We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet gem amongst paddy fields”
Review of The Seri Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Seri Suites
Ranked #136 of 280 Kuta B&B and Inns
Malaysia
Level Contributor
622 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
“Quiet gem amongst paddy fields”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

During our week long stay in Bali, we decided to put up 3 nights at The Seri Suites. We did our homework on the internet as usual and read quite a lot of reviews (Trip Advisor among many others) and this place seemed to fit into our budget and expectation. We chartered a taxi service for the entire week through a friend’s recommendation. The taxi picked us up from the airport and brought us for a nice meal at Wong Solo café and then straight to the hotel. We were warmly greeted by the hotel staff who immediately brought us our welcome drink (A tasty concoction of fruit juice). The resort houses a very cozy coffee house, a swimming pool and less than 20 suites. So you can expect to enjoy a serene and quiet environment.

We were quickly ushered by the reception staff to our room situated on the upper floor and he spent some time with us explaining the available amenities in the room as well as the common area. Our room came with a huge landing area with open air seating area. Perfect place to chill out while sipping on some Bintang Beer. We spent our first 2 hours after check in doing just that and ended up exhausting our mini bar and had to order more beer via room service. We took a dip in the pool which was small but then again, do we actually need a huge pool on our vacation? After that, we went out to Warung Nuri for a splendid pork ribs and roasted duck dinner. Highly recommended for first time travelers to Kuta – Expect mouthfuls of juicy pork ribs grilled to perfection! Ambience is good – Mixture of foreigners and locals can be seen frequenting this place.

Oops.. Straying from the topic.. Back to the hotel. Our room featured a queen sized bed with a walk in wardrobe and attached open concept bathroom. The beds were properly made and clean – important for a good night sleep. The room also comes with TV, DVD player, 5.1 channel sound system, electronic mozzy repellant & umbrella (For those unexpected rainy days). As for the bathroom, it is partly open air so be weary not to over expose yourself to next door buildings. It comes with a bathtub (Doubles up as the shower area) and a huge rack to put all your belongings. Be sure to ledge the bathroom door for added security when you go out from your room. One tiny problem with our room is that the air conditioning was not powerful enough to cool the room down to the optimum temperature.

We had a pretty awful sleep on the first night as we were abruptly woken up by noisy chickens which were reared by private residences next to the hotel. The staff quickly changed our rooms to another unit away from the noise the next day. Service is good!
Overall, we enjoyed our stay there very much and left behind a sizable amount of tips to be shared by all the staff. We will definitely return to Bali again and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    19
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed here for 6 days the rooms a very clean & the dinning area as well, The staff are wonderful they are a credit to the owns. The staff a very friendly the hotel might be a bit out of Seminyak but they do have a free shuttle three times a day, It only cost about $6 Aus dollors back to the hotel from Kuta.

Kelly & Tanya would like to say thank you to the staff for making this a peaceful & quite trip

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zena000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

My wife and I loved the hotel and the staff. Outstanding customer service. i think it is the "Bali Way". Umalas is a pretty place and the hotel is set amongst rice fields in a picturesque location. A nice village out of the hustle and bustle of Seminyak. But life in the village is not as peaceful as one would expect. Unfortunately, the hotel has a neighbour that seems to breed fighting cocks. We were woken at 2 am each morning by the most horrible crowing I have ever heard. A Pathetic, painful chorus of unhappy caged birds. And it continued all through the day. I suppose even roosters have to sleep and that was from dinner time until the early morning hours. Then it began all over again. I will never stay here again and I will definitely tell others to stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alancocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The Seri Suites felt like home from home and the ideal place to start our holiday in Bali. Although the location is a little bit remote (just outside of Seminyak) hiring a scooter meant we got around easily and could get to the restaurants and shops in Seminyak and Kuta in no time at all.

We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe suite which was just perfect. The room was very modern, spacious and we had our own private balcony to hang out on. The hotel was very peaceful and we rarely saw other guests. The bathroom was semi open with hot shower, bath and lots of space. There was no problem with spiders or bugs despite the openness of the shower if this worries you at all!

The pool was very pretty and tucked away at the back of the hotel - could done with slightly more attention to cleaning but we took a few dips nonetheless and enjoyed a massage by the pool.

The hotel staff were superb, really friendly and helpful whenever needed. And the house keeping standard was very high. I would definitely recommend this place

Room Tip: Stay in a deluxe suite upstairs for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londondriftwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

The area is a bit run down, i am sure 20 years ago it was a nice place but now the whole unit needs a urgent refit. Large rooms but with a urgent need of maintenance, bathromm ceilings full of mold and humidity as units above have leaks. The beds in need of new bedding as present stuff is quite old. Nice service, no communication problems, food is a bit bland, pool could do with a change of water and some upgrade. The photos were probably done 15 years ago and do not reflect the actual condition. Pain in the [---] is the neighboring chicken farm, with roosters making noise on a 24 hour base.
I paid 75$/night in a grand 1 bedroom suite, for low season way to much, fair value would be around 40$.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Interoceanhkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I have so many good things to say about this place service was excellent from the staff went out of their way beyond expectations, rooms were huge, location was great not far from kuta there was a free shuttle bus also the buffet breakfast was amazing. The only one down fall is the rooster next door but can easily put up with it i would definatley stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahhh_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We loved this place and honestly I can't say enough good things about it: the setting is relaxed with tropical plants everywhere, stone paths and a chill outdoor pool area; staff are friendly, knowledgeable, attentive and went out of their way to make us feel welcome; the rooms are HUGE, far more space than we needed in the kitchen/dining/living area, the bedroom & king sized bed was super comfortable, and the open-air bathroom was clean and equipped with everything we needed. Breakfast in the morning was a great selection of fresh fruits & juices, pastries, eggs, toast, cereal, coffee, tea and the list goes on. The location was perfect for us as we were far enough from town to feel relaxed and away from it all but close enough that it's easy and cheap ($1.50US max for a taxi) to commute. Plus, the hotel has a free shuttle that goes into Seminyak a few times a day. We were traveling and staying extensively throughout S.E. Asia for a few months and this hotel stands out as a favourite.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anothernusadua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali
3.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#22 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,802 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Bali Kuta Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Bali Dynasty Resort Hotel
3.8 mi away
Rhadana Kuta
Rhadana Kuta
#78 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
5.3 mi away
Novotel Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seri Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seri Suites

Property: The Seri Suites
Address: Br Umalas Kauh, Jl. Umalas I Number 42, Kuta 80031, Indonesia (Formerly known as Villa Seri)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 280 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Seri Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rice paddies and a charming Balinese Village, The Seri Suites in Umalas, Kerobokan, offer a genuine Bali experience in a relaxing, quiet environment. Only 20 minutes from Bali's International Airport and less than 10 minutes by free drop off shuttle service from the shopping, chic dining, beaches and famous sunsets of Seminyak and Oberoi. All bedrooms are fully air-conditioned with en-suite bathrooms, entertainment units satellite TV, DVD, CD and WIFI broadband internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Seri Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seri Hotel Kuta
The Seri Suites Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing