We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location if you like to party, mind the room though”
Review of Harper Kuta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harper Kuta
Ranked #27 of 252 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Located directly in the main party center of Kuta, the location is great. Make sure you don't get a room at the streetside though, unless you didn't plan to sleep anyways. Avoid if you're looking for piece and quiet.

Room Tip: Avoid street side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jørre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarperKuta, General Manager at Harper Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Jørre H,

Warmest greeting from Harper Kuta.

Thank you for staying and experienced with us. Indeed our location at prime are of Kuta which you might walking distances to main attractions in Kuta.

Delighted to welcoming you back at Harper Kuta.

Regards,
Budhiwijaya (Jay)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have just come home from an unforgettable stay at The Harper Hotel from the 22nd November to 26th. I go to Bali for an inexpensive holiday, so find such a gem as this hotel is wonderful. You have the best of both worlds .. a top quality hotel at budget prices. The staff are amazing, they are so kind and helpful. The rooms and the room service is unfaultable. Luxurious and well appointed are the two words that best describe it. I was in the ground floor room opposite reception, room 137, which was close to the pool area. The noise levels was minimal considering it was schoolies week and the hotel is right near the party area of Bali. Breakfast was extensive with a huge range to choice from and once again the staff couldnt have been more helpful. My mate and i mostly ate breakfast on one of the three tables close to the pool, and I can tell you, there is no danger of splashes from the pool attacking you as I have just read in a previous review. I would recommend anyone to stay here if they want to experience a wonderful hotel. Thank you to the manager and staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skippyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarperKuta, General Manager at Harper Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Skippyzz,

Warmest greetings from Harper Kuta.

First of all, thank you for your kind experienced and stay at Harper Kuta and taking your time to written your value comment at trip advisor.

What a great compliment !!! thank you that you found a gem of Harper Kuta end being unforgettable and memorable stay with us.

I am sure that you were benefited with with our service and facilities and again, thanks for put our hotel as highly recommended hotel and I believe that you will sound your gem to your valued partners, families and colleagues.

Delighted to welcoming you back at Harper Kuta in the future.

Regards,
Budhiwijaya (Jay)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

the front office not really fluent in English .breakfast is really with limited selection , must have great improvement , otherwise i don't see any point to stay at this hotel .my friend go to the receptionist and looking for spa since there is no one in the spa center (probably they doing spa for other guest , but hotel should have a staff to serve for spa enquiry )!!!!! then , we go up our rooms and tried call to the receptionist and enquiry about the spa . receptionist said will check and call us .No one return call . And , my friend and i walk down again . both of us stand at the check in counter and ask .Only they said now have people in the staff room . you may go now !!! SUCH a POOR SERVICE !!!!!!!!! my room is located at 3rd floor corner lot without balcony , if anyone who wish to have balcony please avoid this room. breakfast was extremely POOR at my point of view ! is very basic , limited choice .maybe i can suggest traveler to book only hotel room and breakfast on own at outside . swimming poor is located in front of restaurant whereby everyboday can see how you swim when they are eating . Also , there is 3 tables nearby swimming poor whereby you will probably take a risk to get wet if the water come out from the swimming pool .

Room Tip: "corner rooms have no balcony "
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank infinityhope852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarperKuta, General Manager at Harper Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear infinityhope852,

Warmest greetings from Harper Kuta.

First of all, thank you for your kind experienced at Harper Kuta and taking your time to share your valued comment at trip advisor.

We apologize profusely for any inconvenience caused during your stay at our place and feel sad to hear that. English skill in hospitality industry especially hotel or accommodation is a must and learn from this comments, I would take action immediate to avoid same complaints.

We had apply English day which every staff should using English on Monday and Wednesday and our team member will follow this positive respond.

There are 3 therapist incharge during each shift and it is supposed to have 1 staff stand by to taking guest inquiry, also front office will assist to taking guest inquiry while our therapist is busy. I do agree with you that we should offer returning call once we guaranteed to offer and that is called service consistent.

I would do training to each department to improve our service in the future, I would also thankful for your comments and we loved to learn by our guest experiences.

Again, we do apologized for this inconvenience and delighted to welcoming you back at Harper Kuta.

Regards,
Budhiwijaya (Jay)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

what a lovely stay that I had at Harper Kuta!! do not listen to them that said noisy from out side (night clubs and bars). You should determine what kind of hotel that you are looking for???. Harper Kuta is the best hotel along Legian street, hotel is new, clean, friendly staff, the breakfast amazing!! Should try Deluxe room, spacious room and the rate is worth man!! the fastest wife and free, nice swimming pool. one thing, try BBQ dinner each Saturday, only Rp. 150.000 net all you can it!. I stayed 7 nights and enjoyed it very much, 10 minutes walking distance to Kuta beach and beach walk, there is back access. I will be back for sure!! see you soon Harper Kuta

Room Tip: High recommend Deluxe room spacious with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aprin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarperKuta, General Manager at Harper Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Aprin Y,

Warmest greetings from Harper Kuta - an extraordinary hotel in an extraordinary location.

First of all, thank you for your experienced at Harper Kuta and taking your time to share your valued comment at trip advisor. .

What a great compliment !! I was amaze to read down your comment and will share this to our staff and believe they will happy to read this.

Thankfully, you were benefited with our location, rooms, breakfast, BBQ and our service. Please recommend us to your valued partners, families, colleagues and friends.

Delighted to welcoming you back at Harper Kuta in the future,

Regards,
Budhiwijaya (Jay)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 3 days for a business trip. The room was really nice and spacious (for rooms facing pools are smaller than the others). The bathroom was also very clean with modern minimalist design. I really enjoy my stay at this hotel.

For those seeking for a strategically located hotel with medium budget, this is one of the best hotel for you. Not for those travelling with kids as it is quite loud and near to clubs.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank csugirun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarperKuta, General Manager at Harper Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear csugirun,

Warmest greetings from Harper Kuta.

First of all, thank you for your experienced at Harper Kuta and taking your valued time to share your valued comment at trip advisor.

What a great compliment !!! thank you. It was great to hear that you were benefited with our rooms and design especially with our prime location.

I would share this valued comment to our team member and I believe that they would be happy to hear as well.

Delighted to welcoming you back at Harper Kuta in the future.

Regards,
Budhiwijaya (Jay)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is a good budget hotel that you would not regret staying. The rooms are new, clean and modern. Breakfast is good and so is the pool. Location is excellent as the main clubbing street is just at its doorstep. It is also walking distance to Matahari Shopping Mall.

The only downside was that each room was only allowed one key. This was a problem for me as there was two of us and caused abit of inconvenience to us. The hotel management should change this policy.

This hotel is not comparable to a luxury 5 star chain but it is a great value for the rates that you pay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eswaran m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarperKuta, General Manager at Harper Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Eswaran m,

Warmest greetings from Harper Kuta. First of all thank you for your experienced with Harper Kuta and taking your time to written your valued comment at trip advisor.

It was glad to hear that you were happy to stay with us. What a great compliment ! Since our location is in the mid area of Kuta and close to main attraction which is within walking distance. Also as you know that the breakfast was feature various menu with pancake station, milk on table and smoothies.

For room key, it is supposed to deliver 2 keys which is you were two occupants and it is already based on our hotel regulation. For this case on behalf of Management I do apologized for this inconvenience and it would not happen anymore in the future.

Delighted to welcoming you back at Harper Kuta and pleased to inform our signature dish and The Spa is now open and ready to pampering you with various menu, thank you.

Regards,
Budhiwijaya (Jay)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were here on a company trip. Booked 4 rooms, had separate check-in and check-out dates. We had so much problems dealing with the receptionists (different people everyday) because of all the separate bookings. If you tell Miss A something on Day 1, you have to repeat the same thing to Miss B on Day 2, and again the same thing to Miss C on Day 3. Manager was not good at solving problems too. Room was clean and nicely furnished. Breakfast was average. There are better ones opposite the hotel. Looking at the number of hotels in Bali, this is definitely not one that I would return to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 512Carmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarperKuta, General Manager at Harper Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear 512Carmen,

Warmest greetings from Harper Kuta. First of all, thank you for your time to experienced with Harper Kuta and taking your time to share your comment at trip advisor.

We would like to apologize to you for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us, Communication is important which is supposed to be connected each other within each shift. I will immediate take action by rebrief our staff so that does not happen anymore for our guest.

For us, guest satisfying is our key points and we will training our staff how to build good communication either internal or external.

Again, we do apologized and we are delighted to welcoming you back at Harper Kuta in the near future.

Regards,
Budhiwijaya (Jay)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.5 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#6 of 252 in Kuta
820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#15 of 252 in Kuta
683 reviews
1.1 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bene Hotel
The Bene Hotel
#25 of 252 in Kuta
702 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fontana Hotel Bali
Fontana Hotel Bali
#33 of 252 in Kuta
782 reviews
1.7 mi away
H Sovereign Bali
H Sovereign Bali
#37 of 252 in Kuta
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harper Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harper Kuta

Address: Jl. Legian no. 73, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#18 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: £28 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harper Kuta 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a total of 149 rooms, consisting of Superior Room, Deluxe Room, Family Suite, and Harper Suite, each room type has a distinctive tailored to the needs of the guests.Located right in the heart of Legian-Kuta Bali, which famous with its shopping paradise, nightlife entertainment, famous cafes and restaurants to complete leisure time in Bali. Airport is reachable within 15 minutes, while the legendary Kuta Beach is within walking distance. All rooms come conveniently equipped with high-speed wireless internet connectivity, 32-inch flat-screen televisions with over 60 cable channels, safety box, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities, while selection movie with DVD players and 42-inch televisions are standard in all suites. Exceptional service with international standards yet friendly to ensure a memorable stay, HARPER KUTA has gracious combination of style and heartfelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harper Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harper Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing