We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“most amazing owners i have seen!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pondok Satwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pondok Satwa
Ranked #167 of 280 Kuta B&B and Inns
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“most amazing owners i have seen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

place is cheap so don't expect the top service!
but i would highly recommend it. i had 7weeks in Bali and it was far from most friendliest owner place i stayed. don't be shy and talk to people who run the home stay they will help you best possible way they can! they brought us to some real local food places nice day trips around Bali and many many more thing! Mr.Made is the best guy i met in Bali and he will always be number one as soon as i arrive in Bali next time! thanks for everything

Room Tip: family room is good size and the newest from the lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15dominoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is good for value travelers. It is decent, clean, and well managed. We got 2 regular rooms, and the family room (separate building), spending a fair 3 days in this hotel while exploring Kuta, Tabanan, and southern Bali (the beaches). Despite checking in rather really late at 11pm, they still kept our reservations in place.

Interestingly, according to my professor friend in Bali who met us up in the hotel, the set-up of the inn follows the traditional lay-out of old Balinese house compounds.

Looking for this hotel can be a bit tricky as it is located in a small alley. Location, however, is not bad as it is a stone-throw away from the busy Legian Street and some 10 metres away from the closest Circle K mart and some small bars and restaurants.

The regular rooms are ok, equipped with TV, closet and AC. The family room has hot water shower. For a reasonable price, guests can avail of unlimited Bali coffee and a complimentary breakfast of jaffle and freshly cut fruits.

Wayan, one of the staff, in very accommodating, always ready to respond to any of our requests.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theberntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I booked a room for two nights and contacted the hotel to say I'd be landing in the night (2am) so I asked them to keep my reservation. They answered kindly that there wouldn't be any problem. I contacted them again the day before my arrival to remind them, again, no problem.
When I arrived at 2.30am, there wasn't anybody there. I waited and one hour later someone showed up and told me that tegu had rented my room because they gave priority to people who wanted to pay it cash (I had booked it on booking.com).

All the hotels around we're full because it was the Christmas period and middle of the night. I had to sleep at seven eleven with my luggage until I could check in another hotel the day after.
NEVER GO THERE!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moflasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Because it was one of the cheapest places in Kuta, we booked this place coming from cambodia. When we arrived in the evening we found out that it was located in a very tiny alley. We had to navigate between weird locals who were having a drink in the middle of the street and making unwanted remarks. When we arrived at our room we were very dissappointed. The walls were just cardboard, the sheets were dirty, the matrasses damp and the bathroom was just a hose coming from the wall. Next day we got up early to find Fat Yogi, a far better place including a TV and amazing swimming pool for almost the same price. Our advise: avoid Pondok Satwa at all costs!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvdK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

The location of this place is great, but that really is the only good thing. The rooms are dirty, damp with a broken bed and the bathroom smells like a mixture between egg and vomit. Felt lile you were becoming unclean in the shower which is just a high up tap. Staff were loud very early in the morning, with two sitting on the seats on our room patio having a chat! Then the temple speaker blasting out at 8.30am after the worst nights sleep I have had in a month.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Great spot in family compound. Village setting within Kuta. Owner Made is an amiable and influential chap. New rooms (7) parallel to Jl Legian. Warungs massage places hotels Great to be off the main drag and so cheap and friendly. JAZ restaurant 20 metres away. Good spot to eat with cold beer and pool table

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

This was one of the nicest places we have stayed in south east Asia. The rooms were clean and comfortable with everything you needed plus air con which is always a bonus in Bali. The family that run the place are so lovely, helpful and friendly. It is a good breakfast and easy walking distance to the main roads and beach. It was a pleasure to stay here and we hope to come back some day soon. Watch out for the ten year old chess champion, he is very hard to beat!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bali Raya Kuta
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali
0.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#23 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bali Dynasty Resort
Bali Dynasty Resort
#16 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Bali Kuta Resort
0.0 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Satwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Satwa

Property: Pondok Satwa
Address: JI Benesari Gang Satwa No.2 Kuta Bali, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 280 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Hotel Class:2 star — Pondok Satwa 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Pondok Satwa Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing