We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Ranked #64 of 252 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed 10 May 2014

great location in kuta across the road from the beach next to the beach walk shopping mall and fab dining out, the buffet breakfast is one of the best and very good price we travelled as a family group everyone had a good time lots of swimming the pool was open 24 hours. thanks to the friendly staff

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Atrp,

First of all, we would like to appreciatively thank you for your trust to stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali during your vacation in Bali. We are gladly happy to acknowledge that we exceed your expectation during your stay with us as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests. Moreover, we are pleased to know that you like our great place as well as our friendly staff.

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy that you love our precious location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk. We are more than happy to know that you also enjoy our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

We are not only glad to know how much you admire our pool, but also how nice of you to praise the selections of our scrumptious buffet breakfast that you have at our Samudera Restaurant. Our restaurant has various selections of buffet breakfast such as: Indonesia dishes, eggs station, pancake station, noodle station, porridge station, dim sum, breads, desserts and fresh fruits with stunning view of Kuta Beach.

We appreciate your feedback about our value for money room rate. However, the reason we could proudly give you the competitive price, because of your booking was made directly online through our reservation.

We are looking forward to see you again at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Right across the street from the famous Kuta beach, located right in the middle of the hotel district in Kuta. The hotel is very good, we loved the pool and swim up bar. Breakfast buffet was quite reasonably priced at less than $8 US that offers good selection of Indo/Asian and western food.
There are multiple buildings on the hotel ground, i would recommend building 6 or other buildings in the back side of the hotel. As the hotel bar tends to have bands that plays live music later into the night, and my family who stayed in building 1/2 were having issue with noise.
Rooms are clean yet you can see that facilities are aging, but our room is adequate.
Other Tips: Don't take the hotel transfer to airport, they ask for about $7.5 US per person, and you can call a taxi and pay for around $5 for the trip. Their staff is courteous and will call the taxi for you. Another tip: use bluebird group taxi, they run the meters and don't tend to cheat you on fare.

The welcome massage is only for 20 mins, and don't get the massage here if you have to pay for it. If you are willing to walk a block or two, getting a massage somewhere else save you more than half the price.

Room Tip: Building 6 or other buildings in the back side of the hotel ground has less noise and more light bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

Dear Ms. Cynthia C,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for your time to share your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to acknowledge that you like our good hotel, our clean room as well as our courteous staffs. We are gladly contented to acknowledge that we exceed your expectation during your stay with us, as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests.

We are happy to know that you love our perfect location, where is located precisely in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali – Beachwalk. We are more than happy to know that you also enjoy our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

We are not only glad to know how much you admire our perfect location, but also how nice of you to praise the selections of our scrumptious breakfast that you have at our Samudera Restaurant. Our restaurant has various selections of buffet breakfast such as: Indonesia dishes, eggs station, pancake station, noodle station, porridge station, dim sum, breads, desserts, and fresh fruits with stunning view of Kuta Beach.

We appreciate your feedback about our value for money room rate. However, the reason we could proudly give you the competitive price, because of your booking was made directly online through our reservation.

We appreciate your feedback on the condition of our room. However, as the part of our commitments to deliver the excellent service to our guest, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has been progressively carrying on room refurbishment and all of the old televisions were entirely replaced with new LED “Sharp” televisions 32 inches.

We are looking forward to see you again at Grand Istana Rama Hotel.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I was there for business trip, got this hotel booked by my client.
The room is clean, it just have this "old building smell" inside the room. but i dont mind it
it could use some extra light, since it's pretty dark when i have to walk to second floor at night (about 100 meters from lobby to stairs)
The location is nice, as it's just right across the Kuta beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonsaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A perfect location; near the beach, the mall and the night life of Kuta. The staff is very friendly and helpful and go definitely the extra mile for their guests. Nevertheless, the cleanliness of the rooms is not on a 4-star level. Some dirty bed covers and dirty spots on the mirror. Furthermore, the bathroom is also not that clean. It's a bit old-fashioned. I had a good stay, but will describe this as a 3-star hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G2211EZMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Everything was okey , but something I want to point: hotel is old and the rooms specially bathroom need renovation. Breakfast is okey , just a but slow service, room service ( f&b) was not that nice, our dishes outside were there 24 hours, but I called to take it out. Towels and sheets are old as well. Need to be more stricked with outside guests as some of them you could see at the swimming pool. But location is nice and housekeeping doing their job well.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bimochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

clean hotel, rooms. nice and friendly staff.lovely tropical garden. needed to pay deposit at check in. i got 100% money back during check out. love the pool. the beach not so fantastic. need to cross the road to get to the beach. there is taxi rank in front of hotel. but they tend to hike the price. so, we rented a motorbike for RP 50 000/24 hours to get around. overall we had a good stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBUJANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

Dear Mr. NBUJANG,

Thank you for kindly sharing your generous reviews of your wonderful stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali on Tripadvisor. It is lovely to acknowledge that you describe on details regarding our hotel, wherein, you love your stay with our clean room, our beautifully tropical garden as well as our nice and friendly staffs.

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy to have our precious location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk. It’s an honor that you have a great time at our swimming pool which is equipped by swim up bar, where you can take pleasure of the most wanted beer in Bali – Bintang Beer.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for one night I between a trip to Ubud and Nusa Lembongan.

The pros:
-Good location for the beach and shopping. The hotel is right across the road from the beach and close to many shops, spas, bars etc
-The pool is huge and has a great swim up bar
-The staff were friendly

The cons:
-Room needed some refurbishment. It looked tired and old.
-The bathroom was in need of a good clean
-AC unit was noisy and disturbed my sleep at night
-No breakfast included in room rate
-the bar/nightclub was really noisy and I could hear this in my room at night (I think it stopped around 1am).

I booked a double room and was told that because they couldn't offer me what I'd booked, I got upgraded.... And then the upgraded room still had two small singles for myself and my boyfriend. I also heard someone else complaining about this at reception so it's clearly a common issue here. Someone else the told me that they don't offer a double standard room despite being about to book this online so you may want to check this.

All in all, we paid approx $60 for this room so I know it wasn't expensive however I do expect a clean room and also one that I had booked (a double not a town room). Not inclined to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#39 of 252 in Kuta
2,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#23 of 252 in Kuta
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#63 of 252 in Kuta
1,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Kuta Beach
0.4 mi away
Harper Kuta
Harper Kuta
#28 of 252 in Kuta
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kuta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#40 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#47 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: £29 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as a four star hotel with excellent location on Kuta's superb beach - offers convenience, relaxation and some of the best surfing in the world, just a few step from your door. You just need around 15 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Ariprot. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is within walking distance to international shops of Kuta Square, entertainment venues of Jalan Legian, Poppies Lane and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali - Beachwalk. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has 150 renovated rooms that consist of Superior Room Upper Floor, Superior Room Ground Floor, Deluxe Room, and Garden Suite, which is sets in 1.7 Hectares of lush tropical gardens for your delightful Bali accommodation. All rooms and exterior spaces reflect the charm and fascination of Bali. As the Balinese style hotel, Grand Istana Rama has a stunning Samudera Restaurant, 69 Tequila Bar, and Ayodya Pool Bar. Samudera Restaurant offers Balinese and International cuisine, with a tropical ambiance. Wherein,for music lovers you can enjoy our live entertainment and sunset session with signature cocktails at 69 Tequila Bar. Grand Istana Rama Hotel features four Meeting Rooms that can cater for up to 30 - 250 attendees for conferences, gatherings, meetings, and weddings. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as the endlessly happening hotel offers you the long lasting memories during your holiday in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Istana Rama Kuta
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing