We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close location and a party hub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Barong Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Barong Resort
Ranked #58 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close location and a party hub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Warning!! If you're a family/after a quiet holiday, don't come here! It's advertised as a party hotel and it is a party hotel but it's a great party hotel!! Music starts around 10am and will continue all night and people will start stumbling in from anywhere around 2am to 7am (guilty!), but if you go equipped with earplugs and a positive outlook you'll love it. The pool is great, you're on poppies II which is 1 minute walk from the major clubs and there is surrounded by inexpensive restaurants. It's cheap and you get what you pay for so don't expect lavish luxury but the rooms are clean and the staff are really friendly. Next time I would probably stay in Legian and bike it in but if you're a group of people looking to have an awesome time on a budget I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meg2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    210
    117
    49
    58
See reviews for
107
208
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuching
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Hotel Barong has a real great location. Really close by to clubs, spas, restaurants etc.

However, the Hotel has not been well kept. Bedding and towels are old and dirty. Rooms are old and quite dirty as well. I booked 2 rooms, one for the boys and one for the girls. My room was pretty average bt the boys had a terrible time. Their bathroom stink of sewer and their air-conditioning was half working.

I would not recommend this hotel to those who appreciate clean hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahgin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuta hotels

melbourne,vic
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

i stayed in the barong hotel in august 2009 with 3 friends.
i had stayed there a couple of years before with some friends from uni also!
If you like to go out and party down at the nightclubs and come home at all hours of the morning then this is the hotel for you! And it is fun when you are doing so
but if your the one having the night off and trying to sleep it is not so fun!
the hotel is great for what you pay, the rooms are simple and clean. breakfast is basic and good to start the day, and included in the price so you can't complain!
the staff are wonderful, so friendly!
We used the hotel safety deposit box and put all of our travel documents and anything expensive in there. We overheard a lot of other guests complaining about things being stolen from there room, but there seemed to be a lot of people going in and out of there rooms at night so you can't exactly blame the staff for that!
The hotel is in a great central location for shopping and eating out at resteraunts.
If you are young, like partying, and on a budget, this is a great hotel in a central location and only a short walk to the beach

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgirlfromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

We booked into this hotel and it was absolutly disgusting. The room stunk and the mattress for my daughter was full of mould. Very noisy - yes its a holiday but large crowds drinking in the pool outside your room into all hours of the night gets a bit much and we were only there for 1 night. The next morning we went hotel hunting (found the Satriya absolutely amazing - little bit more expensive but worth it). The toilet must have blocked as on return to our room brown water was coming out from under our bed and the whole room smelled like a sewer. When we told them they came in and moped up the water and when they picked up the bed it had not been cleaned for what looked like years) They never fixed the blockage only mopped up the water and put the bed back down (nice). I would not stay in this hotel if they gave me a free holiday there or even paid me.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BALI1Nsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bundaberg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

I hate winging,but this time I have to.The Barong Hotel is for young people who dont need sleep to survive.Dont go there if you need sleep,also bar prices are much dearer than other places.Beds are hard as rocks,asked for double room but had to take twin.Thursday night entertainment very poor,all in all very very standard.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laybacklen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Wa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

Planned a trip to bali and booked into the Barong, but after reading reviews i was unsure about the quality of the hotel, what a suprise we had when we arrived. Friendliest staff in the world, always smiling and willing to help. Bathrooms were a bit old, but worked fine.Room service did a great job cleaning the room, everyday. 2 pools, both with swim up bars, with one of the bars open 24/7 for any after hours drinking. Great food, and quickly made. Any problems with noise were quickly dealt with by security. Scooter hire etc all available just outside the hotel and within 10 mins of Khuta Beach and with shops 2 mins away on the street. Great place to stay for young and old to have a relaxing retreat or a party filled time.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shampi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

My husband and his mate travelled to Bali in November 09 - a birthday present from me to him. I booked them in at the Barong. His comments on the hotel were - it was great for the boys. The rooms were VERY average, bathrooms needed a major revamp. However, for the amount of time actually spent in the rooms it was OK. The pool areas were great though. A lot of time spent drinking around the pool, mingling with heaps of young people. Definately the type of hotel you would recommend for the 'boys trip'. However, if taking the family - no way! You definately get what you pay for. It worked out for 2 guys in a standard room - $25.00 per night. What more can you expect for this price.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovebali2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#19 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harper Kuta
Harper Kuta
#25 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bounty Hotel
Bounty Hotel
#124 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bene Hotel
The Bene Hotel
#21 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kuta Beach Club Hotel
Kuta Beach Club Hotel
#53 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asana Agung Putra Bali
Asana Agung Putra Bali
#44 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Barong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Barong Resort

Property: Grand Barong Resort
Address: Poppies Lane II, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Barong Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location....nothing beats the reigning Grand Barong Resort famous address, situated within Poppies Lane II and I, Kuta where everything is just a walk away from the renowned Kuta Beach, Beack Walk Mall, Shopping arcades, Eateries, Cafes and Entertainments are found within the distance. Our ‘Royal Jack’ Sportbar is at site to offer you Sport Lovers, full on sport tv satellites with pre-determined schedules to make sure you won’t miss your favourite sports. Grand Barong Resort is probably the only hotel with a resort concept of lush tropical garden, serene ambience and options of superior, deluxe, suites, executive suite, family and lagoon pool access rooms with full bathroom amenities, facilities and service to make your stay just perfect!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Barong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barong Hotel Kuta
Grand Barong Resort Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing