We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Ranked #63 of 253 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My partner & I stayed at this hotel in a Superior Room, fortunately, for one night in March 2014. The experience wasn't that great! It was booked through AsiaRooms.com for approx Aud $ 64. We were given a first floor room next door to the parking of a busy shopping centre; the Beachwalk. The street noise level was constant by day & by night. When we first entered the room, it had a foul smell & we had to call the housekeeping people to temporarily get rid of it. As we were sweating, we had a shower to find out that the tiles in the toilet/bathroom were covered with mould, some broken, the shower drainage wasn't working properly. There were leaks near the toilet bowl & shower base. We tried with the reception staff to upgrade the room but was told that there was no other rooms vacant. The staff weren't very willing to help. As our flight out of Bali was late at night, we tried to negotiate a late check-out until 4 pm instead of 12, we were told that we can't, unless we pay another Aud $ 50, which we reluctantly paid! This one night at this hotel before our trip back to Australia was the worst we ever experienced in our travelling trips. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Make sure of the cleanliness of the amenities before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed in the Garden Suite which was perfect. Nice and clean. It has a nice restaurant and a bar. The pool area is quite big with a swim up pool bar and there was enough sunbeds for everyone. You get given a drinks voucher for 1 glass of beer every day and a 20min massage voucher too which was good. The best location as it was right opposite the beach, next to the shopping centre and the Sheraton and minutes to all the good places to eat and drink. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the Garden Suite, it was nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abutler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Dear Abutler70,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is gratefully thankful for sharing your precious holiday experiences with us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you love our spaciously clean room as well as our nice restaurant and bar, where you can relax and enjoy our strong Wi-fi. We are gladly happy to acknowledge that we exceed your expectation during your stay with us, as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests.

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy that you love our awesome location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach, next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk as well as near to Legian street as the center of night life in Kuta. It is also easy for you to get to the other interesting places for shopping or sightseeing. We are more than happy to know that you also enjoy our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

You get value for your money in their breakfast buffet. But room rates are quite on the high side considering the hotel is not well maintained. Even the pool has rough edges. The hotel premises is cluttered with leaves and bits and pieces of rubbish.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LanceMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed here for 7 nights in March last year. We stayed in a Garden Suite. Our rooms were nice and clean, very spacious with good air-con, Unfortunately my dad stayed in the one next to ours and then air con was broken and the bathroom was flooded.Breakfast wasn't that great i have had better in Bali. Pool and swim up bar were nice, staff were very friendly.It is very close to the main strip of kuta but is very quiet. Well manicured gardens/grounds.Tequila Bar was a cool hangout which we started off at every night.The bathroom smelt like sewage usually everyday but its Bali most places are going to smell like that.First sleep was quite interesting woke up feeling as if something was in the room.....turned light on and there were two little geckos above me on the roof :-) Pretty cute as long as you like lizards. Also the guy who takers your photos down the beach awesome guy! Very professional, photos looked great and only cost $100 for the whole thing.

I like trying new hotels when i go to bali but i would stay here again.

Room Tip: garden suite highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyFabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 13 nights... The staff were fantastic and very friendly ... The pool bar was put to great use although they do need to change there music up a little bit..the service was great, they even remained open after hrs so we could watch the rest of the footy... Photographers also around the pool if u wanted any photos taken... The rooms are a little dated and need a new coat of paint and a few little things fixed here and there (like a flat screen tv) but air con worked and it had a safety deposit box... Which ticked our boxes....close to the beach and to beachwalk mall...I would definately like to stay here again... :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Melly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Dear Ms. Melly M,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely grateful that you love your stay with us during your holiday in Bali. We are appreciatively thankful for your admirable praise for fantastic and friendly staff as well as our great service. It is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home.

We are happy to know that you love our excellent location, where is located right in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali – Beachwalk. It is also easy for you to get to the other interesting places for shopping or sightseeing. We are more than happy to know that you also enjoy our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

We appreciate your feedback on the condition of our room. However, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has been progressively carrying on room refurbishment and all of the old televisions were entirely replaced with new LED “Sharp” televisions 32 inches, in order to increase the very high level of guest satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our newly upgraded rooms.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back from spending 9 nights at this hotel. It is on the main road and across from the beach (right next to the new beach walk shopping centre). This is the first time we have stayed in Kuta as we have always opted for the quieter area of Seminyak. The hotel is in a great spot if you want to be amongst it all and at this time of year, the hotel and Kuta were not that busy. It is however located on the main oneway street which is a little annoying when getting a cab as they literally need to go around the block(s) to get back to the hotel. The hotel in its day would have been a prize; and if you are looking for that central 3 star hotel then this property may just suit you. We had a ground floor superior room which was ok, but if our room was anything to go by, a refurb would do it wonders. The room itself was spacious enough as was the bathroom; it is just a little dated and if you have noisy neighbours then you will hear them; a lick of paint and some new simple decor would be nice. The property itself has fabulous gardens as you venture to the back of the hotel where the accommodation is located and they are lit up beautifully in the evening. The pool is large and has a swim up bar but some large shrubs/trees in pots could offer some additional shade as well as soften the look of the pool area as a whole. The pool bar officially opens at 11am; but service poolside is virtually non existent! If you have guests that are already poolside and enjoying lounging around; you would think that staff would be going around asking if anyone would like a drink or something to eat ..... the amount of missed revenue!!!!! This was a general comment from other guests that we spoke to as well. The music selection from the pool bar needs desperate attention - we listened to the same 2 cd's for 9 days...... The food at the hotel was really good and breakfast selection was great. For lunch or dinner I would recommend the Thai beef salad; it is beyond delicious. The staff in general are friendly and helpful when approached. All in all we had a pleasant stay. The hotel needs some much needed TLC; a refurbishment of the rooms, pool area and restaurant could turn this place from 3 to 4 star; but at the end I guess it all comes down to dollars. Would we stay here again; if coming back to Kuta and the price was right; yes.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott_Heide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Loved the 24hr bar in front of hotel. Pool bar was also nice. Hotel is lovely with a nice pool. Staff friendly. Location is great and i recommend when booking to not include breakfast as we had a great time going out and having breakfast in different places. Some lovely places on poppies 2 and also on the kuta beach road. Only a minutes walk to the beachwalk shopping centre where there is a great food hall and lovely restaurants and pub upstairs. Also great are the many restaurants along the beach road just minutes from the hotel. Wouldn't stay at
Hotel again as we like to try different ones but would definitely recommend and would definitely stay in this area again

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neet119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Dear Neet119,

Thank you for spending your valuable time to share your experiences during your stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali. We are delighted to know that you love our friendly staff. It is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home.

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy that you love our precious location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach, next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk and close to many places that can be visited for shopping or sightseeing. We are glad to know that you also enjoy our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

We would like to thank you for recommending our hotel. However, the reason we could proudly give our guests the competitive price, because the booking was directly through our reservation.

We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
0.2 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#22 of 253 in Kuta
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#38 of 253 in Kuta
2,258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#71 of 253 in Kuta
1,366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Kuta Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kuta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#39 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#45 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: £26 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as a four star hotel with excellent location on Kuta's superb beach - offers convenience, relaxation and some of the best surfing in the world, just a few step from your door. You just need around 15 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Ariprot. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is within walking distance to international shops of Kuta Square, entertainment venues of Jalan Legian, Poppies Lane and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali - Beachwalk. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has 150 renovated rooms that consist of Superior Room Upper Floor, Superior Room Ground Floor, Deluxe Room, and Garden Suite, which is sets in 1.7 Hectares of lush tropical gardens for your delightful Bali accommodation. All rooms and exterior spaces reflect the charm and fascination of Bali. As the Balinese style hotel, Grand Istana Rama has a stunning Samudera Restaurant, 69 Tequila Bar, and Ayodya Pool Bar. Samudera Restaurant offers Balinese and International cuisine, with a tropical ambiance. Wherein,for music lovers you can enjoy our live entertainment and sunset session with signature cocktails at 69 Tequila Bar. Grand Istana Rama Hotel features four Meeting Rooms that can cater for up to 30 - 250 attendees for conferences, gatherings, meetings, and weddings. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as the endlessly happening hotel offers you the long lasting memories during your holiday in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Istana Rama Kuta
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing