We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic hotel!”
Review of Fontana Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fontana Hotel Bali
Ranked #36 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Superb find! We were 3 finds looking for a last minute, inexpensive hotel in Bali! We foiund this for very reasonable price on bookings.com. We were picked up from the airport with cold towels and water. The family room was clean and the facilities excellent. The pool was great and the breakfast fantastic.
The staff at the hotel couldn't do enough for us. They have a fantastic shuttle service 3 times a day that can drop you in Legian or Kuta, making up for the location.

I think in the next few months the hotel will really take off. It has only been open a few months, I feel they could charge more than they do!

One of the best hotels we have stayed in and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus B, Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Greetings Kim N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable stay experience with us. We Love to hear that your recent stay was enjoyable, will definitely share with the team as they will be delighted to have enhanced your stay.

Our uniqueness is one of our strength in amaze our guest designed to accommodate a modern Balinese lifestyle experience in an elegant way, while we still maintaining the authentic feel of Balinese atmosphere and nature.

We will look forward to welcoming you back and amaze you with another memorable experience.

Best Regards,


Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

What do you expect from a hotel?
Before checking in your room, the first impression from the front desk staffs will lead to the whole stay experience at the hotel.

I was late checking in due to my flight was delayed caused by one airplane landing failure. Everyone in Bali and Indonesia was quite surprised with the news.

In short I arrived at the hotel safely and was warm welcomed by the front office staffs. They asked me if I am OK. And yes, I was in a good shape :)

Checking in the Superior room, I was amazed by the room size. It is big with a King sized bed as requested. The room is spacious with modern design. I really like it. The bed itself can fit in 3 persons I guess ( if not big for sure ). Room is super clean with nice lightings.

The bathroom is provided with basic amenities. It has rain and hand shower :)

I won't be doubtful of my sleep quality in my room. It was superb.

The access to this hotel is easy, around 20 mins from airport if not jammed. Access to Kuta or Legian area is not far as well. Need to take taxi to get around though. Just ask a favor from front desk officers to call taxi for you,

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at Fontana Hotel Bali. The staffs really served me with heart and always smile.

Room Tip: Superior room is big enough. If you are traveling with family. Get a family room. I bet you will lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wenbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus B, Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Greetings wenbin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable stay experience with us. We Love to hear that your recent stay was enjoyable, will definitely share with the team as they will be delighted to have enhanced your stay.

Our uniqueness is one of our strength in amaze our guest designed to accommodate a modern Balinese lifestyle experience in an elegant way, while we still maintaining the authentic feel of Balinese atmosphere and nature.

We will look forward to welcoming you back and amaze you with another memorable experience.

Best Regards,


Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Nice clean new hotel and room. I spend 5 nights in the first floor. The second morning around 7.30 some noisy coming from the second floor exactly above our room.. confirmed that somebody clean the room and dragging something frequently. .. noisy stop after I complained three times..then the fourth morning around 8, noisy come again but this time from the employees laughing and talking really loud from the basement.. place where they can chatt and rest. Again, stop after I complained...

Since the wall really tin, suggested not to make embarrass sound from the room and higher floor is recommended.

Breakfast it's okay but the plate so dirty.

Lots of employees around the restaurant, really not nice considering only few guesses in the hotel.

Go back ? I prefer to choose other new hotel in bali.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adityabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus B, Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Greetings adityabr,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable stay experience with us.

Your comments are great input to improving our product and service, do apology of the inconvenience during your stay. but trust that our uniqueness of product and service has amazed your stay.

We will look forward to welcoming you back with the improvement we made.


Regards,


Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

First time I stayed there with my friend.
This hotel is new one maybe opend at 2012?
Hotel is very clean and fashionable hotel. there is not traditional type but very modern.
If you prefer to stay modern hotel in bali, I think Fontana is very nice.
In side the room, there is not so big but it is enough to sleep and relax there.

All of front staff is very kind and helpful.
They speak in English very well and some staff can speak Japanese little bit.

I think hotel location is not so nice.
little bit far from Kuta area...
They have shuttle service, only for drop...
I think it is better to change drop and pick up service--

totally Fontana hotel is nice....
Hope I will stay there again:)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asami1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus B, Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Greetings asami1228,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable stay experience with us. We Love to hear that your recent stay was enjoyable, will definitely share with the team as they will be delighted to have enhanced your stay.

We understand that most of the tourist coming to Bali looking for leisure and Fontana support both leisure and business activities in Bali, for that Fontana provide accommodation in Kuta Area without having to fight the crowd. The Concept of Fontana Hotel Bali is providing an oasis in the central Kuta, which is nowadays familiar with crowd and busy situation where most of the tourist felt annoyed during their resting time. The shuttle service provide for drop and pick up, hence vehicles are not allowed to stop for more than 5 minutes in Legian area to minimize the traffic, thats why the pick up will be in the drop zone on the estimated timeframe.

Rest assured our hotel are strive to improve the product and service for our guest, trust that we will be able to welcome you back on another memorable experience.


Regards,


Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel staff is very friendly and hospitable. We had a very pleasant experience the day before we were going to check out. The person in charge at the front desk assisted us very well. We were unaware of the fact that at the airport we would have to pay 1,50,000 Rp. per person on departure. So this person informed us about it and helped us out efficiently. The staff at the hotel in general always carried a smile on their face.
The food at the Porta Bella Restaurant is amazing especially when prepared by the executive Chef. Since we were vegetarians he went out of his way to customize our requirements. We really enjoyed the food out there. But when the same food was prepared by some other chef it was very bad. The unpleasant thing in this hotel were the MOSQUITOES. It really made our dining experience extremely unpleasant.
The variety of food served at the breakfast buffet is extremely limited for vegetarians. Upon request also no extra vegetarian food was served. We were so bored of eating the same one bread (eggless) that on last day we preferred to skip the breakfast. Cleanliness is not maintained in the breakfast area.
The room service is extremely unsatisfactory. The rooms, bathrooms are not cleaned properly. The bathroom amenities were changed only upon the request.
Please watch out before entering into the swimming pool. I got badly bruised because of the sharp edges in the pool.
The rooms are not sound proof. This was very much disturbing especially when the house keeping people are on their way to clean the rooms.
If you have budget constraints you can opt for this hotel. Otherwise there are many good hotels near the Kuta Beach with a excellent view. In a way you will also save on transportation and time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajvi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus B, Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Greetings Rajvi M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable stay experience with us. Trust that one of the management team has communicate to you and solved the challenge on the spot. Your comment is the first comments in term of the cleanliness problem, thus any input are welcome for us to strive in improving our product and service.

Do apology for the some inconvenience experience during your stay, as for the mosquito trust you understand in the tropical country mosquito is one of the inhabitant bugs, our effort in preventing the mosquito is really intensive, but you may still found 1 or 2 in the tropical country as Bali. The food we served comes with several choices, starts from bakeries, salads, cereals, pancakes for the breakfast choices for the veggie, and as you mentioned that our menu of the restaurant is adjustable for every guest with special request subject to the availability.

Trust that we tried to provide best service for our guest, unfortunately our location wasn't suit for your interest. We understand that most of the tourist coming to Bali looking for leisure and Fontana support both leisure and business activities in Bali, for that Fontana provide accommodation in Kuta Area without having to fight the crowd. The Concept of Fontana Hotel Bali is providing an oasis in the central Kuta, which is nowadays familiar with crowd and busy situation where most of the tourist felt annoyed during their resting time.

Looking forward to welcome you back for the improvements we made.


Best Regards,


Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This is surprisingly very good hotel. I arrived late, check-in was smooth, took few seconds, everything was well prepared in advance. Reception person was very helpful and informative. Room was nice, cosy and warm feeling. Finishes are good. Overall, I would say better than many five star branded hotels i have stayed before.

Keep up.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suresh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus B, Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Greetings Suresh V,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable stay experience with us. We Love to hear that your recent stay was enjoyable, will definitely share with the team as they will be delighted to have enhanced your stay.

Our uniqueness is one of our strength in amaze our guest designed to accommodate a modern Balinese lifestyle experience in an elegant way, while we still maintaining the authentic feel of Balinese atmosphere and nature.

We will look forward to welcoming you back and amaze you with another memorable experience.

Best Regards,


Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Great hospitality from the staffs
Considered a very new hotel
Loved the room arrangement. It feels right in terms of size (and price..)
Check-in was a breeze as well as checkout.
You will need to checkout the gym as it is located on the top of their roof. It was quite a tranquility of its own when you exercise by yourself there since the gym was near their spa facility.
My daughter loved the pool. Since it was pretty quite when we were staying there, it will pretty much like our own private pool. Make no mistake that, as far as maintainance, pool size, it stands well compared to those in 5 star hotels.
Location was not exactly in the crowd area. However, this is what we love about this hotel. You can avoid the crowd for a while, when you can find one just 10 min by cab to the kuta beach.

They do have shuttles going to some points on a certain shedule.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namipra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus B, Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Greetings Pak Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable stay experience with us. We Love to hear that your recent stay was enjoyable, will definitely share with the team as they will be delighted to have enhanced your stay.

Our uniqueness is one of our strength in amaze our guest designed to accommodate a modern Balinese lifestyle experience in an elegant way, while we still maintaining the authentic feel of Balinese atmosphere and nature.

We will look forward to welcoming you back and amaze you with another memorable experience.

Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#13 of 251 in Kuta
696 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#4 of 251 in Kuta
856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kuta Central Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
1.1 mi away
Harper Kuta
Harper Kuta
#26 of 251 in Kuta
1,057 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Regis Kuta Bali
Park Regis Kuta Bali
#58 of 251 in Kuta
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Hotel Bali

Address: Jl. Dewi Sri no. 68, Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kuta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#26 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: £20 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fontana Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Hotel Bali, a PHM Collection offers an affordable Balinese lifestyle experience in an elegant way. A collaboration masterpiece by environmentalist architect, Popo Danes, and the former Super Potato Tokyo's designer, Nobuyuki Narabayashi, it is uniquely designed to accommodate a modern lifestyle in Bali while maintaining the authentic feel of Balinese nature. Located right at the center of Kuta area, just one block away from Legian area and 20 minutes away from the Ngurah Rai International airport, Fontana Hotel Bali, a PHM Collection gives you an opportunity to experience the true Kuta without having to fight the crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fontana Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing