We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solaris Hotel Kuta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Solaris Hotel Kuta
Ranked #70 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Reasonable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at hotel in jan 14 for 3 nights. This hotel is very close to airport and beach although beach is not that nice. Very comfortable stay. There are few restaurants near the hotel serving local food. The only negative is that cleaning can be improved slightly. Overall quite good.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RajatSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    159
    82
    14
    8
See reviews for
68
125
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel is just outside of Kuta. If you're new to Bali, you'll be shocked at the state of the street. Rubbish, broken footpaths, 'shanty' style shops and general looking chaos. But it's about a 10 minute walk before you're greeted by shopping smalls and nice restaurants/hotels. Solaris appears a pleasant oasis on this particular street, looking modern and clean. The reception staff are mostly friendly, albeit some don't seem to actually understand your requests/English very welll. Unfortunately I didn't enjoy my stay as much as I would have liked as the walls are PAPER THIN and they play music really loud until late at night in the pool area/reception area. This would be okay if the rooms had soundproofing, but it's really disruptive.

Pros
- Just outside of Kuta so feels safer
- Nice pool area
- Comfortable beds
- Clean and modern rooms
- Good airconditioning

Cons
- Not much nearby on the shabby looking street
- WiFi is temperamental in some areas. Work best in reception area or pool area.
- Poor breakfast selection, which they take ages to replenish
- Paper thin walls and noise

Would stay here again if I can get a rate for around $40USD per night and if I don't care about noise disturbances at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueberry_Carrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

A relatively new hotel 5 minutes from the airport.

It has a small pool around which rooms are built. I was on the second floor - perfectly practicable. Clean sheets and comfortable bed. Non smoking room which didn't smell of smoke!

A shelf had collapsed in the bathroom which no one had noticed although the staff came quickly to repair it. 2 rather small towels were in the bathroom but they gave another 2 on request. The staff were friendly and helpful at reception.

Breakfast and free wifi were included which is always a plus.

For the price I paid for two night it was exceptional value. Nice guy who did moped hire at 50,000 on the left of the front door as you come out. The road in which the hotel was situated has convenience stores which seemed to be open at all times.

The is not the hotel to go for an anniversary or a luxury break but for a good, perfectly serviceable place to stay at a very good price it was excellent

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky Z, General Manager at Solaris Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Simon63,

Warm greeting from Solaris Hotel Kuta-Bali.

It is our pleasure to serve you during your stay at the hotel. We are pleased knowing that you enjoy your stay especially the breakfast selection.

We also have notice your comment about the bathroom. I and team have review it and deeply check all the rooms so it will be in best condition.

Kindly please to contact us if you plan your next holiday in Bali, as we hope to welcome you back in the near future at Solaris family. Thank you.

Warm regards,

Ricky Zulfandi
General Manager
e. gm.kuta@solaris-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

stayed there a few tines and its been ok,but stayed there from the 4th till the 7th of january 2014,my wife paid the bill with our card and the bill was 1.650.00 rupia,for some reason the guy only charged us 1.500.00 rupia,then at check out the requested 650.00 rupia,because the guy never gave my wife the receipt we trusted them and paid the extra 650.00 rupia,then just got back to australia and checked my bank statment to find out that we paid 1.500.00,i have used solaris in bali and malang and its always been noisy but its clean and chep,but since this accident i will never stay there and i will tell all my friends to stay away from there

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank filipecaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Arrived in the hotel at around 6pm. the service from the reception was excellent considering how busy the counter was. Requested double or queen bed, but was told they dont hv any and instead combined two singles which is fine with us. However the housekeeping does need a lot of improvements. Towels looks old and dirty. Theres a fridge but no minibar (we jst find this odd). The pillowcase shows telltale signs that it wasnt changed when the last guest checked out. Breakfast was standard. Edible but wasnt the best. Overall still quiet happy with the hotel. Might return if the housekeeping has improved.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunbun2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky Z, General Manager at Solaris Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Bunbun2000,

Warmest greet from Solaris Hotel Kuta-Bali.

Thank you for choosing our hotel as a place for stay during your visit in Bali. We also would like to thank you for your sharing on tripadvisor. However we are regret to hear the room less your pleasant in staying at Solaris Hotel Kuta-Bali.

Regrading your constructive feedback, I and team has taking it seriously and we are now in project to improve the linens and room cleanliness.

We hope you may gave us another opportunity to deliver the best service for your next visit to Bali. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally so we may arrange your stay more memorable and enjoyable.

Very warm regards,

Ricky Zulfandi
General Manager
e: gm.kuta@solaris-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The airport shuttle did not arrive even though we had emailed to confirm. Upon leaving, we were told that this service ended in 2013 so we would need to pay. No mention of this anywhere and it still states on the leaflet that there is an airport shuttle. Bad customer service point 1!
We got a very good deal as we booked 4 months in advance. However when we arrived we had been put in the worst room, 201. We booked for two weeks but as this was the day before New Years there was no chance of being moved to another room. The room was above the restaurant, bar and lobby and there was constant noise all day. We could hear the restaurant in the morning then the pool music all day. Luckily we were moved after 2 nights to the 6th floor but this meant we had been miserable and wasted two days of our holiday.
The pool bar plays loud music all day, not relaxing if you want to sit and read a book! I asked several times for the music to be turned down but they didn't seem to care.
Every single day there appeared to be some sort of banging or hammering in the hotel which starts at 8.30am, again, not a relaxing experience.
The Internet is very slow and kicks you off every few minutes, very frustrating!
Water pressure on the 6th floor is non existent. There is a waterfall shower but we couldn't use this as it was just a trickle!
When moving rooms, we had to request our sheets were cleaned and the floor swept as this clearly hadn't been done from the last guests! Hairs in the bed and stains. Our bedsheets were not changed for the two weeks we stayed even though we left several notes in the room for the housekeeping staff.
Breakfast was good, but lots of items eaten and not replaced. Room service food was nice, if a little pricey. (More expensive then eating in the bar even though its the same food).
The aircon was noisy and leaked, we had to leave an item of clothing on the floor so we didn't slip on the water it was dripping!
I would class this hotel as a backpacker / 2 star hotel. I think the prices online and the customer service leave a lot to be desired!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairelouisehalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky Z, General Manager at Solaris Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Claire H,

Happy New Year 2014 and warm greeting from Solaris Hotel Kuta-Bali.

I and team would like to thank you for staying with us on the early of 2014.

I also would like to express deeply apology for the inconvenience that you experienced during the stay. We are taking every review seriously and I would like to thank you for reminding us in general aspect of the service.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you wish to stay with us again to ensure your next visit to be better than your previous one. Thank you.

Very best regards,

Ricky Zulfandi
General Manager
e: gm.kuta@solaris-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We requested airport pick up about a week before we arrived, didn't get a response until like 2 days before we were due to arrive. Then, no one was even at the airport to pick us up. So we got a taxi to the hotel and told them, the young boy at the counter wasn't even bothered. It was annoying.

We got a room and it was dark and actually dusty. Not cleaned well. The bar music began mid afternoon and was loud, even on a higher floor. It was irritating. The pool was a surprise, it is so unprivate and there were loads of tourists really loudly playing in it. The pool was crammed into a small courtyard.
It was just noisy. The walls seemed to be made of paper and we heard every movement. Not a place to go to relax after a day of sightseeing.

We saw many people complaining mostly about noise.

We checked out early and went to another hotel. We don't get many vacations, so we not going to spend it in that noise hole! The manager who checked us out didn't seem bothered we were checking out early and didn't even ask why. Not good customer service.

It is an okay hotel if you are backpacking and need a place to crash, breakfast is wide.

Also don't be fooled, it is a good 30-40 minute walk to Kuta Beach. It is not a good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky Z, General Manager at Solaris Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear M W,

Warm greeting from Solaris Hotel Kuta-Bali.

First, I and team would like to thank you for spending your time in sharing the experience with us. Your constructive feed back is really important, so we may, time to time, improve our service and product to meet all guests expectation.

I am deeply apologize for your inconvenience during the stay. I surely pass this to all team member and we are commit to do better and better in serving our beloved guests.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope able to serve you again next time in a different ambiance and new experience of staying at Solaris Hotel Kuta-Bali.

Best regards,

Ricky Zulfandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
2.7 mi away
Palloma Hotel Kuta
Palloma Hotel Kuta
#67 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bedrock Hotel Bali
Bedrock Hotel Bali
#83 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jepun Segara Guest house
Jepun Segara Guest house
#100 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Radiant Hotel and Spa & Airy
2.5 mi away
Atanaya Hotel
Atanaya Hotel
#33 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Sunset Bali Hotel
The Sunset Bali Hotel
#71 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solaris Hotel Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaris Hotel Kuta

Property: Solaris Hotel Kuta
Address: Jalan Jenggala (ex. Wana Segara) | Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solaris Hotel Kuta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solaris Hotel is a perfect blend between the hospitality of our professional service and modern hotel. Solaris Hotel offers divinely comfortable beds to ensure your time for rest is highly enjoyable. Strategically located in the Center of Kuta Bali, only 5 minutes walk to well-known Kuta beach, 5 minutes drive from airport location "Gusti Ngurah Rai International Airport" and 10 minutes walk to Kartika Plaza road renowned of tourism, shopping mall, drinks and foods. Hospitality and service from a dedicated staff ready to pamper you and your family or colleagues, since you are in the front door of our hotel. Design a unique hotel, modern and functional style combined with professional service to make Solaris Hotel more than just a place to stay, but a manifestation of a modern lifestyle. Various latest and best facilities are provided for you, as a means of swimming pools, pool bar & restaurant, meeting rooms with full facilities, complimentary wireless internet in all areas, safe deposit box and 24-hour housekeeping services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Solaris Hotel Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solaris Hotel Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing