We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grear value right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Ranked #64 of 252 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very good hotel, unbelievable value for money. It was so cheap that I expected a lot less.

The location is perfect for those who wants to be right at the beach, it is
also beside the Beachwalk which is a huge shopping and dining complex
So you can find anything there.

In front of the hotel, they have their own restaurant and bar which serves
good food and not too pricey. They also gave me free drinks coupon for the bar for a glass of beer every evening.

The pool is quite big and looked really nice, but we were always out and didnt really get to
use it.

The rooms are quite large but its the old traditional style, not a new hotel but everything worked fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarnit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

Dear Mr. Sarnit K,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali would like to gratefully thank you for sharing your precious holiday experiences with us. We are pleased to know that you love our spaciously clean room as well as our nice atmosphere. It is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home.

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy that you love our awesome location, where is precisely in front of Kuta Beach, next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk as well as near to Legian street as the center of night life in Kuta. It is also easy for you to get to the other interesting places for shopping or sightseeing. We are pleased to know that you love our amazing food at Samudera Restaurant where you can enjoy and watch the waves of Kuta Beach.

We are gladly contented to acknowledge that you love our traditional Balinese style, which is surrounded by our beautifully lush garden that gives the serenity and relaxing feeling in your spacious room. We appreciate your feedback about our value for money room rate. However, the reason we could proudly give you the competitive price, because of your booking was made directly through our reservation.

We are delighted to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

My girlfriends & I stayed here after booking last minute online & we were not disappointed. We had SUCH a wonderful time here. The hotel is a prime location with the beach literally across the street. A traditional shopping market & the Westernized "Beachwalk Mall" are both within walking distance. The bars & nightlife of Legian are also walking distance if you know where to walk. Our room was clean, smoke free & functional. We spent most of our time outside anyway. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would like to make a special mention to Rara. Thank you so much for informing & coordinating for us our Balinese costume session, the banana boating trip & amazing beachfront sunset dinner. We had no idea that we were at the restaurant’s soft opening until after we finished dinner. We'll definitely be back for a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anjelica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndiAnanto, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Dear Ms. Anjelica P,
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for your time to share your wonderful holiday at our hotel. We are gladly happy to acknowledge that you like our clean room as well as our friendly and helpful staffs. As a part of our excellent services, we proudly present our Cultural Activities program for you to experience more of Bali. We are glad to know that you have time to enjoy Balinese costume photo session and Banana Boat riding.

We are happy to present our prime location, where is precisely in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali – Beachwalk. Moreover, we are contented to know that you spend your dining time at our Samudera Restaurant, where you also can take pleasure of the beautiful sunset of Kuta Beach at the same time.

We look forward to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali for your next visit.


Best regards,


Andi Ananto
General Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 754852
Email: gm@grandistanarama.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

the hotel is very big and just opposite Kuta beach, so it is great for surfers and sun lovers. There are a lot of short buildings immersed in a very well-kept garden, that's why it is very pleasant to stay there. the rooms are very big, comfortable and clean. It is true: they are not brand new, but why worry about that? the bathroom is spacious too. and you can get all this for only 50 bucks,which is great. the staff is kind and ready to organize activities for you. Buffet breakfast which is only 10 bucks is varied and abundant.
the swimming-pool is super clean and relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idontlovenicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andi A, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you very much for your trust to stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel and we're very grateful for your feedback to us. We completely realize your notice about 'not brand new' hotel. That is why Grand Istana Rama Hotel always try hard to consistently perform our clean room, well maintained garden and our free cultural activities. Grand Istana Rama always ensure our guests to always have lasting impression after staying with us by experiencing emotionally all cultural activities which are held from Monday to Saturday after breakfast time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights because we left another hotel early and was available online. The location is great, over the road from the beach and right next door to the new Beachwalk Shopping Centre so there's lots of shops & restaurants literally 2 minutes walk away. We booked online at the last minute for $60 a night. The room was clean, large and quiet. The staff were always friendly (regards to Widi at the pool) and the hotel grounds were well maintained and very clean. The air-con in our room was noisy and not very cold. If you're travelling on a tight budget, we found the hotel to be generally good, in a great location. Worth looking at.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't back onto the Beachwalk Shopping Centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BradandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

Dear Mr. BradandJohn,

Thank you for kindly sharing your generous reviews of your wonderful stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali on Tripadvisor. It is lovely to acknowledge that you describe on details regarding our hotel, wherein, you love your stay with our clean and large room as well as our friendly staffs. We are gladly happy to acknowledge that we exceed your expectation during your stay with us. It is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests.

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy to know that you love our great location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk. We are gladly contented to acknowledge that you love our grounds that give the serenity and relaxing feeling in your spacious room.

We appreciate your concern regarding the air conditioning. We already shared this information to our Engineering Department, in order to avoid the same problem in the future.

We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We ended up staying here because we left another hotel early and it was available online for cheap. The rooms are what you can expect for $50 bucks, a bit outdated but clean which was good. The first room we got smelled a lot like smoke so they offered to move us to another floor which was much better. Pool was nice and clean and DEAD.. we literally had the whole thing to ourself which was nice. We ended up staying for two days but didn't get to take advantage of any of the hotel credits they give you (free drink,banana boat ride, massage etc). Overall for $50 bucks it was a good deal for the location (right on the beach).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndiAnanto, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Dear Lindz 1,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is appreciatively thankful for sharing your holiday experiences during your stay with us. We are gratefully pleased to know that you like our comfortably clean room and also our excellent services. We are glad to know that you also enjoy our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

We are happy to know that you love our location where is located exactly in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest Shopping Center in Bali- Beachwalk. We appreciate your feedback on the condition of our room. As a part of our commitments to deliver the excellent service to our guest, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has been progressively carrying on room refurbishment and all of the old televisions were entirely replaced with new LED “Sharp” televisions 32 inches.

We look forward to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali for your next visit.


Best regards,


Andi Ananto
General Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 754852
Email: gm@grandistanarama.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

first of all we booked through Agoda and it is ranked as a 4*** hotel , in reality this is a very Dark, dirty and unpleasant place to sleep.
warning:
I have camped a lot, in different situations and don't mind some animals, insects etc, but this place is just infested by :RATS & cockroaches and is a 4**** hotel?????

definitely not the place if you want clean sheets, and no cockroaches walking over you!

we got to the hotel and from the reception you could tell by the dirty conditions, the bad attitude of the receptionist, and the darkness that something bad was about to happen. it was 1 am and, after long 30 min we were conducted to the room , on the way there were some nasty surprises to welcome us. while passing by, a group of rats were hanging around, very close to us, eating food leftovers that were thrown away on the corridors.. the place is basically infested... I thought that maybe the room was going to be okay after all the rats live every were... we had a room on the second floor, as we walked into the building the smell of trash and rotten food almost made me throw up, the rubbish was every were and then the mice were running all over the place......

when he opened the door I was disgusted already, but after i went into the room and had this wave of stink I thought, I am not sleeping in here, I entered the room and saw tiny little baby cockroaches walking on the WALLs, For god sake !!!I thought I was starring at an Alfred Hitchcock horror movie.

I was so upset, anyways we tried getting a more decent room in the hotel of horror just for the night as it was already 2:00am, the manager was unreasonable, never excused himself for the terrible conditions of the room, hotel, etc. I was so disappointed at Agoda for getting us in such a hole.

we left and slept in the POP hotel.. after paying £120 for two nightmares.

don't try it is my advice.



after

Room Tip: don't book in here, unpleasant experience..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angelica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Excellent location, close to shopping and dining areas and right opposite to the beach.

The hotel offers guests a great location to spend their vacations. There are plenty of options for rest and relaxation near the hotel as well opportunities to shop and party nearby. The hotel itself has a restaurant and bar. The Swimming pool is also a nice place to hang out. With the Beachwalk mall right next door there are also a lot of shopping options. The beach is just across the road. The rooms were big, clean and comfortable. Overall stay here was amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruchir_Asthana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndiAnanto, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Dear Mr. Ruchir_Asthana,

First of all we would like to gratefully thank you for you time in sharing your precious holiday experiences with us. We are pleased to know that you have a great experience with our comfortably big and clean room, as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home.

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy that you love our precious location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk. We are more than happy to know that you also enjoy our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

We are delighted to see you again in the near future.
Best regards,


Andi Ananto
General Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 754852
Email: gm@grandistanarama.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#40 of 252 in Kuta
2,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#22 of 252 in Kuta
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#66 of 252 in Kuta
1,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Kuta Beach
0.2 mi away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kuta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#40 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#47 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: £29 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as a four star hotel with excellent location on Kuta's superb beach - offers convenience, relaxation and some of the best surfing in the world, just a few step from your door. You just need around 15 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Ariprot. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is within walking distance to international shops of Kuta Square, entertainment venues of Jalan Legian, Poppies Lane and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali - Beachwalk. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has 150 renovated rooms that consist of Superior Room Upper Floor, Superior Room Ground Floor, Deluxe Room, and Garden Suite, which is sets in 1.7 Hectares of lush tropical gardens for your delightful Bali accommodation. All rooms and exterior spaces reflect the charm and fascination of Bali. As the Balinese style hotel, Grand Istana Rama has a stunning Samudera Restaurant, 69 Tequila Bar, and Ayodya Pool Bar. Samudera Restaurant offers Balinese and International cuisine, with a tropical ambiance. Wherein,for music lovers you can enjoy our live entertainment and sunset session with signature cocktails at 69 Tequila Bar. Grand Istana Rama Hotel features four Meeting Rooms that can cater for up to 30 - 250 attendees for conferences, gatherings, meetings, and weddings. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as the endlessly happening hotel offers you the long lasting memories during your holiday in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Istana Rama Kuta
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing