We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fontana stay.”
Review of Fontana Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fontana Hotel Bali
Ranked #36 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at the Fontana for seven days. Two rooms one for us and the other for our two teenage girls and 10yr old boy. This is a nice clean, well serviced hotel. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and beds very comfy with handy free mini bar that the kids enjoyed.
However this hotel is not walking distance to the main shopping areas or the beach. Although the hotel run a good one way shuttle to a central drop off point.
The first couple of nights were spent on level 2. Unfortunately we endured an unbearable smell coming from the bathroom drain. We advised reception and they asked us straight away if the smell was coming from the drain. They then promptly moved us to the 3rd floor where we had no further problems with smells. Also much better on the 3rd floor, although the view is not great there is one. On the 2nd floor we opened the curtains to a concrete wall, quite claustrophobic!
The breakfast was good with lots of choices and the pool area and pool are nice with lovely planting. However not for sun worshippers as this area gets very little sun.
There are several restaurants across the road. Taxi into main shopping etc around $3.
The hotel made a special effort on one of the girl's birthdays with a cake and card which was a nice touch.
Overall a good stay and the staff really make this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the 3rd floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Southcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Marketing Communications Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Southcom,

Warmest Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali

We appreciate your time to write this review as we know it has been some time since you last visited. We are honored that you have chosen Fontana Hotel Bali for your family getaway.

Thank you again for recognizing the staff as they take pride in serving you with personalized experiences to guide you every step along the way.

We look forward welcoming you back to Fontana Hotel Bali in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Dina Indah
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed at Fontana last week Staff friendly and helpful.Free Wifi and mini bar were great..Breakfast great. Rooms clean although,they need a comfortable chair in them.and lack of balcony furniture didnt help. Had nice view over the pool but couldnt sit out..Portabellas restaurant was very hit and miss,so didnt eat there for dinner..Sunny 16 cafe is good..The bar in the lobby had no comfortable seating..nowhere to sit and chat or have a couple of drinks,,only seating was very uncomfortable modular seating or table and chairs for midgets,The bar is quite expensive so probably wouldnt spend a lot of time there anyway..could get cheaper drinks at better quality hotels.Pool area is very nice,,not enough sun lounges..people had to sit on the ground around the pool at times,,and the 7 lounges that were there were quite dirty..but all in all a plesant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Anon918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Marketing Communications Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Anon918,

Warmest Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali

We appreciate your time to write this review as we know it has been some time since you last visited. We thoroughly enjoyed reading your review. We regularly make improvements to our services as result of the valuable feedback we receive from our guests.

Please rest assured that your feedback has since been shared with the appropriate Department Heads for their review.

We hope that you shall allow us the opportunity to welcome you back so we may showcase the kind of our hospitality.

Best regards,

Dina Indah
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Very clean, modern beautiful hotel perfect for our first time 4nights in Bali. Staff are so wonderful and so helpful - one lady in particular at reception helped us organise the most fun 2 adventure days.
The hotel rooms are clean and the mini bar is filled up daily and completely free, theres is a 24 hour cafe with pc and internet - the cakes and drinks are so tasty!
The breakfast was fabulous! fresh pancakes every morning - flavours of our choice - so many fillings and toppings to choose from.

We didn't know that a free airport pickup was included so we got dropped off to the hotel upon checkout instead - which was fantastic!!

Free shuttle to the main shopping road that leads to the beach - it was the perfect location for us! walking down the same road there are a few restaurants and cafes which are not too touristy and so much cheaper.
The hotel pool was dirty and not being used when we were here - but that didn't bother us as we were too busy out and about and had the beach.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who stays in bali - couples friends and families! Again the staff were just so polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Marketing Communications Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Maryam A,

Warmest Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali

Thank you for your review. We are honored that you have chosen Fontana Hotel Bali for your accommodation during your stay in Bali. Thank you again for recognizing our front desk staff as they take pride in serving you with personalized experiences to guide you every step along the way

We were thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable overall stay. It has been an honor and a pleasure to serve you.

Best regards,

Dina Indah
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

With so many choices of hotels available and a bit confused being a 1st trip to bali, we thought we would take a gamble with fontana. And it paid off!

We were 3 mates so needed 3 separate beds, the family room had this. Arrival was easy with the free transfer if hotel is booked directly through their website.

Location is a bit away from the more popular places but that was fine. Cheap cab ride or if u hire a bike an easy ride. Also easy to get around to other parts of bali. Main plus we found was the awesome cheap local eateries on the same street. Much better than venturing into the touristy places.

The hotel itself is very clean and modern with great staff. Pool is a good size, gym decent and very secure and safe. Free wifi is ok but ca drop out a lot.

Only had breakfast here but don't know how anyone can fault it. Lots of choices, fresh pancakes, crepes and eggs cooked to order as well. They only have 1 choice of cereal, but with everything else who cares.

Whether you are a couple, family or friends this is a great choice modern hotel at a bargain price.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank szkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Marketing Communications Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear szkut,


Warmest Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali

Thank you for your great feedback of your recent stay at our hotel. We are very pleased that you have had a great time. We have conveyed your review to our associates who were also very proud to be able to provide delightful service to our guests.

We look forward welcoming you back to Fontana Hotel Bali in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Dina Indah
Marketing Communications Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

very clean and affordable base for our family, great staff very friendly and great knowledge about the local area.Have to thank our travel agent back in Australia for this recommendation. We loved our stay and can only recommend to all our friends, it is an upcoming area this Jalan Dewi Sri.

Room Tip: great street food dining around this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank walter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Marketing Communications Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear walter s,

Warmest Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali

We are delighted to know that you have had enjoyed your stay with us and particularly our services from our staff, which made your holiday “Beautiful”.

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor and we definitely look forward to your return for a more relaxing stay.

Best regards,

Dina Indah
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The welcome drink is a nice gesture. Love the simple, modern and efficient design of the rooms. The family room is super spacious. Breakfast is pretty good and full of choices. Overall, a great one night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 497kristinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Marketing Communications Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Kristin B,

Warmest Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in reference to your recent visit on TripAdvisor.

We have conveyed your review to our associates who were also very proud to be able to provide delightful service to our guests.

We look forward welcoming you back to Fontana Hotel Bali in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Dina Indah
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is our second time staying at the hotel. They even recognized this and gave us the same room.
Breakfast had a good selection with eggs to order, crepes, pancake station, and a good selection of Asian foods.
Hotels is a little out from Kuta and Beach but this gives that quietness, but daily shuttle to Kuta/Legian is a welcome and its just $2-4 dollars back to hotel.
Staff are so attentive to your needs always.
Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Phil375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontanahotelbali, Marketing Communications Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Phil375,


Warmest Greetings from Fontana Hotel Bali

Thank you for your great feedback of your recent stay at Fontana Hotel Bali, especially we are so delighted to know that you were one of our loyal guests.

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor and we definitely look forward to your return for a more relaxing stay.

Best regards,

Dina Indah
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#13 of 251 in Kuta
692 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#6 of 251 in Kuta
838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kuta Central Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
2.7 mi away
H Sovereign Bali
H Sovereign Bali
#46 of 251 in Kuta
402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harper Kuta
Harper Kuta
#27 of 251 in Kuta
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Hotel Bali

Address: Jl. Dewi Sri no. 68, Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kuta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#20 Best Value Hotel in Kuta
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#26 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: £21 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fontana Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Hotel Bali, a PHM Collection offers an affordable Balinese lifestyle experience in an elegant way. A collaboration masterpiece by environmentalist architect, Popo Danes, and the former Super Potato Tokyo's designer, Nobuyuki Narabayashi, it is uniquely designed to accommodate a modern lifestyle in Bali while maintaining the authentic feel of Balinese nature. Located right at the center of Kuta area, just one block away from Legian area and 20 minutes away from the Ngurah Rai International airport, Fontana Hotel Bali, a PHM Collection gives you an opportunity to experience the true Kuta without having to fight the crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontana Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing