We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, poor room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Ranked #103 of 338 Hotels in Kuta
Findlay, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient location, poor room”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Location is excellent, just right next to the beach and a major shopping mall in Kuta. Bathroom is rather poorly maintained. But I guess for that price it was acceptable. Very noisy from early morning, but the hotel garden is actually quite well taken care of and pretty.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celinecherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndiAnanto, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Warmest Greetings From Endlessly Happening Hotel!

Thank you very much for your trust choosing Grand Istana Rama Hotel. Your feedback about bathroom is being progressively followed up.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to witness our good progress due to your valuable feedback.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    490
    214
    68
    67
See reviews for
238
369
91
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Located in a great spot directly opposite the kuta beach and with fantastic night life and restaurants just out the front door, the pool was just so lovely and warm i just never wanted to get out and the staff at the bar were just so friendly and happy it made for a fun day .The rooms were ok ,big bed ,good air con,satellite tv and a safe about the only thing i could pick on in the rooms was the shower was a little ordinary but for the price and how cheep they are i had no problems with it cleaners come around every day and clean the room and put new sheets and pillow case on the bed so the rooms were nice and clean every time you came back to it .I found all the gardens in and around this hotel to be stunning and so well maintain with fish ponds were you can feed them and little tokies (little squirrels) running around i did not see one rat or any feral animals, the staff were very helpful and friendly and every took us out for lunch just for our feed back on the hotel witch i found nice ..all in all stayed 8 night and loved it and for sure the next time we get to visit bail we will be booking in at the Grand Istana Rama ..

Room Tip: get the ground floor deluxe rooms ..so much better a few little dollars more but no stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 855619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndiAnanto, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Warmest Greetings From Endlessly Happening Hotel!

Thank you very much for your trust selecting Grand Istana Rama Hotel as your accommodation during your vacation in Bali. Your compliment about our consistent efforts to always make sure that our rooms clean, challenges us to keep up our good job performance.

Your admiring comment about our well maintained garden is highly appreciated. It has been becoming our commitment to proudly present not only clean room, but also naturally environmental garden to indulge our guests. Our naturally green garden is combined with newly biggest shopping mall in Bali where is located side by side with Grand Istana Rama Hotel, and the center of night life.

Again, we are very grateful with your truly support. Your recommendation to your relatives and friends shows you appreciate the service we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
552 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Would not recommend Kuta but if there this hotel is fine. Located opposite the beach with easy walking to bars and restaurants. Nice pool to relax by which beats the busy Kuta beach. Rooms are big but no hot water.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martynsnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 20 April 2015
Dear Mr. Martyn S,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for your time to share your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are gladly happy to acknowledge that you like our big room and also the ambiance at our swimming pool. It is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests.

We are happy to know that you love our excellent location, where is located right in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali – Beachwalk. It is also easy for you to get to the other interesting places for shopping or sightseeing. We are more than happy to know that you also enjoy our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the hot water. We already shared this information to our Engineering and Housekeeping Department to avoid the same problem in the future.

We are looking forward to see you again at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Conveniently located in the Kuta, party and beach area, this is a great hotel. Clean rooms, with efficient cleaning service.

Staff are also accommodating and pleasant. Surprisingly, the massage here is quite affordable as well and they'll head up to your room if requested. Has WIFI, pool but no gym.

My only complaint was that the floor constantly feels a bit grainy. The food room service menu is also quite lacking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SethLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 20 April 2015
Dear Mr. Seth Lui,

Thank you for kindly sharing your generous reviews of your wonderful stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali on Tripadvisor. It is lovely to acknowledge that you describe on details regarding our hotel, wherein, you love your stay with our nice ambiance, our spaciously clean room as well as our pleasant staffs. We are pleased to know that you enjoy our wonderful massage by our talented therapist. We are glad that you are satisfied with the nice touch by our efficient cleaning service.

We appreciate your concern regarding the floor and food. We already shared this information to our Housekeeping and Food & Beverage Department, in order to exceed the very high level guest satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

At first all was great at this hotel, we were going to visit a Bali school to give some gifts that were needed at the school when I realised a big bag of school supplies had been taken out of my suitcase....it was a shame but hey what can you do! The day before we left this hotel I was packing all my things to realise my car keys had been stolen out of my locked security box....needless to say the management did not care and I had to report it to the police. This left a bad taste in my mouth and a huge effort at the Perth airport trying to get a company out to get my car going. This cost me $800 at Perth for my car....lord knows why car keys were of any value but perhaps the other keys they thought might open something on my case...very upset about the whole experience and I love Bali. Thought you all should know be very careful at this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndiAnanto, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

I am really concern about what happened to you during your vacation in Bali. We regret to know your disappointment. In order to follow up this matter, it would be highly appreciated if you could send us your details, such as: your reservation number, date of arrival and departure, room number to be easily identified. Since we can not find your name in our computer system. Moreover, we can not find as well our security team report about the guests who made the report to the police station. Because in any hotels, it is obligation for the security hotel to accompany their guests if the guests need to go to the police station. Please advise your reservation details soon for our immediate follow up. Hopefully, this incident did not misaddress to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This Hotel is an older Hotel and when I booked my week holiday I took price over luxury. However, I very much enjoyed my stay at the Istana Rama Hotel. The room was clean and did not have the moldy smell usually associated with Bali Hotels. The bed was comfortable and the room serviced every day. There is good atmosphere around the pool and it's a natural spot to relax and enjoy reading books along with eating and drinking, plus swimming. The staff were friendly and helpful. Moreover, the location is superb both for the beach and the countless cafes and restaurants. The new Sheraton Mall is about 50 meters away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 21 April 2015
Dear Dionmik,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is gratefully thankful for sharing your precious holiday experiences with us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you love our comfortably clean room as well as our helpfully friendly staffs. We are gladly happy to acknowledge that we exceed your expectation during your stay with us, as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests.

Having a superb location exactly in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali – Beachwalk, we are proudly happy to acknowledge that you spare your wonderful time to enjoy our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing. We are also gladly proud that you love the nice atmosphere at our swimming pool.

We appreciate your feedback on the condition of our room. However, as a part of our commitments to deliver the excellent service to our guest, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has been progressively carrying on room refurbishment and all of the old televisions were entirely replaced with new LED “Sharp” televisions 32 inches.

We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Its a nice n gr8 hotel where u cn relax hve fun n enjoy ur life to d fullest wid jst relaxing in hotel r taking massage ........... n yes d service of grand istana rama hotel is worth i must say.... i really enjyd staying there wish i could go again n hve d sme experience

Room Tip: '' deluxe rooms wil be d nice choice r for Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yash0072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 21 April 2015
Dear Mr. Yash0072013,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali would like to gratefully thank you for sharing your precious holiday experiences during your holiday in Bali. We are pleased to know that you are satisfied with our excellent hospitality as well as our great service and also love our nice ambiance. It is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home.

We are proud to acknowledge that you will come and stay again at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali. However, the reason we could proudly give our guests the competitive price, because the booking was directly through our reservation.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#121 of 338 in Kuta
1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#71 of 338 in Kuta
2,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#19 of 338 in Kuta
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#160 of 338 in Kuta
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Property: Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kuta
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#56 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#71 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as a four star hotel with excellent location on Kuta's superb beach - offers convenience, relaxation and some of the best surfing in the world, just a few step from your door. You just need around 15 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Ariprot. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is within walking distance to international shops of Kuta Square, entertainment venues of Jalan Legian, Poppies Lane and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali - Beachwalk. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has 150 renovated rooms that consist of Superior Room Upper Floor, Superior Room Ground Floor, Deluxe Room, and Garden Suite, which is sets in 1.7 Hectares of lush tropical gardens for your delightful Bali accommodation. All rooms and exterior spaces reflect the charm and fascination of Bali. As the Balinese style hotel, Grand Istana Rama has a stunning Samudera Restaurant, 69 Tequila Bar, and Ayodya Pool Bar. Samudera Restaurant offers Balinese and International cuisine, with a tropical ambiance. Wherein,for music lovers you can enjoy our live entertainment and sunset session with signature cocktails at 69 Tequila Bar. Grand Istana Rama Hotel features four Meeting Rooms that can cater for up to 30 - 250 attendees for conferences, gatherings, meetings, and weddings. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as the endlessly happening hotel offers you the long lasting memories during your holiday in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Istana Rama Kuta
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing