We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel ZIA Bali – Kuta
Nearby Hotels
Sheraton Bali Kuta Resort(Kuta)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramayana Resort & Spa(Kuta)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taum Resort Bali(Kuta)(Great Value!)
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas(Kuta)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bali Dynasty Resort Hotel(Kuta)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
89
152
70
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
152
70
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe holiday inn expressrooftop pooldepartmental storefo stafffree breakfast isshower drainfront desk staffwalking distancenice hotelrecommended hotelhotel is locatedextra bednoodleshard rock caferooms are smallspecial thankschoose this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great compact property in the heart of Kuta.
Excellent welcoming at the reception by smiling & friendly staff.
The room was rather small, though very clean & new with all amenities provided.
Comfortable bed & extensive range of channels on the TV.
Nicely modern & tastefully furnished throughout with some evident balinese influence.
Breakfast in the ground floor restaurant was simple & fresh with the take away express coffee a great idea.
Brisk checkout, again with smiling & gracious staff thanking me once again for my stay & honest & orderly arrangements for transport.
Well done!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieScott70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus B, Manager at Hotel ZIA Bali – Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Greetings AussieScott70,

Thank you for your recent stay with us,
Great to hear that our simple, and smart hotel is completed your recent visit in Bali.
It will be our pleasure to be always engage with our guest, I will pass your experience to our team and thanking them to make your stay more valuable.
Looking forward to welcome you soon.

Smart regards,

Bagus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The small hotel is located in the heart of Kuta, within walking distance to shops and about 15 minutes stroll to the beach. The entrance is found along a small side road from the main street but you can actually see the Holiday Inn logo at the top of the building. Check in was fairly quick and the staff were friendly, although you could tell that some of them were new. Although the hotel has an open concept (no air-cons at lobby and hallways), it does not have smoking rooms. The room was not that big but it kept to Holiday Inn's cleanliness standards. Breakfast was simple and nice. The roof top swimming pool was small but nice and clean, with some works going on at one end, which I hope they can turn into a bigger bar or something. The only big problem with the hotel was the noise of dog barks and motorcycles at night.
We were unfortunate to fall prey into a non-commissioned money exchange counter at a nearby street, which shortchanged us RP300,000 upon our return to the hotel. When we told the staff serving at the counter what happened, he immediately called the town police chief, who swooped down in a couple of minutes to assist and without his help, we would not have gotten our money back. I would like to commend Yadi who was so prompt in assisting to retrieve back our money. We were later told that the best way was to find commissioned money changes at malls that will provide a receipt upon each transaction as proof. After this incident I am very confident of the security and comfort that Holiday Inn can provide to its customers.
All in all I think the hotel is excellent for light travelers or people who just need a nice room for the night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hiro6086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus B, Manager at Hotel ZIA Bali – Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Hiro6086,

Thank you for your recent visit and stay with Holiday Inn Express Bali Kuta Square,
Glad that our team is able to assist you during the event of shortchange in the local money exchange counter, our guest safety and secure is our main priority during their visit and stay in the Holiday Inn Express. As the safety & security will be the first asset to be comfortable and get the value for money. We are offering a smart experience, with a smart concept to maintain the liberty of our guest to be comfortable, connected, and independent.
I will inform Yadi about your appreciation toward his assistance and makes your recent visit memorable.
Looking forward to welcome you back.

Smart regards,

Bagus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have stayed there first week of March. The hotel is small but nice, the rooms are not that big but nice too with great shower facilities. There are no restaurants, except for the one where you can have breakfast, next to the lobby. The breakfast was ok. The staff are friendly and helpful and so the service. Only issue we had was some problem with the room key device and we could not enter, being locked out from the room we had to wait about an hour until they manage to open the door. We have asked to change the room once the problem was fixed and everything else was fine. The housekeeping cleans room too early. We wanted to go to the room and housekeeper was already inside cleaning. He shut the door letting us stay outside without opening the door for us to enter, neither apologising for it. Otherwise good hotel to stay in, around 15 min walking to the beach and close to shopping areas. The hotel does not provide transport but they can arrange a taxi for you. be aware that the taxi drivers and at the exchange counters can cheat you especially if you are not familiar with the Indonesian rupee. The best is to change money in a bank. Shops and banks are closing early

Room Tip: Rooms with the view to the hotel entrance and dining area are better. All rooms have very small balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioanna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus B, Manager at Hotel ZIA Bali – Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Ioanna01,


Greetings from the heart of Kuta, Bali
your review and input has been in our attention to improve our facility and services more better in the future for our guest. I am sorry for your inconvenience where some of the service was not deliver in a timely manner.
Our Guest Service Agent will be more than happy to provide our guest any information they might needed, from the surrounding area, recommendation of our guest needs and wants, and also any input that our guest may deliver directly to our 24/7 frontdesk counter.
Thank you very much for your recent stay and review, and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in our smart hotel.

Smart regards,


Bagus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed 2 day ago and it was a ok. Check in quick and efficient and the staff are friendly. My room was on the 6th floor and you could hear the neighbouring children and rooster. The room was clean and the bed was very comfy and I had a very good night sleep. Breakfast was limited and I didn't enjoy it. This hotel is right in the centre of kuta, with shops everywhere, kuta beach is a 10 min walk. I chose this hotel because it stated that it had a self service laundry, but there isn't any because it wasn't installed yet. Would I stay there again? Not sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funlovingtraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus B, Manager at Hotel ZIA Bali – Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Funlovingtraveller46,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.
Holiday Inn Express is the smart hotel for savvy travellers who are looking for best location and best value. Unfortunately during your visit our self service laundry has not been available yet as we are mentioned in our website, thus at the moment we are in progress we are offers the Laundry service for guest to use at additional cost.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to show you our improvement.

Smart regards,


Bagus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This property has been open since the end of December. Since our trip wasn't until mid February, I hoped all the kinks would be worked out. Not quite.

Check-in left me feeling very unhappy. Advertised features, such as the self laundry and gym were not installed, even though their website said otherwise. A baby cot was asked for, but again, they said they didn't have any. Even their own literature in the room said they had baby cots available.

No recognition for IHG members, and it felt as if the front desk staff were brand new.

Going to the room, I was surprised at how small the room was. Although advertised as a queen sized bed, it seemed more like a full size bed. And you barely have room to walk on either size of the bed.

After getting to the room, a desk supervisor came to the room, and apologized for the check-in experience. He offered complimentary laundry service, and use of the gym at the Holiday Inn. And miraculously a brand new baby crib showed up.

The next day we moved to a double bed room on the first floor, which was bigger. Unfortunately, it seemed to be the noisiest room in the whole hotel. Barking dogs, horn honking, plus noise from the lobby. Worst was the slamming door that leads to the lobby. Really hard to get a good nights sleep.

Another big problem with the rooms were had a number of defects. The doors dragged when closing them. The safety box in one room was not even bolted down. In the other room, there were some very short screws in the back, almost worthless.

The bathroom was pretty nice, with Toto fixtures. It has a single glass door that is both the shower door and the bathroom door. Worked okay, but water would leak out a bit during the shower. The water pressure was also way too high for the in toilet sprayer. Painful, in fact, the worst I've ever run into in Indonesia. I could turn the water knob underneath the toilet almost to off, and it would be okay, but then the toilet filled slowly.

The staff on subsequent days, was more professional and friendly. The breakfast was basic, but overall fine. The fruit was a bit subpar, but it was nice that the kitchen would cook you pork bacon or fried eggs.

Since IHG is opening a number of new HIEX in Indonesia soon, I hope that this property is not the model for them. I stayed at the new on in Singapore recently, and even though I had problems with their breakfast, their room was much superior to this one.

The beds were of decent quality, other than the "queen" being smaller than it should be. The internet was okay, but would fade in and out. And if you turned your laptop or iPad off, you had to relog in again, and again, and again.

This hotel is an open air concept. All the hallways are open, and you can see the residential neighbors when you look over the walkway. The swimming pool is small, but nice enough, on the top of the hotel.

This hotel does have potential, but certainly needs some work to come up to normal IHG standards.

Room Tip: Do not book room 122. Unless you want the noisiest room in the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaimitoCartero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus B, Manager at Hotel ZIA Bali – Kuta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Mr. JaimitoCartero,

Thank you very much for your comment and input.
first I would like to express my sincere apology of your inconvenience during your stay, our facility will be coming soon, and we have some challenge because of the eruption in Java that make some of our facilities are not ready.
Rest assured that your input has been in my full attention and will be take it seriously to met guest expectation. Trust that my team met you during your stay to do the service recovery.
Hopefully that I will be able to welcome you in nearest future to show you that we are improving and will be able to exceed your expectation.
Again, please do apology of your inconvenience visit last month, should you need any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me, Thank you very much.


Stay Smart,


Bagus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews