We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harper Hotel”
Review of Harper Kuta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harper Kuta
Ranked #47 of 338 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Harper Hotel”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Right in the heart of the nightlife although you would never know it from the peace in the hotel. There is an adaptor socket in the wall, the bathroom\toilet has a glass wall into the bedroom and a blind needs to be pulled for privacy - why not opaque glass?? Breakfast options of english, continental or asian.

Room Tip: we had room 510 which is towards the back of the hotel with a balcony overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarperKuta, General Manager at Harper Kuta, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Denise B,

Thank you for your kind review of Harper Kuta and we are very pleased to learn that the hospitality and service extended by our team made your stay memorable.

We look forward to extending our intuitive service to you when you return for another holiday to Bali. Thank you once again for your comments.

Harperly yours,
Budhiwijaya (Jay)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    457
    129
    25
    18
See reviews for
197
358
85
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Been to bali many times over the last couple of years. all i can say is that this is one of the best places to stay in bali. u will get the occassional Bogan that does not know how to behave in a 4 star hotel......but apart from that, it is fine. Breakfast is amazig and the beach, the nightlife, the shopping and many attractions are close at hand.
The rooms are fantastic,new and in good order. compared to other hotels in kuta for the price, it is unmatched.
Internet: probably the best u will get in Kuta. fast speed and without interruptions. I dont know how they do it but other hotels can learn alot on how to set up WIFI from these guys.
Security: In room Safe is Excellent
Staff: Attentive and very friendly
Breakfast: THE BEST
Location: PERFECT

I will be back in 3 weeks guys. See u soon. Tiri Makasi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarperKuta, General Manager at Harper Kuta, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Carl H,

Thank you for staying with us and writing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.com. We will deliver your awesome message to our team and also looking forward to welcoming you back soon and to give you a much better service than your previous visit.

Harperly yours,
Budhiwijaya (Jay)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Checked in was smooth..friendly staffs who gave us some advices around and how to go to the beach. Even printed out a map around Kuta beach and the hotel knowing we are first timer. They even have welcome drinks (pineapple drink) to battle the hot weather.

We were given two interconnecting rooms at level 3, wifi was alright but stronger at the lift area. Couldnt even do video call in the room smoothly but at the lift area was awesome.

Breakfast was pretty nice with some standard foods daily like muffins, breads, egg station, cereal, yogurt, fruits & salads. They will still inform you to take your serving as they are keeping the breakfast when we went down late on a morning.

Bed was comfortable, TV have 61 channels ranging from TLC, news, animals planet to sports & movies. A big range of channels to enjoy if you are chilling at the room at night.

Lucky for us, the rooms were not noisy as we were facing the next door hotel. We stayed at 311 n 315, so if you like to have some peaceful sleep..can get this two rooms.

Overall, I feel Harper would be a good choice to stay and relax. We even tried their spa and it was awesome. Good pricing with good service.

A small advice if you want them to change your towel, remember to throw them on the floor. Because when I placed them on the toilet bowl to be changed, they just folded it back for reuse.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarperKuta, General Manager at Harper Kuta, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Jocelyn C,

Thank you for make review and commenting positive comments such as friendliness staff, comfortable bed and nice breakfast on tripadvisor.com.

We happy to hear that you enjoyable stay and experience at Harper kuta, and indeed we have notification in room regarding our linen in order to give our best service to all of our guests.

Again, thank you and delighted to welcoming you back in the near future.

Harperly yours,
Budhiwijaya (Jay)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on some positive reviews on Tripadvisor and we booked directly on the hotel's website because it offers better rates when compare against online agents' websites.

Some positives points we have observed:-

1) Location: right in the centre of Kuta - very close to restaurants, pubs, bars , esp. Night clubs - sky lounge. If you are looking for a centrally located hotel in Kuta, this is it.
2) Professional Customer Service: on the day we made our booking, we got immediate response from the hotel and the manager sent us a welcoming note by email a few days before arrival. This is good. The driver, front office staff and even security are extra friendly and accommodating. This is a strong plus.
3) Room size and amenities: fairly spacious and it has all the amenities that you would have hoped for a 4 star hotel.
4) hotel's facilities: there are 2 swimming pools (one for adults and one for children) and free wifi. You will be surprised quite a few restaurants in Bali dont offer wifi service.

Improvements needed:

1) Location: because this hotel is so close to night clubs, you can hear the noise disturbing at night. Understand that this may be beyond the management unless they can replace current windows to double glazing to seal off noises. So if you arent deep sleepers, dont choose this hotel because the noises outside will keep you wide awake all night.
2) Housekeeper: despite being so prompt to do their job early morning, we founs that they were knocking our door too early to clean our room. Understand that there are 149 rooms , but if they could be slightly late in cleaning the room? On 2 occasions that we had to call the reception to bring us clean towels as the old ones werent replaced.
3) smell from the floor drain: there is a bad smell from the floor drain in the bathroom. We havent reported this to the hotel yet. This is not that serious but it could be better if the housekeeper can keep an eye on things.
4) Restaurant: noticeably there arent enough staff to serve guests particularly when there are many guests coming down to have breakfast at the same time. The food variety could be better and some cubs need better cleaning as we got one cup with a lipstick on.
5) wifi signal: it is often not so stable and the speed sometimes isnt good. Again, this may be purely the internet service provider, not the hotel itself.

Overall, it is quite a pleasant place to be in Bali albeit the points mentioned for improvements. This property has a strong potential and could have gained 5-dotted rating if they have fixed the abovementioned points. Nonetheless, well done to the management and staff.

Stayed April 2557, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kijtanat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarperKuta, General Manager at Harper Kuta, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Kijtanat P,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for writing a review regarding professional staff, room and amenities and location on TripAdvisor.com.

We are delighted to have your constructive feedback and we would improve this immediately in order service improvement in the future. We will discuss this with team and take action to gain our performance for our better treatment to all guests.

We strive daily to give the best service and we are open for suggestions to better improve our service. Thank you and good day.

Haperly yours,
Budhiwijaya (Jay)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

arrived 2am from our international flight, the front officer in charge was a bit slow in understanding us, good thing another colleague of his took over. Check -in time took sometime before we were able to get our room. the breakfast food is ok, they had a good selection of food choices.

The only 2 drawbacks were the day during Nyepi, march 31, as they have limited food choices, then dinner time come, there were no food anymore from the kitchen , given the fact that all people are restrained to go out in streets and all stores are close during "silent day"

secondly, the massage itself is good, however the therapist were unprofessional. The ambiance sounded like an eatery, as plates and utensils were banging, we don't know if staff were eating inside. We had a group massage, so our therapist were talking to each other and murmuring almost 30 from the start of massage.

Overall, the accommodation was ok, and it is stil worth going back to.

Room Tip: Ground floor with easy pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AcaciaTreeGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarperKuta, General Manager at Harper Kuta, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Acacia TreeGarden,

Thank you for your constructive feedback, we most delightful to improve our service in order to serve better services in the future. We would immediately discuss with department concerned to rectify regarding your comments. We do apologize for inconvenience during your stay at Harper Kuta.

Again, thank you and wish you were here in the near future at Harper kuta, Bali.

Regards,
Budhiwijaya (Jay)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We found the Harper Kuta Hotel to be in a excelent location. We loved the hustle and bussel of the aera. The staff very friendly and heplful. We found our room very clean with all amenities we needed. The breakfast's we had at the Harper were excelent, with a large variety of food and drink. Many small bars and very cheap restaurants with excelent food in the local area. We also cooled off in the pool which is great. We stayed for 6 knights and would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was near the front, but still very quite on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarperKuta, General Manager at Harper Kuta, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Stephen K,

Thank you for sharing your fabulous experience at Harper Kuta, it sounds like you really enjoyed our services and facilities. Indeed our staff are well trained and I will forward this value comment on to them and I believe that they will be happy to hear your comments.

We would enjoy welcoming you back at Harper Kuta in the near future. Thank you.

Regards,
Budhiwijaya (Jay)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel is new, opened in July 2013, and room was clean. I asked for a quieter room as I had read that some rooms had noise pollution from the nearby all-night bars. My room was therefore quiet from the outside noise, but it was so very noisy because of the guests staying in the hotel. There were many local guests who knocked on each other's doors at all times to go to the early morning breakfast together or just getting their friends over to other rooms. The noise pollution from the corridor was so bad, I had to go out of my door to make them quiet twice in a few days. We also had a huge number of local school kids staying there and I hope there will not be the same problems in future because other than those misfortune, I thought the hotel was a very good value for money and clean. They also have a comprehensive satellite tv programs for all nationalities, it is a truly international service. The staff were generally friendly and helpful. It was a good stay even though the surrounding area is a bit loud and tawdry.

Room Tip: The lower floors are too noisy with the crowd in the swimming pool, if the rooms are even-numbered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yokey-Pokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarperKuta, General Manager at Harper Kuta, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Yokey-Pokey,

Thank you for your constructive comments, we do apologize that you were disturbing by other guests who stayed on the same floor, we will be more alert in reminding our guests so that they doesn’t disturb other guests.

I’m glad you enjoyed our services and indeed our staff are helpful and friendly we continuously train them to ensure international standard service delivery.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Harper Kuta in the near future.

Regards,
Budhiwijaya (Jay)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#21 of 338 in Kuta
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#13 of 338 in Kuta
752 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fontana Hotel Bali
Fontana Hotel Bali
#44 of 338 in Kuta
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
0.5 mi away
Berry Glee Hotel
Berry Glee Hotel
#25 of 338 in Kuta
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asana Agung Putra Bali
Asana Agung Putra Bali
#72 of 338 in Kuta
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harper Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harper Kuta

Property: Harper Kuta
Address: Jl. Legian no. 73, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#33 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harper Kuta 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a total of 149 rooms, consisting of Superior Room, Deluxe Room, Family Suite, and Harper Suite, each room type has a distinctive tailored to the needs of the guests.Located right in the heart of Legian-Kuta Bali, which famous with its shopping paradise, nightlife entertainment, famous cafes and restaurants to complete leisure time in Bali. Airport is reachable within 15 minutes, while the legendary Kuta Beach is within walking distance. All rooms come conveniently equipped with high-speed wireless internet connectivity, 32-inch flat-screen televisions with over 60 cable channels, safety box, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities, while selection movie with DVD players and 42-inch televisions are standard in all suites. Exceptional service with international standards yet friendly to ensure a memorable stay, HARPER KUTA has gracious combination of style and heartfelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harper Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harper Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing