We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel, avoid at all costs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mega Resort & Spa
Ranked #124 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awful hotel, avoid at all costs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel looked lovely on the internet but there were nothing but problems.
The breakfast buffet looks good but tastes awful.
There's nightclub music blaring at the pool all the time so swimming's no fun.
The bathroom design is nice but the toilet in the room was filthy when we checked in, as were the public area toilets.
The bedsheets were stained.
The only scooter the hotel had available to rent had broken helmets and was in dangerous condition.
The hotel's not within walking distance of kuta beach, it's located on a busy autoroute that's not easy to drive on.
We were quoted 350,000IDR for a drop off to the hotel but a taxi cost only 40,000IDR, little more than a tenth of the price!
We booked double occupancy for 2 adults (couple) and were given 2 single beds. When i requested a double the manager was immediately defensive and agressive and actually took out the list of terms and conditions to tell me tough luck.
We would have checked back out only there was no refund possible due to hotel policy.
The bedroom windows don't open so the rooms are stuffy and the place smells like a hospital.
In short it was a bad experience and I hope nobody else will make the same mistake we did when we booked this hotel based on the photos!

Room Tip: the best rooms available are .... in ANY other hotel in the area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank el e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    156
    118
    38
    29
See reviews for
81
157
33
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for a week after my partner was admitted to BIMC hospital after an accident. For the price it's extremely good value considering you get a pretty decent breakfast buffet as well. The location isn't great - far from the beach and there's not a lot to do around the proximity. Rooms/hotel in general have a bachelor-esque/nightclub vibe. Spacious bathroom (rarity in Bali) and decent size, clean rooms of average quality. Pool is lovely and room service food is surprisingly great (chicken schnitzel sandwich A MUST). When my partner was released and joined me, the staff were very attentive and accommodating to his needs (eg. liquid diet due to fractured jaw). Overall, great value for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diyanti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Hotel staff friendly, food excellent and decor lovely this is a modern hotel opposite a shopping centre but needed a taxi into kuta. The pool vas very dirty with green algie on the base throughout our stay. We used the pool in the grand mega two doors down the street. Sauna was great but the spa never staffed. The rooms did not have any drawers or shelves and only a small wardrobe. Also in the bathroom there was nowhere to put toothpaste/ soap etc near the basin. and no rooms have an opening window or a balcony.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Initially found the hotel quite welcoming. Staff upon check in were helpful and pleasant.
Room was pleasant visually. Though a foul aroma was present for the duration of stay forcing it to be shortened. Staff were pleasant and adequate. But did not go above and beyond. Didn't try spa as was fully booked. Food average, decor average, staff average, rooms poor, location about a 5-7 minute taxi from Central kuta. Easy to find better in kuta.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brett81Brett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Rooms look nice but a bit old and there was not anywhere to place the soup or toiletries above or beside the basin.
The Deluxe Pool View room was small in size as to much space is allocated to bathroom.
Toilet and basin themselves were not clean.
Breakfast was perfect and staff were great and hospitable !
The pool was also great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tiket.com

Helpful?
Thank Aras M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Rooms and bathrooms are of same size. Rooms don't have enough space to walk around.Good Customer Service. Clean hotel. Bathroom and Shower should have air freshener as even in unused room we can feel weird smell.

Room Tip: If you are planning with toddler or infants in a single room, Look for different room or choose anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ish285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bekasi, Indonesia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Grand Mega Resort has a beautiful and interesting interior concept. Room size was ok, and we really love the large bathroom & walk in closet. There's a cozy bathtub and television. Staff was really nice and helpful. Breakfast was great, there’s a lot of menus and they were delicious. Unfortunately, the kids pool was not well maintained, it’s a little bit dirty. So, my 2 years old son swim has to swim with us in the adults pool. Overall, my family and I spent a great time in this hotel, we’re definitely stay in this hotel again once we go to Bali.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tiket.com

Helpful?
Thank Yantri Abshar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Jineng Resort
1.2 mi away
Ramada Bali Sunset Road Kuta
0.4 mi away
Park Regis Kuta Bali
Park Regis Kuta Bali
#54 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fontana Hotel Bali
Fontana Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Rainforest
1.6 mi away
H Sovereign Bali
H Sovereign Bali
#46 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mega Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mega Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Mega Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan By Pass Ngurah Rai No. 234 | Simpang Siur, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#78 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mega Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mega Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mega Resort & Spa Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing