We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do day in Kuta Square”
Review of Kuta Square

Kuta Square
Ranked #15 of 111 things to do in Kuta
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must do day in Kuta Square”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We always have one day in Kuta Square every time we Holiday in Bali, we like to check all the shops out to see if anything has changed. we love going to Matahari and their Supermarket, we finish off our day with late lunch and Relax in our Favourite Cafe just a few doors down from Matahari, as you come out turn right,the Coffee and Meals are always nice their also the Cakes, the Cafe is very popular and busy and nice Staff. Regards, Marion.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion007_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    644
    578
    109
    54
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A good place to go for low stress shopping”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

If a stroll down Legian street has you countlessly saying "tidak trima kasi" to the touts who grab your arms and try to pull you into their shop then Kuta Square is the place to go for a quieter shopping experience. The prices are fixed, but do not let that discourage you as they are quite cheap. There are a variety of shops on the road and also a huge department store with basically any Bali odd and end you are looking for.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank APinBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyers, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great if you don't like haggling”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Worth a visit if you want the standard souvenirs without the hassles of the haggle! We made several trips to Matahari & the supermarket to top up our supplies & were wrapped with the prices. Knock off watches are plentiful too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kingpurple72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Kuta Square is close to Kuta Beach and I consider this place is different than it really is Indonesia, because there are many shops, restaurants and it's very busy, you can see a los of tourist arround the street, motorbikes and people trying to sell something, however is important place for visit if you go to Bali. Additionally many shops there are so cheap!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francisca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Kuta Square- A one stop place for Shopping”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is the name for a whole block of various shops. It is where the " main " Mataharis shop is and is close to Kuta Beach Markets. Not far from Kuta Beach itself. Good selection of restaurants there too...Italian, Cafés , Greek , plus the main " staples" like Maccas and KFC... Oh and the iced coffee at the Gloria Jeans is HUGE and heavenly. Very reliable and honest money changer here... We believe it was a Kodak one...it is near Mataharis on the Maccas side... It is what it looks like..a shopping area... So it is very non Indo...westernised and commercial...but let's face it ...that's why you go there..it's where the shops are and the food outlets...it was built to satisfy tourists needs...so if you go there expecting to see cultural displays and traditional Indonesian food then you will be disappointed...if you go there expecting to find a one stop place to find some food...a good range of shops and some nice air conditioned restaurants then you will enjoy it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kayleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kuta Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing