We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”
Review of Fontana Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fontana Hotel Bali
Ranked #44 of 338 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have fairly simple expectations when it comes to hotels: give me a good room & facilities, good price, good food, friendly & efficient service ... and I'm happy. This hotel ticks all the boxes.
The rooms are modern, clean, spacious with great facilities. Pool and grounds are beautiful, clean & well-maintained.
The price was great and our package (4-night minimum) included pick-up from the airport (although a Bluebird Taxi return was only 60,000RPH anyway, so no big deal if you miss out on this - just be sure to use a Bluebird taxi where they use a meter!!)
We didn't have lunch or dinner there, but the breakfast buffet was good with asian-style foods, more western-style hot foods (sausages, bacon, eggs etc), pancakes, danishes, croissants & fruit. I would have preferred a little more variety with the cereals and the brewed coffee was terrible, but there's a cafe on site that does nice barista coffees so we got our coffee fix (phew!)
Both our check-in and check-out were in the early hours and handled quickly and efficiently. In fact, all our dealings with the staff were great - they were friendly, courteous & efficient.
The only downside is the location ... everywhere is a taxi ride but with Bluebird Taxis (on the meter), it's 30,000RPH pretty much everywhere so it's very little.
I would probably stay closer to Kuta next time, but that's just personal preference ... if I could pick up the Fontana and move it to Kuta so I could stay there again, I would.
Definitely one I'd recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Marketing Communications Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Ms. Monica S,

Warmest Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and am pleased to advise you that we have recently implemented a free shuttle service to Kuta & Legian area.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the breakfast menu during your stay, a little minor of our coffee taste during breakfast time already solved with our Sunny16 coffee for your morning ardor. However, i have been forwarded to the respective department concerned and will be taken into consideration and actioned accordingly so we may be able to serve you and other guests better in the future.

Thank you for stayed with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at Fontana Hotel Bali.

Best regards,

Dina Indah
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    261
    84
    13
    17
See reviews for
163
268
62
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Had a brief visit to the Fontana hotel. staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Close to kuta centre but far enough away from the crowds. Great value for money. Also has lovely pool and tasty breakfast

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnLeonard16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Marketing Communications Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Mr. JohnLeonard16,

Warmest Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali,

Thank you so much for your extensive comments about your experience with Fontana Hotel Bali and in particular about the level of service you received during your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you found our staff friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Fontana Hotel Bali in the near future.

Best regards,

Dina Indah
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittlesea, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Didn't know what to expect when you book accommodation over the internet, sometimes the photos do not represent where you are staying. We have all been pleasantly surprised, rooms have everything you need, TV, small mini bar, great shower & bathroom, A/C works very well, nice pool for little children & for older. Gym on top floor, great restaurant with meals all day, room service and a 24 hour coffee & cake restaurant, Mini Mart is located opposite which is like a small 7/11. 24 hour Security guards at front gate as they check ever vehicle that enters with mirrors that even check underneath the vehicle. They have a shuttle service which leaves every hour to take you to the shopping strips and a $2.00 taxi will bring you back. Staff are excellent and very polite. When we come back again, we will be coming here.....

Room Tip: We had the deluxe room on the 1st floor and found it to be enough for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Marketing Communications Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Mr. Steve C,

Warmest Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Fontana Hotel Bali on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us, appreciated our product and services, and enjoyed the facilities of our hotel. I will be sure to pass on your kind words regarding our associates to them, so that they may be recognized for their efforts.

I am also glad to know that you were having a good experience with us during your first trip to Bali.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future so that you may once again experience the glory that is Fontana Hotel Bali.

Best regards,

Dina Indah
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at Fontana from 26/04/14 to 28/04/14. Every aspect of Hotel was nice especially the cleanliness ( I give 5 stars for cleanliness). Infact it is one of the rare hotels which is better than the pics displayed at the hotel website (Fontana please upgrade your website and upload better pics). Also this is the least expensive 4 star hotel available at nice location in Bali. In addition the wifi in the hotel is superfast. The only negative part in the room was that it has centralised air-con which is not installed at a good location and also has no swing option available which takes some time to get room cooler. Rest I loved the hotel very much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Himanshu150788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Marketing Communications Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Mr. Himanshu150788,

Warmest Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Fontana Hotel Bali on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us, appreciated our product and services, and enjoyed the facilities of our hotel. I will be sure to pass on your kind words regarding our associates to them, so that they may be recognized for their efforts.

This is also to send you our regards towards your support, because we achieve Certificate of Excellence 2014 from TripAdvisor.

Again, thank you very much for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back at Fontana Hotel Bali in the near future.

Best regards,

Dina Indah
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kupang
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel twice within two months. Will be coming for the third time this week. Great location, strategic. Free mini bar, nice buffet breakfast. Polite staff. Recommended!
How about discount for repeat customer? Thanks

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Impressive hotel with grand entrance and lovely décor at the lobby. Definitely impressed… until we walk into the bedroom.

Deluxe Room we have on the 3rd floor was small, plainly decorated, and a bit squishy for the 2 of us. More to a standard rooms at other hotels than a deluxe one. Although the King sized bed was comfortable, the TV was placed towards the side of the room so while laying on the bed we had to angled our neck to watch the TV. Bathroom was nice with rainhead showerhead above. Mini bar was provided free of charge which was a nice gesture but really it wasn’t that much of a value (around IDR 50,000/USD 5 if you get them yourselves at the mini market nearby). We were gonna have a dip at the Swimming pool however at 8 am in the morning there were a couple of cleaning services guys cleaning and chatting around the pool which made my wife a bit uncomfortable so we went back to our room.

Sleep quality was 3 out of 5, our room (320) was located close to a busy road so even at 6 am in the morning we could hear the noise from the road. And yes it was noisy.

Our most favourite highlight on our stay was probably the buffet breakfast, from eggs freshly cooked anyway you like to the soups, they were all yum! And oh there is a nice steak place across the road if you are game enough to cross the road in Bali.

We have stayed at quite a number of hotels in Bali and thought we’d like to give this one a go. If it wasn’t for the flash deal at the website we would have gone with our usual hotel nearby at Centra Taum. But definitely worth a try (at the 50% flash sale deal it was a good value).

Room Tip: As further as possible from the road side. Our room was located close to a busy road so even at 6 am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laviana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Marketing Communications Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Ms. Laviana T,

Warmest Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at Fontana Hotel Bali. Your comments and suggestions regarding the rooms and minibar have been forwarded to the respective department concerned and will be taken into consideration and action accordingly so we may be able to serve you and other guests better in the future. We are trying to give another benefits such as free minibar which rarely find in another hotel even its not that worthy as you said.

Meanwhile, i am sorry to know that your wife experience uncomfortable situations where our staff cleaned and chatted at the same time on the poolside. I have been forwarded to the respective department concerned and will be taken into action accordingly. We make sure it wont happens in the future.

Again, thank you very much for your comments and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Fontana Hotel Bali.

Best regards,

Dina Indah
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Me and husband with 2 children stayed 3 nites in Fontana. We really like the design of the hotel it's modern retro..

Our superior room was spacious also the bathroom even without bathup. The hotel served free minibar that refill daily.

The location is not in the kutalegian crowded area but it tooks only 10 mins to the beach so it was perfect for us.

We love the food from breakfast and the breakfast area also very comfy.
they got portabella bistro and sunny 16 cafe which are so artistic.

The pool was greeny with the surrounding garden. But we missed to try the gym and spa.

Overall we really enjoy and satisfied staying in this hotel. Definitely will come back here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsgamassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Marketing Communications Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear mrsgamassie,

Warmest Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Fontana Hotel Bali on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us, appreciated our product and services, and enjoyed the facilities of our hotel. I will be sure to pass on your kind words regarding our associates to them, so that they may be recognized for their efforts.

With your supports, now we also achieve TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2014 and we will maintain our hard work in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Fontana Hotel Bali in the near future.

Best regards,

Dina Indah
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1.2 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#13 of 338 in Kuta
752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#21 of 338 in Kuta
639 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harper Kuta
Harper Kuta
#47 of 338 in Kuta
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Berry Glee Hotel
Berry Glee Hotel
#25 of 338 in Kuta
318 reviews
2.1 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
2.1 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Febri's Hotel & Spa
#11 of 338 in Kuta
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Hotel Bali

Property: Fontana Hotel Bali
Address: Jl. Dewi Sri no. 68, Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Kuta
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#27 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#30 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fontana Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Hotel Bali, a PHM Collection offers an affordable Balinese lifestyle experience in an elegant way. A collaboration masterpiece by environmentalist architect, Popo Danes, and the former Super Potato Tokyo's designer, Nobuyuki Narabayashi, it is uniquely designed to accommodate a modern lifestyle in Bali while maintaining the authentic feel of Balinese nature. Located right at the center of Kuta area, just one block away from Legian area and 20 minutes away from the Ngurah Rai International airport, Fontana Hotel Bali, a PHM Collection gives you an opportunity to experience the true Kuta without having to fight the crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fontana Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing