rooms & deliver the meals, all are friendly & courteous.
This is the only hotel we would book if wanting to stay in the heart of Kuta. We have already booked another room for 5 nights in July.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

A sweet little hotel with lovely owners, who have obviously made every effort to make it charming and comfortable. The paradox is that those who will appreciate a hotel like this may not appreciate the horrors Kuta. Nonetheless credit where it's due Yummy food.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliceandeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

IF you want to stay right in the center of Kuta (and that's a big IF you can consider separately) then this is a lovely, well tended and friendly hotel. We stayed in the cottages which is a lush, quiet oasis amid the hustle and bustle of Kuta. There aren't many guests, so never any competition for the poolside seats. There's a good level of amenities (nice pool though no spa, 24 hour room service, internet wifi and room). A nice touch is that you can have breakfast delivered to your room. The cottages are large and airy, kept clean. The mini bars are not pre-stocked but there's prompt 24 hr room service (cheaply). I saw some other hotels for similar prices in the area and this was the nicest. It's not a party hotel (if that's what you want) but a nice, low key place to escape from the party.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemima33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I have travelled to Bali for 19 holidays over 25 years. In 1985 a friend recommended that I try Poppies restaurant and I"ve eaten breakfasts there ever since. I have also had many dinners, lunches and cocktails in the beautiful and friendly garden setting....all excellent!
Until this year I had not stayed at the cottages, but had wandered in to check them out
several times. In 2010 a friend and I finally booked Poppies and were not disappointed from the friendly and welcoming pick up at the airport to the farewell by many of the staff on our last day on Dec 23!
The cottages were just gorgeous, clean, well maintained and with an excellent airconditioner and fridge! The beds were comfy and had great pillows and quilts! The bathroom was just gorgeous and the shower hot!! We loved the extra touches eg frangipanis, bed turned back, mozie coils daily, ice delivered to the room even when it rained, newspaper, bananas and cold water each day!! We love3d the front porch which was spacious and private. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The pool was in a beautiful garden setting and well kept. The grounds were perfectly manicured by the hard working garden staff.....and the cost was reasonable. I guess some people are just hard to please!! We would both stay there again and have already shown the fotos and recommended it to many friends...hopefully they won't book when we're trying to get a room though!! Thankyou Poppies Management and Staff for a fantastic holiday :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poppies55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Thought i would give this ago only needed to stay overnight as i was moving onto Thailand the next morning. The driver picked me up from the airport on time even though my fight was early. Terrible traffic all the way to the hotel, it took over a hour. (Sunday night flight arrival 9pm).

I will rate the cleanliness 5 out of 10. The bathroom had mould growing all over the indoor bathroom brickwall. As soon as you entered the room you could smell mould. You could only miss this if you were colourblind. Cottage number 23 had the issue.

Slow internet was a pain.

I couldnt fault the rest of the hotel except some more lighting at night in the grounds would be good. Especially if arriving late at night and dont know your way around.

Breakfast was great and driver to the airport got us there in under 15 minutes and again, was on time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lionroar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.4 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Amnaya Resort Kuta
Amnaya Resort Kuta
#2 of 254 in Kuta
733 reviews
0.8 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#6 of 254 in Kuta
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#21 of 254 in Kuta
5,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Bali

Address: Poppies Lane 1/19, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 254 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range: £74 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppies Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After nearly four decades Poppies is still being discovered by those wishing to escape the glitz and glamour of grandiose hotels while expecting comfortable clean surroundings, friendly service, and Balinese charm. Spacious individual thatched cottages filled with collectors' antiques, Indonesian fabrics and a host of creature comforts nestle in beautifully kept gardens with ponds, waterfalls, towering coconut palms, and a stunning swimming pool built among rocks and sunbathing terraces, overhung with riotous bougainvillea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Poppies Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Bali Hotel Kuta
Poppies Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing