We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cheap Hotel in A Quiet Place”
Review of Saimai Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saimai Residence
Ranked #101 of 285 Kuta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I am having a good time staying in Saimai Residence. It’s located in 2nd floor in a shops area and not on Kartika Plaza main road. The entrance to shops area is next to Bubba Gump restaurant. It’s a quiet place. Me and my husband having a good quality sleep. I booked deluxe room without breakfast through agoda.com and got a very cheap price, about Rp.200.000 (16US$/night). All of the staff was friendly. My room was number 303. It has a spacious room, comfy bed, fast wi-fi, and lots of international channels. Although the room was a little bit dusty, they changed pillow sheets and towels every day. We didn’t hear any sound from other rooms, so we sleep well (unless, there are children running across the hall). Bathroom was clean, unfortunately, there’s no divider between shower and toilet. The whole bathroom was always very wet every time I took a shower, because they placed the shower right above the toilet.
There was no phone in our room. My husband had to go to the lobby if we need something. At night, sometimes there was no staff in the lobby, so my husband had to go back after a while
Pros:
- Quiet place, closed to beach and Discovery Mall
- Very comfort room (fast wifi, clean bathroom, comfort bed, large room)
- Friendly staff

Cons:
- Dusty room
- Sometimes, no staff in lobby at night

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rhily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel is location a bit off the main strip and Legian street which is perfect since it is nice and quiet at night. Discovery shopping mall is only a couple of minutes walking distance, same as Kuta square. About 5-10 min. walk to the beach and Legian street.

The rooms are spacious and clean, big and comfy bed, aircon. Bathroom is a bit outdated and could do with some refurbishment, smells a bit funny too but does the job and gets cleaned every day. Fresh and nice smelling towels every day, two small bottles of water complimentary every day too.

Free Wifi which is reasonably fast in the communal area, if you get a room close to the reception it will reach to the room too.

We only booked two nights but ended up staying for a week, staff is very friendly and helpful. Located on the first floor so there is a couple of steps to get to the reception but the staff was jumping up immediately to give us a hand with the luggage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank song_3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here recently from 5 September 2013-10 September 2013. Room 102- Near to the reception area but the bonus-we were able to have internet access all day round. It is a superior room with 2 single beds. There is another category which is the superior suite. Booked the room through Agoda and the Hotel do not require any deposit nor credit card as misc charges throughout the stay. All staff were polite, friendly and helpful and they keep smiling all the time. Although the room was small, we were happy for the entire stay, suited the budget we spent and who needs bigger room when one will not be in the room for the entire stay?

Yes, it is a budget hotel but with a 5 star service, I shall say. No pool but you feel relaxed when staying here. Location is very strategic as being said in previous reviews and though it is nearby to everything, it is still located in a quiet road, which is a bonus. The neighbor is the Kuta Theater Magic Show. Yup, people need to scale up some steps to get to the Hotel, but will not take all your energy. The staff will help you with your luggage(s) if you need them.

Breakfast served in the lounge area outside the reception hall. You get to choose either American/Continental or Asian breakfast with coffee/Tea or juice of your choice. They will send your breakfast to your room if you are lazy enough to get out of your room in the morning. Be reminded that superior room do not have coffee/tea making facilities as superior suite does. But I guess you can always try to request for a kettle if you need it. No fridge in the room but it is okay, we don't need them. The housekeeper will turn on the AC after cleaning the room so that your room will be in the right temperature when you come back to your room-good job housekeeper!

If your room is far from the reception area, you can always hang out at the lounge area inside or outside (if you smoke), to play with your gadgets and get connected to the internet. Hotel can arrange pick up to and from the airport. Taxis also easy to hail from ground floor of the hotel or you can walk to the bigger road which is just 1 minute walking time. There are shops selling souvenirs and just anything you need along the road that leads either to Discovery Mall or Jalan Pantai Kuta. ATM, yes, nearby as well as massage shop, bar and oh yeah practically anything.

The best part of our stay was the 5 star service and smile from the staff. They will help you if you need anything, without hesitation. I recommend this hotel to those looking for a budget place to stay but nearby to everything in Kuta. The negative reviews, well, that I think is just their personal opinion. I believe the majority patrons/customers of this hotel are satisfied with what they spent and get. If you need swimming pool, then fork out more money to stay at a bigger hotel. For us, bed, AC, security, breakfast, staff politeness and friendliness as well as clean and cheap are the factor to consider when staying in a Hotel, especially in Kuta as we can use the extra money for other purposes, maybe massage or buying souvenirs..or pubs maybe?

Thank you to the staff and Management of this Hotel who keep entertaining us and looking after our needs throughout the stay. Forgot some names but remember some- Gede, Ari, Ananta, Eka, Ana and so on..thank you so much...we are planning to come back for New Year Celebration from 28 December 2013- 2 January 2014. See you and thank you again.

Room Tip: If you need Wi Fi, get a room near to the reception area. If you are constant in making your own cof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thecuriostraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location is near with all things that you need as a traveler. Restaurant,bank,mall,beach and nighlife! By walking distance you can go to the beach (10-15minutes). The bank just near the corner, the spa in front of the hotel and a few step to Bubba Gump, Waterbom Bali and Discovery Mall. Next to the hotel , is a Kuta Theather, the must watch show when you in Bali and guest stayed at Saimai will get a special discount. I definitely will stay again at Saimai next time!

Room Tip: Book a room near reception for wifi coverage in room- wifi only at hotel lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We staied at Saimai Reidence for four nights and all in all it was a nice hotel, clean, very friendly and helpful staff and affordable. We had a king size bed and the room included nice fresh smelling towels. Unfortunately the room didnt have a fridge but that was alright too...the supermarket was just a few hundret meters down the main street. The Hotel was rather quiet and it is in a side street, which was very good. No noisy street, no partying near the hostel that was disturbing. Breakfast was alright too. Unfortunately you could only chose one breakfast ( american, continental, indonesian) from the menu but it was alright for the start in the morning.
As i mentioned, Staff was very nice, looking out for you to get you the best deal with transport and information.
Unfortunately the bathroom was very small. Small basin and when you shower the whole toilet and floor gets wet - no shower curtain.
I would stay there again :-) It has ariconditioning too and windows you can open!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fran992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

we booked in advance for this residence and it was a very good things, the room is big perfectly clean, the king size bed just awesome. the staff is very nice, friendly. we can do lundry. and the must: the breakfast in the room or in the terasse with fresh juice and a lot of choice of different kind of breakfast. definitely very good, and calm in the big noise of Kuta! go eyes closing.
a very good price for the quality

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Cheap inn style accommodation that does the job. The rooms are very spacious with king size beds, amazing air con and a great tv. The bathroom is a little outdated but nonetheless very clean. Staff service rooms daily and are all incredibly friendly. Breakfast is great quality.
This is definitely 'no frills' accommodation as it doesn't have a pool or many of the features of the resorts. It's definitely worth the stay though if you're looking for budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Asoka City Home
Hotel Asoka City Home
#162 of 253 in Kuta
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Karthi
Hotel Karthi
#165 of 253 in Kuta
67 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sunset Bali Hotel
The Sunset Bali Hotel
#83 of 253 in Kuta
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Budha's Guesthouse
Budha's Guesthouse
#54 of 285 in Kuta
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dedy Beach INN
Dedy Beach INN
#33 of 285 in Kuta
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puri Jayaraja Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saimai Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saimai Residence

Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Pertokoan Kuta Centre 8X Blok B 2nd Fl, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 285 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range: £8 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saimai Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Zenrooms, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saimai Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saimai Residence Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing