We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun & interesting cooking class!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of Bali

Taste of Bali
Ranked #4 of 10 Classes & Workshops in Kuta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Don't miss it, come and learn Balinese cuisine and culture of bali to more experience while holiday in bali.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun & interesting cooking class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a great afternoon with Kadek and his family. He picked us up on our hotel and after a 20 minutes drive we reached his home.
First we learned how to do traditional flower basket offering with palm leaves and different blossoms. Then we folded baskets for the rice cooking.
Afterwards, we prepared the different sauces which are used for the various soups, fish & meat meals which we cooked together afterwards.
We have learnt a lot about balines ingredients and recipes and had a big course of delicious meals.
If you have a free afternoon, we totally recommend this class as an introduction to balinese local food and traditions.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JosefWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So well organised and so much food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

One of the best days in Bali for me was doing this class. It was very well organised with typed up recipes so you could take notes. The food was absolutely beautiful and there was plenty of it. Learning how to make the Hindu offerings was good fun and seeing the family compound where Kayan and get family lived was fascinating. 10 out of 10

Helpful?
Thank Anita101m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
1 review
“the best cooking class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

this is in a family village, and the most informative class, delicious food, and so easy to follow, with recipes to take home and also extra recipes were thrown in during the morning... i would recommend this to everyone

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank annieangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great day cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Spent the day cooking a banquet of Balinese inspired dishes. Well run cooking class. Started off visiting a local market, then making the Hindu offerings you see out the front of all the houses and temples. Cooked lots of different dishes (14 in total) using 3 different bases.

Even our kids (8 and 6) joined in.

Best to skip your hotel's breakfast buffet if doing the morning class.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic time cooking 14 dishes. Staff were lovely and knowledgable. We cooked with our 2 children and this was no problem. Left stuffed full of delicious Balinese food

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Taste of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing