We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Balinese family-owned & run, small & homely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bali Sorgawi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bali Sorgawi Hotel
Ranked #167 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Friendly, Balinese family-owned & run, small & homely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I've been to Bali more times than I can remember over the last 25 years. Have stayed at expensive 5 star multi-national corporation-owned resorts, rented houses, but much prefered the solitude & friendliness of this intimate little hotel. Everything you need is close by, yet once you retreat down the short lane off Jl Legian, you are away from the noise & hussle & bussle. My room was huge, spotless & had a huge balcony. It was cleaned thouroughly every day despite me telling the staff it didn't really need cleaning. I loved it and it was great value. I'd stay here again on my next trip to Bali & I'm sure the staff would still call me by my name. Possibly not recomended for children, & for many of us that is a joy. I have travelled to Bali many times with my children when they were younger & they enjoy the resorts as they meet other kids. But if you are passed all that, & you don't want noisy children, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mskatie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    36
    32
    9
    9
See reviews for
12
29
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed in this place for 4 days.. The staff were friendly and the room was clean. If you wish to get a good sleep, choose this hotel. They also offer free wifi to guests which is a plus..

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mitzlom182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were meant to stay 3 nights, left after one. To be fair, I know what to expect of cheaper legion places, so it's not like I was expecting the grand Hyatt. I've had spinal surgery an do need to be careful of mattresses etc. room was small and basic, air con not working properly. Bathroom hadn't been cleaned but this is usually able to be overlooked. The bed was so uncomfortable, pillows were sacks full of rags and stuffed so high you couldn't use them. The water stopped working after we got home from dinner, no shower or running toilet. They came to inspect and it switched on father 5 or so minutes. Not as close to all the action as others for same price. Left next morning. If you want a cheap place to crash and can sleep on anything, then go for it but I've stayed at far nicer for same price in Bali.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

The Bali Sorgawi really is a hidden gem in the Kuta area.

It's not a five star resort, it's not brand new, so if that's what you want from your trip to Bali, it's not the place for you. But if you want somewhere affordable, clean, well airconditioned and very, very Balinese, then you can't go wrong with the Sorgawi.

My wife and I stayed there in Jan 2012 as part of our honeymoon, and we loved it. It's so quiet – you usually find you have the pool to yourself – and the breakfast menu is simple, but very nice.

The location is good too. It's off Jalan Legian enough to be quiet, but close enough to the action to be, well, part of the action.

Couldn't recommend it high enough.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

It's not fair for this nice little hotel if I didn't give them the reviews because this is really nice and friendly place to stay in Legian.
This is my first stayed and I stayed here with my friends, there is 4 of us to have girls holidays.
We stayed in their family rooms with 2 big double bed, a small living room and clean bathroom in the second floor. The AC works very well (which I think the coolest AC I've ever stayed in Bali),the room is clean and the light is very bright. The cleaner came whenever we out for breakfast and put free water bottle in the refrigerator, yes, we do have big refrigerator in the living room for family rooms.

it's very cheap, so don't get your hopes too high for 5 star hotel or some high class resorts.
The breakfast is limited, you can pick from the menu and that was it. I don't have any reason to complain.

there is smallish swimming pool which turns out to be a private pool for everyone who love sun bathing or relaxing around it, because no one using the pool. You can get free pick up from the Airport, its including at their cheapest rates, just ask them.

The staff is friendly and smiley, This is little gem in a busy street.

Room Tip: paid for deluxe room in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittycat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We were meant to stay at the Bali Sorgawi for 3 nights in december although we escaped after one. Firstly the staff were unfriendly, then we saw our rooms, in which has stained sheets, and the dirtiest bathrooms I have ever seen. The mirror and basin looked as though it hadnt been cleaned in 10 years, and my toilet was leaking. Throughout the night we heard a huge crash and in the morning we awoke to find that parts of the roof and walls of the hotel had fallen down. To top things off they refused to serve me breakfast at 10:50 am although they notified us at reception that it was available till 11.

Dont stay here.

Room Tip: Dont stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellymc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

First day, our flight delayed, but we still waste around 20 mins to wait the driver, but the driver did apology sincerely and he claimed that legian road very jam during weekend.

22 Oct mid night we stayed at Room 103, the room is old but the hot water is good. It is ok for us to stay only one night there.

25 Oct we stayed at Room 1101, the room is new, and there is new refrigerator, new aircon and new television and heater. but the heater not really hot for room 1101.

There are few staffs there, 1st night ,the staff super nice. but the 2nd stay, the staffs there a bit unfriendly. I feel like there is race discrimination. It is very obvious when I order my breakfast, the staff who serve me looked at me with total disdain. Then another two foreigner from western, he smile to them and ask them how is their night and greet them good morning. So Asian doesn't derserve a greet or better service?

Breakfast is simple but ok.

50,000 rupiah if you need the hotel's staff drop you to airport.

From hotel to hardrock hotel area, it is around 15,000 to 20,000 rupiah. Remember to ask the Taxi's driver charge you by meter.

Overall, it is ok to stay.

Room Tip: Remember to request the new renovation room, otherwise, the old room not really value to stay. You c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candle_haha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.1 mi away
Rosani Hotel
Rosani Hotel
#62 of 84 in Legian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grandmas Plus Hotel Legian
0.1 mi away
Serela Legian Hotel
Serela Legian Hotel
#51 of 84 in Legian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amaris Hotel Lebak Bene - Kuta
0.1 mi away
Grand La Walon Hotel
Grand La Walon Hotel
#43 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Siesta Legian Hotel
Siesta Legian Hotel
#35 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Sorgawi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Sorgawi Hotel

Property: Bali Sorgawi Hotel
Address: Jalan Legian Kelod | Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bali Sorgawi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bali Sorgawi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bali Sorgawi
Bali Sorgawi Hotel Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing