We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Friendly”
Review of Fontana Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fontana Hotel Bali
Ranked #45 of 340 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Value and Friendly”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel using an Expedia deal, which included flights from Perth. The total price was extraordinarily low, but the value we received once at the hotel was amazing. We originally had a lead-in room in the package, but it was quite small for a ten day stay, so we decided to ask the Manager for an upgrade to a the suite. This was done efficiently and was also extremely good value.
The suite egg bath, shower area, bed and lounge are all fantastic, and those extras definitely contributed to us having a more relaxing holiday. We would recommend that the bathroom towels be upgraded, as several were looking a little threadbare and grey.
During our stay we found all the staff extremely friendly, to the point where everyone, from the front desk, to maintenance, to housekeeping always greeted us with a smile. We loved the pool area and found it to be very clean. More working sun beds would be a good idea though.
The hourly shuttle into Legian (9am - 9pm) dropped us very close to Melasti Rd (and Garlic Lane) for shopping and restaurants. A taxi back was only $3 and easy to find, so not an inconvenience at all. There is a Circle K convenience store across the road from the Fontana, and we went there for supplies like extra soft drinks, snacks and toiletries (the minibar does provide 2 x bottled water, 1 x Pepsi, 1 x 7-Up, and orange and an apple juice popper, 1 x kitkat and some peanuts each day).
The hotel restaurant and coffee shop are excellent and well priced. We enjoyed the Friday night grill, and also the half price pastries after 9 pm two days a week. We found breakfast to be fine and appreciated the egg station and freshly made pancakes.
The wifi in the hotel is excellent and can be accessed from the pool and restaurant also. We had no problems connecting several devices at once.
A special mention to Eko the manager and Yoppi at the Front Desk/Concierge for your assistance and can-do attitude throughout our stay. We loved it and we'll see you next time!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite... it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradtez1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Front Office Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Bradttez1968,

Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali and Thank you for your recent stay with us, We are very happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable.

Your appreciation to our staff is much appreciated, definitely will share to all of them and we do believe that they will very happy and always extend their best service to all of the loyal customer like you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bali.


Best Regards,


Eko Wijana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    261
    84
    13
    17
See reviews for
163
268
62
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week from the 15th Feb 2014
While this hotel is new and shiny it has some issues which you simply cannot overlook
we booked a standard room and were given a room on the third floor which overlooked roofs, had no verandah, the window did not open, so i got us an upgrade to a ground floor room overlooking the pool. the room was clean and was nicely located about 10 foot from the pool, which cost me about $20 per night extra, no problem.
My main issues are with the noise, that some people who have no consideration for others have loud phone conversations in the corridor at 2am, that people have parties in their room till 4am , is not managements fault however as the place is pretty much tiled from roof to deck every sound echoes very very well
It would be nice if management put up some signs advising consideration for people sleeping.
The hotel pipes whitney houston style music throughout the hotel from 7am to 10pm which is just a little more than annoying, we did ask that they not turn it on (there was a great big speaker right outside our room ) until a half decent hour, which i must admit they did begrudgingly did.
If you sit on the toilet in your room and someone enters the bathroom they are going to break your kneecaps because the door opens up straight on to the front of the toilet.
the bathroom is not particularly functional with a small vanity bench and a large bowl basin stuck on top there is not much room for anything else.
Having said all that, we did somewhat enjoy our stay , even with the lack of sleep, but it could have been so much better.

Room Tip: Coffee shop makes great coffee and is a nice place to chill
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robandkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Front Office Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear robandkaye,

Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali and Thank you for staying with us recently.
We give you a very high appreciation to spend your time to giving us a review and all of your comments are very valuable for us.

We regret that your stay was disturbed and annoyed by the noise from the other guest whilst you really need to take a rest. We are from the management is still on progress to installing the soundproof to avoid and minimize the noise, hope it will be finished soon.
Regarding the toilet set up in the bathroom, it has been designed since the beginning and could not be changed.

Trust that overall of your stay was enjoyable, we are confidence to welcome you back on your next visit to Bali.


Best Regards,


Eko Wijana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Pleasant 6 nights stay.
Room was tidy and reasonably clean. Could improve by paying attention to details,the shower walls could do with a good scrub.
Shower water pressure was terrible and water temperature was erratic.

Very comfortable bed. Linens crisp and clean.

Breakfast was enjoyable, with a rotating menu every 2nd day.

Swimming pool was fantastic, clean and well maintained.

All staff were friendly and very helpful.

Location a little out of the way, free shuttle available to melasti street legian only, would be great if the free shuttle service extends to big shopping malls like Kuta Square or Discovery. Blue bird taxis can be easily arranged by the friendly reception staff though.

Overall good value for money and would stay again if the price is right.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Front Office Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear MelbPam,

Thank you for staying with us recently and taking your time to give and write a review for Fontana Hotel Bali. Trust that your comments has been shared to department concern to be taking action immediately. We will definitely always keep our standard and learning something for your comments as we know that it will make us even better.

Looking forward to see you on your next visit to Blai and stay with Fontana Hotel Bali.


Best Regards,



Eko Wijana
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I was on a family vacation with my dad and this place was simply brilliant for us. I will admit that it's far from the main Kuta area but that was what we wanted as it made pick-up and drop-off easy and quick (it's not as badly blocked up by traffic as main Kuta town).

The food at the Italian restaurant is beautiful and the staff we very friendly and helpful. The amenities are well maintained and the rooms are perfectly comfortable.

We would definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Front Office Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Roshy21,

We are glad and happy to hear that your recent stay with us was enjoyable. We will commit to keep maintain the standardization of service and will amaze you with another memorable experience with Fontana Hotel Bali.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and your family on your next vacation.

Best Regards,


Eko Wijana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

My fiance is really picky in choosing hotel for our holiday. He wants us stay in pleasant hotel and less complain base on tripadvisory. And among 3 hotels he choose I told him to book Fontana. Decided with random, and hope this hotel will be great for us to stay. And yess it is amazing during stay in Fontana. The receptionists r really nice and helpfull, they keep smile all day. The housekeeping doing really great job and helpfull as well. Second day we stay we had photo shoot for pre wedding. And I need iron board to ironing all our clothes. First I called them, and they say not available coz someone used it. Second time I called they said will bring to our room soon. But not about a minute later someome coming and bring the iron board. All employees in this hotel looks like lovable and love us from their heart. We feel like stay in our kingdom, everyone serve us like king and queen. Thats really really amazing feeling. No doubt if we will be back to stay again here in the next holiday. Thanks Fontana management for creating this lovely positive athmosphere in this lovable place. See yaa...

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yuyun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Front Office Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Yuyun K,

Thank you for your recent stay with Fontana Hotel Bali, We are very happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. Great to know that you finally choose the right hotel and put your choice with us and feel like staying in your Kingdom.

Your appreciation to our staff is much appreciated, definitely will share to all of them and we do believe that they will very happy and always extend their best service to all of the loyal customer like you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bali.

Best Regards,


Eko Wijana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We travel to Bali for business at least three times a year and like to support new hotels.
The Hotel staff are lovely as are all most Balinese Hotel employees.
However, we were most disapointed with our room.
We booked a deluxe and asked for non smoking.
Our room was 2 doors from the lift which was so noisy we couldnt sleep.
We were put next to an interconnecting room with 3 people partying through to 3am. They were heavy smokers and the cigarette smoke was coming under the door from their room so much that we had to wet a towel and stuff it against the base of the door.
We complained to reception the next morning and nothing was done about the problem
No one came to see us.
There was also a blocked and flooding shower recess.
Breakfast was very average. Most of the guests were European and yet the bulk of the buffet was Asian influenced. There were only 3 western dishes to choose from. We love Asian food but not for breakfast. The first morning we came down for the last hour and everything was in poor supply.
The juices were topped up with water by one of the waitresses and were room temp.
We couldnt believe our eyes.
We did try as we were thirsty but the watered down juice was horrible.
The best thing was the bread.
The Hotel is in the middle of no where.
We will not be back.

Room Tip: Anything away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StormgirlA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Front Office Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear StormgirlA1,

Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali and thank you for staying with us recently. Following your review posted yesterday, we would like to thank you for your time to write a review and put your energy since our guests' perspective is very important to us and so is your constructive feedback for everyone alike, our team as well as for readers and visitors from all around the world.

Firstly, it is with deep personal regret that you did not particularly enjoy your stay with us. We at Fontana Hotel Bali understand the importance of fulfilling our guest’s expectation and it concerns me greatly that you have departed our resort with a negative impression.

I was concern to read about your comment in regards about the hotel conditions, room and the breakfast at the restaurant. Regarding your room assignment that you have been assigned next to an interconnecting room and mentioning that they had a party through 3am and they are a heavy smokers, this is become a very high issue for us and surprising us since Fontana Hotel Bali is adopting the government regulation of free smoke environment in all the room and all of the guest should put the signature on nonsmoking disclaimer upon arrival as an agreement that they agreed to compensate once we found it. We regret that happened to you.

As a 4 stars hotel we do have a standard to always provide Asian and Western dishes, as well we do 7 days rotation to change the menu. The breakfast display has been separated into Asian and Western as well. Our Western menu consist from Western soup, chicken wing, sausage , bacon, potato, sautéed vegetable and grilled tomato, that should be more than three dishes, not to mention with our pancake and crepes station in Grill kitchen.

Answering your complained regarding our juice container, we ensure that as a 4 star hotel, we have our own hygiene standard as well with the quality of the food & beverage we serves. We have 3 different containers during breakfast time, one container for cold water and the other 2 for juices. The standardization is controlled directly by our Food Beverage Manager and all of our staffs must attended food beverage hygiene training before they start working with us which there might be a mistake of what you experienced with us. Not that we are trying to said that this was impossible, but we will be more specifically monitoring our standard for our guest satisfaction.

Your direct response and email to me will be more than welcome for discussing your experience as we really would like to ensure satisfaction to our guest.
Once again, thank you for sharing your point of view with our readers. Our team will continue working hard in our efforts to satisfy every Fontana’s customer.

Best Regards,

Eko Wijana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and was impressed with this hotel. All cleaned and looked new [probably because this is a new hotel]. I particularly loved the breakfast here, wide variety of options, and all were tasty! Wi-fi available in the room. Lots of taxi nearby tough i didn't see any scooter rental in the area. Quite close to Legian street and Kuta beach, and the plus point was, all taxi drivers were familiar with the place. Would stay here again if i come to Bali. Just one minor problem, not all water in my bathroom goes down, some part was inundated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Centravanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Front Office Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Centravanti,

Thank you for taking time and giving us a valuable review on this page, We are very happy to hear that your stay recently was enjoyable. Fontana Hotel is new brand Hotel which is promising a quite place to all of the customer for their leisure time in Bali especially in Kuta Area. We just a year last December and the concept is providing an oasis in the central of Kuta.
For rental bike where actually the Front Desk is more than happy will always giving an assistance to arrange for you, the motor bike person will send it immediately to Hotel and very efficient.

We will very happy to welcome you back and amaze you with another memorable experiences.

Best Regards,


Eko Wijana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1.2 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#13 of 340 in Kuta
752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#21 of 340 in Kuta
639 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harper Kuta
Harper Kuta
#48 of 340 in Kuta
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Berry Glee Hotel
Berry Glee Hotel
#25 of 340 in Kuta
319 reviews
2.1 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
2.1 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Febri's Hotel & Spa
#11 of 340 in Kuta
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Hotel Bali

Property: Fontana Hotel Bali
Address: Jl. Dewi Sri no. 68, Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Kuta
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#28 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#30 Best Value Hotel in Kuta
#31 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fontana Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Hotel Bali, a PHM Collection offers an affordable Balinese lifestyle experience in an elegant way. A collaboration masterpiece by environmentalist architect, Popo Danes, and the former Super Potato Tokyo's designer, Nobuyuki Narabayashi, it is uniquely designed to accommodate a modern lifestyle in Bali while maintaining the authentic feel of Balinese nature. Located right at the center of Kuta area, just one block away from Legian area and 20 minutes away from the Ngurah Rai International airport, Fontana Hotel Bali, a PHM Collection gives you an opportunity to experience the true Kuta without having to fight the crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontana Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing