We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HQ Restaurant and Hotel

HQ Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #123 of 944 Restaurants in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: HQ, A REMARKABLE BEACH- AND SUNSET VENUE HQ Beach Bar is incorporated in Hotel Grand Inna Kuta, overlooking the white sandy Kuta Beach offering an infinity swimming pool, a private beach area with sun lounges and bean bags, alfresco- or lounge dining facilities whilst you watch in comfort the hustle and bustle of Kuta passing you. An extensive beverage menu is available ranging from the classic cocktails, tantalizing tropical juices upto enticing exotic concoctions created by our mixologists. We serve a Fusion styled cuisine combining Western, Asian & Indonesian food to delight your pallets prepared with great diligence by our Chefs. Whether you come over for a meal or casual cocktails, HQ Beach Bar setting provides sweeping views of the Kuta Beach life with in the background the Indian Ocean that will simply take your breath away during sunsets.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Reading the reviews make it an easy choice when referring family and friends to HQ.
Must admit I had a big laugh and the utterly false review titled 'OMG'.
The reply from Barry was one that was on the mark and frankly brilliant for any reader.
I'll be going in November and getting one of those icy cold beers as pictured.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodykaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryHeadquarters, General Manager at HQ Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear WoddyKaz,


See you in November, of which is not far away,

Really appreciate your comments based on referring friends and family to visit HQ,

We will all welcome you on your return soon,


Kind Regards,



Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    82
    27
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This place is a gem! The restaurant/bar/ pool is just next to kuta beach!! It offers free usage of their towels, pool and beach chairs with any food / drink purchase which was perfect for me as I was alone and wanted a dip while keeping an eye on my stuff.

Their staff are also very friendly and attentive. Great service - came here everyday when I was in kuta

Helpful?
1 Thank Poisoivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryHeadquarters, General Manager at HQ Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Poisoivy,

Thanks very much for visiting and posting on Tripadvisor,

Really glad to hear you enjoyed the Sunset Garden, Pool and HQ's facilities,

Thanks too for a mention on the great team of staff and that you were pleased with the service,

It is a pleasure to read you visited us everyday whilst in Kuta,

Safe journeys and it will be great to see you at HQ again on your travels,


Best Regards,



Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We came here for dinner once during our stay.
The location is fantasic, right on Kuta beach and the view of the sunset was nice and relaxing.
They could take it a step higher by having a live band there during the evening like many other restaurants are doing - would make the atmosphere better.
There was a supplier issue so a few meals were unavailable (first 4 that we tried to order but the Manager was very apologetic). This left me with ordering the chicken satay which was nice.
To be honest, the service wasn't great. I'm not sure if the same staff are working in 2 different areas but we hardly saw any and had to wait a while before we found one to ask for the bill.
The manager took our order and then chatted to a friend for the rest of the time we were there only to get up as we were leaving to ask how our meal was.
I guess it may depend on the night to what type of experience you have as there are heaps of other reviews saying how good it is, I am a little disappointed and not sure if I would eat here when I holiday in Bali again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2809Emilyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryHeadquarters, General Manager at HQ Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Emily,

Thanks for finding the time to review HQ here on tripadvisor,

It is a great sign that we are one, of only two reviews for restaurants in Kuta so, thank you,

Great to read you appreciate the location and setting,

It is a pity to read of your negative experience,

Thanks for requesting an event every night of the week, [shame you were not there at a previous entertainment filled evening] as a new business we are not quite at that stage but ideally, I agree with you it can only add to the current set up,

I am very disappointed to read you had the perception that you were not payed enough attention,

If I have a discussion at HQ, it is either a meeting or a discussion with a sociable customer [I socialise outside of my workplace] Sorry I couldn't have more time to talk with you, as I recall, we were busy that particular evening,

I do remember your first choice was off the menu, I do apologise again. At the end of July we did have a supplier issue where they could not deliver the next day due to their staff being absent to celebrate the recent Religious holiday season,

Sorry to hear you had to wait for the bill, the good aspect is you enjoyed your meal and it was obviously served on time,

I hope to see you in person, again, upon your next visit to Bali and I would appreciate it if you would air your opinion directly instead of procrastinating here,

Overall, please do return, enjoy our next event and I will make time to sit with you and ideally, have a discussion over a drink,


Best Regards,



Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallacia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We just got back to Sydney and I had to write a review on this place!!!! We spent 10 days in Kuta, and we spent a lot of time here, great food, great service, and a credit to the manager and staff here, keep up the good work, where coming back again in January!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dillo500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryHeadquarters, General Manager at HQ Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Dillo500,


Thanks ever so much to you and co. for already being great regular customers at HQ,

Your custom and time spent to highlight this new business are so very much appreciated,

Kindly introduce yourself in the soon to be January 2015, it is always a pleasure to catch up with repeat customers,

Safe Journeys !


Best Regards,



Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnybrook, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OMG”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

How in 12 months has this place gone backwards. Am unsure whether it was the time of the year we went July- August 2014, but I was so disappointed. It took 1 1/2 hrs for our food to be delivered & that only happened because I complained to the English Boss incharge. Drinks are never cold & there is nothing worse than waiting for your food & drinks & watching the staff drink their Bintangs. We counted at one time 11 chefs behind the counter doing the orders & still the food took this long. Last year I would have given this Restaurant a4 star rating but now if we go back to this hotel again I won't be bothered eating there. Staff everywhere but nothing to show for it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonie25356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryHeadquarters, General Manager at HQ Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Leonie666,

It is with utter disappointment and sadness to read your vile lies, attached to HQ's Tripadvisor page,

Thankfully, anyone with intelligence, will look at your account and find '4 reviews in Kuta [Inclusive of 1 headed under 'Bali, Indonesia'] and will judge the overall perception correctly,

I have never heard a complaint for '1 and a half hours' waiting for food [ I guess you mean me as the 'English Manager??']

Though, the pick of the bunch is, you describing my excellent team of staff, were 'drinking their bintangs' whilst you were waiting! Disgusting Lies and more lies,

Have you any idea on the abbreviation of 'OMG???'

Do you think it stands for. 'O.nly M.adness G.iven?'

Plus, yes, amazingly plus, you described '11 Cooks' again complete lies,

Thank you so much for declaring 'you'll never come back' or if you change your mind, an apology would be fitting!

Do you enjoy pouring scorn on businesses that only strive every day to see people from all over the world enjoy their vacation time or something ?

Finally, to all readers, I thank you in advance for reading between the lines I am sure the vast majority will see this for what it is,



Best Regards,



Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HQ Restaurant and Hotel also viewed

 

Been to HQ Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing