We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont' be fooled - something is amiss here.”
Review of Fontana Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fontana Hotel Bali
Ranked #26 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dont' be fooled - something is amiss here.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I recently had the requirement to lay over in Bali for 2 nights. I have been many times before so I am aware of the standards and knew what to expect.

I carefully researched and took the top rated 4* hotel on Tripadvisor in the Kuta area. BIG MISTAKE. I will list some facts.

1. The hotel charges $25 for a one way airport transfer. I took this as the airport taxi drivers in Bali are not to the best and the last thing I wanted after a 12 hour flights was to be ripped off to drive 1km.

The hotel driver, was not employed by the hotel. Just a local transport company. He was late, was not allowed to pull up with the other drivers at the arrival area, and then did not know where the hotel was.

2. We pulled up at the hotel, and there was no cool drink, no towel, just blaring football from a huge TV - in BALI! Honeymooners - beware. The footbal seemed to be a permanent fixture as when I checked out early the next day it was still going.

3. The room had no bath.

4. The room had no bin.

5. The room was dirty.

6. The room had no do not disturb sign (cue constant disturbances)

7. The A/C did not work properly

8. The corridor was incredibly echoey and noisy and this was heard in the room - really unpleasant.

9. One of the gimmicks included with this hotel is a free mini bar - let me clarify, this means 1x can of soda, 1x small kit kat. That's not a mini bar.

10. The pool - is TINY

11. The pool is in shade nearly all day

12. There are no where near enough beds, in fact dont bother trying to get one unless you are up at 4 am.

13. The hotel is on a dirty back street, with no grounds.

I will be objective - this hotel was cheap, but it's not 4* and it's by no means even close to many of the other hotels in Kuta / Tuban. The breakfast was also good. (The one saving grace).

Room Tip: Request one miles away from the elevator and with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    256
    83
    13
    17
See reviews for
161
264
60
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Me and my SO stayed here for only 2 days after escaping the hectic legian area. We decided to stay here after reading reviews on tripadvisor.
The hotel staff is very friendly, and the hotel facility is good. It provides everything you need so you don't have to go outside, so it's good after a few days of traveling around the island. The room is decent, the bathroom black tile is nice but yes, like what everyone said, it's quite slippery.
But the best part is the breakfast buffet, the food is very delicious compared to other hotel buffet.
I'm planning a prolonged stay in this hotel in my next holiday, just to relaxed and use the pool and fitness area to get back in shape. A reconditioning we called it in my good old high school basketball day. But it will be a challenge with the good food they serve.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrvanReza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Front Office Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear IrvanReza,

Thank you for taking your time to write an review and we are very happy to hear that your recent stay was enjoyable.
Will definitely share with the team as they will be delighted to have enhanced your stay.
We are waiting your next visit and definitely you will get the same and even more an memorable experiences.

Best Regards,


Eko Wijana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My sister and I stayed 7 days at Fontana and really enjoyed our stay. From the moment we arrived we were treated so well by the staff. Linda and Agus at the front desk made our stay so much more relaxed and comfortable, helping us with anything we needed. The pool is situated in the middle of beautifully kept plants and trees. The breakfast was one of the best we had in our trip to Indonesia and the spa has a very relaxing atmosphere up on the roof top. Although the hotel was not right at the beach it is still very central and the hotel has a shuttle that will take you towards the beach every hour.
Will definitely return to Fontana!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Front Office Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Aim B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable stay experience with us. We Love to hear that your recent stay was enjoyable, will definitely share with the team as they will be delighted to have enhanced your stay.

Fontana provide accommodation in Kuta Area without having to fight the crowd. The Concept of Fontana Hotel Bali is providing an oasis in the central Kuta, which is nowadays familiar with crowd and busy situation where most of the tourist felt annoyed during their resting time.

Fontana core is dynamic, always improving in serving our guest is our standard. We will look forward to welcoming you back and amaze you with another memorable experience.


Best Regards,


Eko Wijana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were staying in Fontana Hotel for 3 nights,
before traveled, I was quite worried about the negative reviews of this hotel.
However I guarantee you that this is a very lovely place to stay with reasonable cost.
Because this is our first trip to Bali,
so we didn't ask for more, everything were just prefect.
The room,the food and all the staffs there fit my requirements well,
I will definitely choosing this hotel again for my next trip to Bali.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda-loves-Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Front Office Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Amanda-loves-Bali,

Thank you for spent your time to write a review about Fontana Hotel Bali, We are very happy and honored that we are able to accommodate you with an enjoyable experience.
We will keep maintain the the standardization of all services and extend our best to meet the customer expectation.

We are looking forward for your next visit to Bali and stay with us at Fontana Hotel Bali.


Best Regards,


Eko Wijana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaneohe, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

If you want great breakfast buffet to start off your day... then Fontana hotel breakfast buffet rates high in my file. continental with great fruit, cheese, muffin etc, juices and coffee flowing, then choices of asian entrees, and delectable side dishes, made to order eggs to boot.
The hotel has a shuttle that takes you to town every hour from 9 to 9, so that is a good draw for shoppers. I shopped till I almost dropped.. enough to bring omiyagi for everyone in my circle of loved ones. Coming back to the hotel best to take the BLUEBIRD taxi group... to save some money. The sunny cafe has helpful staff to serve coffee at 2.30 a.m when I was jetlagged...and 2 computers to boot, and helpful assistance if you need one. I did not have a bath tub in the room as I expected, and the coffee maker did not work and was not fixed during my 3 day stay, and the room faced a blank tall white wall. the 3 negatives to balance out super service in other areas.

Room Tip: could ask for room with a view with the package
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miachen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Front Office Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear miachen88,

Thank you for taking time and giving us a valuable review on this page, We are very happy to hear that your stay recently was enjoyable. Fontana Hotel is new brand Hotel which is promising a quite place to all of the customer for their leisure time in Bali especially in Kuta Area. We just a year last December and the concept is providing an oasis in the central of Kuta.

We will definitely share your valuable comments and appreciation to all of the staff where i do believe that they will enhance to keep maintain the good service to all of the customers.
In regards of your comment of the room with bathtub, we do have it in our suite over looking the large balcony, garden and pool view.
We regret to hear that your coffee maker was not working during your stay, i do believe that our housekeeping will very happy to replace it with the new when they received a message to replace or fix it.

Once again Thank you very much for your review, we are looking forward to welcome you back to Fontana Hotel Bali.


Best Regards,


Eko Wijana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our stay at the Fontana Hotel was excellent. The Staff was very well trained and the rooms are very spacious and clean. Even though I had requested for rooms with a good view like a balcony, I was given a room facing a wall, but none the less, we were out of the Hotel by 8am and back by 10pm, so the view wasn't a big issue. The breakfast was of International Standards, not many hotels are able to do Eggs Benedict or Poached Eggs or Egg White Omelette (without burning it..Thumbs up to the Chefs of Fontana Hotel.

The Front Desk staff were ever so pleasant and helpful always.The swimming pool was great as it is connected to the kids pool and the adults pool so that the adults could always be in the water next to the kids pool without getting out. The amenities in the bathroom were of very high standards, and very complete. The bed was super comfy and the bathroom spacious and well planned and built, with a rain shower and a handheld together. Free mini bar was also provided daily.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratcool69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Front Office Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Ratcool69,

Thank you for taking your time to write an review and we are very happy to hear that your recent stay was enjoyable.
Will definitely share with the team as they will be delighted to have enhanced your stay.
We do have the room facing the pool and garden view completed with own balcony in a Deluxe room, hope on your next visit you will be able to experience with a different room category.

Once again Thank you and we are waiting your next visit to stay with us again.


Best Regards,


Eko Wijana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakar, Bhutan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We travelled to Bali for work last week and stayed at Fontana Hotel Bali.
The front office girls welcomed us politely and gave us quick detail of the hotel and what not, and then we checked in to the ground floor room where there’s balcony straight over looking at the Swimming Pool! Nice….

Once we finished our meeting, few colleagues and I checked out the gym and it was pretty cool, although it’s quite small however it’s pretty good for a hotel gym. The girls went to try the spa (they are on the rooftop of the hotel) and were raving about it. Then we head to the Italian restaurant for dinner as we were to beat to go elsewhere after our meeting and we were surprised with the restaurant! It was definitely reasonably priced and the food wasn’t as stingy as we expect! We actually left the restaurant pretty full and decided not to get dessert from Sunny 16 (next to the restaurant)

Unfortunately we checked out pretty early the next day hence we did not have enough time to enjoy more of the hotel however I’m definitely coming back in April and definitely will stay at the hotel longer and enjoy the quirkiness of the hotel this time!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaudelvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Front Office Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear yaudelvie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable stay experience with us. We Love to hear that your visit was enjoyable, will definitely share with the team as they will be delighted to have enhanced your stay.
Fontana Hotel is new brand Hotel which is promising a quite place to all of the customer for their leisure time in Bali especially in Kuta Area. We just a year last December and the concept is providing an oasis in the central of Kuta.

Looking forward to welcome you again and stay with us.

Best Regards,


Eko Wijana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1.2 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#7 of 251 in Kuta
736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#11 of 251 in Kuta
633 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harper Kuta
Harper Kuta
#27 of 251 in Kuta
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Berry Glee Hotel
Berry Glee Hotel
#13 of 251 in Kuta
297 reviews
2.1 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
2.1 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Hotel Bali

Property: Fontana Hotel Bali
Address: Jl. Dewi Sri no. 68, Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kuta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#17 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#20 Best Value Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fontana Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Hotel Bali, a PHM Collection offers an affordable Balinese lifestyle experience in an elegant way. A collaboration masterpiece by environmentalist architect, Popo Danes, and the former Super Potato Tokyo's designer, Nobuyuki Narabayashi, it is uniquely designed to accommodate a modern lifestyle in Bali while maintaining the authentic feel of Balinese nature. Located right at the center of Kuta area, just one block away from Legian area and 20 minutes away from the Ngurah Rai International airport, Fontana Hotel Bali, a PHM Collection gives you an opportunity to experience the true Kuta without having to fight the crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fontana Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing